We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally a vegan organic restaurant!”
Review of Hip Vegan Cafe

Hip Vegan Cafe
Ranked #10 of 96 Restaurants in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Finally a vegan organic restaurant!”
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I have been to Hip several times and never been disappointed. They have a nice variety of food to choose from and it tastes GOOD. Plus, the prices are reasonable for organic food. Its a casual place with indoor and outdoor seating. Its hidden off the main street so its peaceful and cozy. The staff is very pleasant and very knowledgeable about health and the importance of healthy food. Yummm!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peacewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    26
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Obsessed!”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Get the Barbara Salad, and Indonesian wrap. We eat EVERY time we are on Ojai. This place is better than any LA Vegan place.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Angela P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food whether you're vegan or not!”
Reviewed March 29, 2012

The food at Hip is unique, varied and ambitious. I saw a flyer and was expecting very basic, standard vegan fare so I was surprised to find how really, really good the food was and how many options there were. A great vegan experience!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good vegan food!!”
Reviewed March 2, 2012

We had done no research on where to eat during our one day trip to Ojai to experience the pink moments. We stopped seeing the word "Vegan" and went inside HIP Vegan Cafe. It is a pretty little cafe which is way to simple but offers good food. I was surprised seeing the extensive vegan menu and ordered Mediterranean food and the hummus were so good with a healthy whole wheat pita bread. However the soup was not too good but probably healthy!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sahana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novato, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best choice in Ojai for healthy and tasty meals!”
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Highly recommend Hip Vegan Cafe. The place has great energy, shaded or sunny outdoor seating (and indoor...), the owners and service are great and the food is fantastic! What else is there?

Try the raw salad (all the dressings are delicious), the date shake, the raw brownies, and get a juice! Enjoy.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank divingbubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hip Vegan Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing