We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcoming atmosphere with local food prepared beautifully”

Osteria Monte Grappa
Ranked #3 of 97 Restaurants in Ojai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Warm welcoming atmosphere with local food prepared beautifully”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

If you went to Italy you would look for a warm relaxed atmosphere with fresh local ingredients prepared simply. That's what your get here. We got thee early so didn't have to wait. There were many families, but the tables are spread so you don't feel cramped. All the vegetables were local and many picked that day in Ojai. The fish was Pacific snapper. The bread was very good. The eggplant parmigiana was the best eve, grilled eggplant with smoked mozzarella and a nice fresh sauce. The sides included a sautéed mixed veggie, mostly chard with roasted garlic, and a polenta cake, which was bland and dry. The salad with prosciutto, spinach, apple, pear and nuts was very good. The desserts were nicely presented. The crime caramel was Italian style with gelatin, the panettone with whipped cream was excellent. A very reasonable meal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flygirlnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    103
    40
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Osteria Monte Grappa”
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This was the best dining experience--food and service--we had in 5 days in Ojai. Very nice ambiance without being pretentious. The food was well prepared, homemade pasta was excellent. Our waitress was wonderful, again, not pretentious but at the same time knowledgeable and professional.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank victoria_deneroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“The wonderful italian aroma when you walk in the door is amazing.”
Reviewed December 24, 2012

We were in Ojai for the holidays and had been told by a friend that we HAD to pop in.

We had the mussels and sausage soup and squash spaghetti.
EVERYTHING was prepared to perfection. Absolute perfection.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jared-Malia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“new location, mediocre lunch”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Loved the new location, but found the lunch offerings to be mediocre. Service very limited- sat on the patio and had to walk inside to find our waiter to get more salad dressing.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank joelsgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful Ojai restaurant”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

We ate at OMG our first night in Ojai. The food is fresh and very good. The staff is helpful and attentive. We had fresh mussels for an appetizer. They were very good. My husband had linguini with clams. I had the fresh fish of the day. Both were tasty and well prepared. The portions were large - maybe too large. NIce wine selection. And, like most Ojai restaurants. the effort is in the food, not in a pretentious atmosphere. Good food. Not the best in Ojai. But well worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank litho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Monte Grappa also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Monte Grappa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing