We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, very pleasant service, right on the Arcade in Ojai”

Osteria Monte Grappa
Ranked #4 of 96 Restaurants in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Excellent food, very pleasant service, right on the Arcade in Ojai”
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our party of 4 had lunch at Osteria Monte Grappa. This small restaurant along the Arcade on Ojai's main drag is a super convenient location, and it offers excellent food. We ordered salads, fish and paninis, as well as various desserts, and everything was very tasty and nicely presented. We always visit Suzanne's, our favorite restaurant in Ojai, but Osteria Monte Grappa is an equally great choice for a more informal a meal during a visit there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ECrowther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    99
    39
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Could have been wonderful”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great olive oil and balsamic to start. I ordered a fresh mozzarella, salami and greens panini with an herb aioli dressing. It could have been so wonderful. The bread was delicious; fresh, chewy and slightly crunchy. But the sandwich itself was cold. My frustration was that the ingredients were all first rate, and had the sandwich been warm, with that cheese getting all gooey, wow, it would have been over the top. As it was, it was full of possibilities, but it missed the mark.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marilee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not great....”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

We went to the location as shown in the photos and denoted on the map. However, there seems to be some confusion as local friends have now told me this place has traded locations with a sister restuarant downtown and hence is a pizza joint and not Monte Grappa?? Unknown.
But the place located on Signal Street should never be confused with best food anywhere.
Tired Italian at best. Salad of arugula was old wilted and yellow. Soup was bland. One of us had tacos?? because they were only choices that could conform to food allergies. He said they had no flavor and were days old tortillas.
Lastly the bathroom was filthy. It was all men cooking and serving and it looked like none of them had good aim or know how to put a toliet seat down. We were there quite early and were first diners so it wasn't other guest. AVOID this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank summerlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Food in town of Ojai”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went to this restaurant on our first night in the town of Ojai while staying at the Ojai Valley Inn and Spa. The quality of food was fabulous and very well priced, potions were large! We paired our food with some fantastic local wine and even though we didn't finish our second bottle, they let us take it with us when we left.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Girlofthestars403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Excellent Italian food...I had the Ciappino and my wife had the Linguini and Clams Since the Ciappino wasn't on the menu they custom made it for me. Salmon, clams, oysters, scallops, mussels...what's not to like? And my wife being Italian is very fussy about her Linguini and Clams...and she love it. Finish it off with Panna Cota and you have perfection.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Monte Grappa also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Monte Grappa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing