We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tapas and more”
Review of Barrel 33

Barrel 33
Ranked #58 of 96 Restaurants in Ojai
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Ventura, California
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
“Tapas and more”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Their $15 bottle of wine special lured us in as we strolled Ojai's arcade, and we were glad we stopped in. We were further enticed by the interior's décor, pleasant music, comfortable seating and a friendly bartender. We shared the stuffed mushrooms that arrived with a fresh salad. The bleu cheese and mozzarella quesadilla with carmelized onions and thinly sliced warm pears was an inspired blending. We also enjoyed a thin crust pizza with kalamata olives and tomatoes. Belgian chocolate chunks served with cheese, walnuts and strawberries, was a nice combination and went well with the bottle of wine. For a light meal in a pleasant setting, I recommend it. The patio looks perfect for a warm evening. We'll be back!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dkayrenick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    13
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Solana Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place to grab a glass of wine”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Very friendly place with comfortable seating to indulge in a glass of wine with both locals and tourists.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level 6 Contributor
621 reviews
320 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 349 helpful votes
“Pick Your Bartender”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

A quaint, well decorated wine bar in the Arcade in downtown Ojai along the main drag. We found the service to be dependent upon the bartender on duty that night.

The first night we sat at the bar taking advantage of a local's coupon calling for one free taste with one purchased taste. We were in early thinking that maybe we would also order a light dinner while there. Perhaps it was because of the early hour. Perhaps it was because there was initially only one person serving the bar and the rest of the space. Regardless, even though we determined that there were two other people behind in the kitchen, the service was inattentive. We left after our first drink.

The following night was entirely different. The bartender on duty effusively greeted us as we arrived with another couple. Although we were at a table at the extreme furthest away from the bar, the bartender was there in a flash offering water as she took our order, offering us menus. Even though the bar was relatively busy the bartender moved about efficiently, talking to nearly every one in the bar including waving at Ojai's finest (a couple of police officers) as they ambled by outside.

I liked the space. They offered a full bar in addition to reasonably priced local wines. We didn't have food but from what we saw, the light menu looked good. You will just have to decide when you enter did I get the good bartender, or the bad one, before making it a night.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenVicLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Private tabel for 2”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We had terrific happy pizza here. We sat on the patio at the back of the restaurant, in the plaza area. It was not busy and we had the whole patio to ourselves almost our whole meal. Our waiter was so very friendly and helpful. I was craving calamari and he called another restaurant for us to see if they had it!!
It was a wonderful romantic dinner we'll never forget!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mel2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant and Laid back”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Great place for a drink; appetizers are so so but overall enjoyable and laid back

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank seeitwhileyoucan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barrel 33? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing