We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveler rating
199
38
4
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
199
38
4
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orange groves krishnamurti library huxley room john lennon herbal garden other guests the main house get away healthy breakfast peace and quiet very special place minute drive grounds are lovely three nights living room teachings peppertree
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 246 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2017

We attended a workshop at the Pepper Tree and found it to be so peaceful and quiet. The energy there is so positive. Our suite had a full kitchen, and was incredibly clean and comfortable. The bathroom configuration was a tight squeeze, but we still enjoyed it and it was very clean.

We weren't sure what to expect (being in the desert) but the AC worked great, wifi, and the staff was very kind. It is a vegetarian facility, so the breakfasts provided were very grain heavy...bread, cereals, more bread, more cereals, a little fruit. That was our only drawback, not being grains eaters. Ojai has many charming restaurants and it's very close to Ventura as well. We enjoyed our time there and would go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Lawrence Suite and really liked it.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerV5265UV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien G, Manager at Pepper Tree Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are delighted you enjoyed this workshop and experience with us.
We are working to add some less grainy options to our breakfast, we are a little limited as to what we can offer by county rules, but this is an opportunity for creativity :)
We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Many Blessings,
Julien & the Retreat team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2017

This is a very peaceful retreat space. I stayed in the Huxley room. An added benefit to staying here are many interesting spiritual books to read in the living room and the library. I stayed there at the recommendation of friends who have stayed there several times, and I do not regret it!

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joy Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien G, Manager at Pepper Tree Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Thank you for your review. The pepper tree retreat is a wonderful place to read, meditate, watch the beautiful birds all around and disconnect from any busy doing or thinking. We thank you for your recent stay and look forward to the next time.
Many Blessings,
Julien & the Retreat team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2017

I highly recommend the Pepper Tree Retreat! I love the Chaplin Room. The many windows open up to the garden and let in the early morning sunshine. The grounds are lovely and peaceful. The staff is welcoming and friendly. I will stay here during my future visits to Ojai.

Room Tip: If you like early morning sunshine, choose the Chaplin room.
  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien G, Manager at Pepper Tree Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Thank you, Michelle. The Chaplin room is very special, with its garden views you feel like you are sleeping under the stars.
See you again soon.
Many Blessings,
Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2017

The room was comfortable. All aspects of the stay are meticulously looked after. One can relax in the safety and serenity of the place. The grounds have clearly marked paths to stroll around. I walked around the premises and was spellbound by the beauty. I would go into the herbal garden and feel the wonder of the healing herbs. The library and the quiet room are inviting for meditation and study.

The staff is friendly and relaxed and willing to answer the queries. I would recommend this retreat for anyone who is interested in personal transformation.

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GurvinderS34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien G, General Manager at Pepper Tree Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience. The medicinal herb garden is a delightful place with many herbs and plants one may have never seen before. It is the perfect spot for meditation and to practice true observation.

See you next time!
Many Blessings,
Julien & the retreat team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2017

Our room was Chaplin. Adorable is the list I can say. So clean and neat, with old charm and the view of the garden made us feel we were hugged by Mother Nature, nurturing us and offering so much calmness and happiness. Thank you! We will be back

  • Stayed: May 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank siri220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien G, General Manager at Pepper Tree Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. Chaplin is such a special and charming room, it does make one feel like they are sleeping in nature. We look forward to seeing you next time.

Many Blessings,
Julien & the retreat team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews