We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dying Rose Garden”
Review of Ojai Rancho Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ojai Rancho Inn
Ranked #7 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Angeles
18
Reviewed August 19, 2005

Last time I visited this hotel was before it was the Rose Garden several years ago. I was very disappointed in the overall quality of this once quaint little place. Although the rooms are basically clean, there have been no real updates since my last visit (only a name change) and the price has gone up. The pool was uninviting with the murky color of green and no apparent working filtration. We did not swim which was one reason we chose to stay there. The grounds were unkempt with overgrown grass and dying rose bushes, sadly representative of the motel. The pool furniture was old, shabby and most broken. The garden furniture was equally as poor and there was no sign or sense of aesthetics and caretaking. The one non-working fountain near our room had stagnant water ( a vector trap) and there was broken furniture laying about the grounds. A staff member chose to spend her break reading a book with her feet in the sauna while guests were attempting to use it.
This place needs major tending to. If all you need is a clean bed, it'll do.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RanchoInn, Owner at Ojai Rancho Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2011

We are sorry you had a bad experience with the Ojai Rancho inn back in 2009. Since that time we have hired a new manager with 10 years of hotel experience with Hyatt and Marriott and we have made vast improvements in the property including adding Jacuzzi tubs in most rooms and tiling the bedroom floors to complete the Western theme of the hotel. The Heaters and Air Conditioning Units have are also serviced on a regular basis by professionals. Next time your in Ojai stop by for a look, we are sure you will appreciate the changes we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 173 of 173 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2005

We recently stayed at the Hummingbird Inn of Ojai, the sister property to this one. We checked out the Rose Garden Inn, and it is the superior property of the two, with charming rooms, nice pool area with hammock, landscaping, shade and quiet, and a quick walk to town. The Hummingbird Inn was dated and not worth the cost.

Stayed: July 2005
8  Thank Blondesteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lennart L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ケッピー学園
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
1.4 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
502 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
388 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oaks at Ojai
The Oaks at Ojai
#3 of 5 in Ojai
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn
Ojai Valley Inn
#1 of 5 in Ojai
1,698 reviews
0.7 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
1.8 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ojai Rancho Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ojai Rancho Inn

Address: 615 W Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-3724 (Formerly Rose Garden Inn)
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range: $143 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ojai Rancho Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The charming Ojai Rancho Inn-a Shelter Social Club property continues to reflect Ojai's relaxed and friendly personality. We offer service and amenities that ensure every visit is memorable. Our beautiful property, which is located within steps of the Ojai Valley Inn & Spa, boasts a tranquil garden that adjoins Ojai Rancho Inn to the popular Ojai Valley Trail. With our convenient location, free bikes, swimming pool, spacious grounds, and friendly staff we hope you will enjoy your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ojai Rancho Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ojai Rancho Hotel Ojai
Rose Garden Inn Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing