We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Everything made with love!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hip Vegan Cafe

Hip Vegan Cafe
Ranked #6 of 95 Restaurants in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
connecticut
Level Contributor
112 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Everything made with love!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

What a find, thanks again to Trip Advisor! We visited Meditation Mountain in Ojai and wanted a vegan place for lunch. Found Hip as #1 and now we understand why. The place was packed which is always a good sign! We ordered and found a seat in the sun. Enjoyed the bean and rice burrito with the most amazing guacamole ever as well as the quiche of the day which was russet potato with a cornmeal crust, just out of this world. We also split a 16oz carrot/beet just freshly made. The staff was super friendly and warm. A great find after the most peaceful of days in Ojai.

Helpful?
1 Thank smilingathena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    26
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Midwest
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Way over rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We went to Hip, eager to enjoy the same meals that readers have raved about. We love vegetarian and vegan restaurants. But, HIp has a long way to go to earn our praise. The menu is limited. The quiche of the day was flavorless. The hummus was pretty good. But, my husband had to ask for more pita because so little came with the hummus. Everything was close but not there. Cute place, nice outdoor area. But, I come for the food. And, Hip just doesn't make the cut.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank litho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Vegan For Lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

On our way back from hiking in Ojai, we stopped at this little informal vegan spot tucked in the back of a storefront off Ojai Avenue. They have both indoor and outdoor seating with counter ordering. It happened to be beautiful weather, so we sat outside. We had chocolate date smoothies, baked tofu sandwiches and salad with tahini poppyseed dressing. The portions were generous and the food quite tasty and filling. We ended up not needing to have much for dinner because the lunch was so filling, so you may want to split some things. This was the best lunch we had on our week long trip through So. California!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dcschorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you want healthy, organic food this is a great restaurant. The salad I got had the best marinated greens I think I've ever had, plus a wonderful lime-cilantro dressing. I would have gone back for dinner if I hadn't had to leave later. Lots of vegan dishes to choose from if you refrain from eating dairy.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cami c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Ojai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

Modest but friendly and very tasty vegan lunch place. The menu scared me at first ("egg-free quiche...") but all the dishes are delicious. We went for lunch every day we were in Ojai. Don't miss their special: a date and cashew-milk vanilla shake - unbelievable!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Raku_Friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hip Vegan Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Hip Vegan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing