We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (247)
Filter reviews
247 results
Traveler rating
200
38
4
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
200
38
4
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews orange groves krishnamurti library huxley room john lennon herbal garden other guests the main house get away downtown ojai healthy breakfast rooms are comfortable peace and quiet minute drive a special place grounds are lovely full kitchen three nights
Filter
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 247 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2016

I've stayed at The Pepper Tree Retreat several times in the past year. The rooms and suites are quiet, clean, and tended to with care. The staff is friendly and helpful. This is definitely a place for peace and contemplation and I come here to write and to meditate. I highly recommend it!

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahtayloryes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2016

My visit to Pepper Tree was the 5th time I attended a retreat there. This time I have to say that the food was great, the weather perfect and the atmosphere was ripe for learning. The staff at Pepper Tree are always wonderful and at your service. My room was clean, comfortable and very spacious. Our meals were vegetarian and bursting with flavor. Breakfast is a serve yourself assortment of breads, cereals, fruits and coffee or tea. I thoroughly enjoyed myself during my stay.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien G, General Manager at Pepper Tree Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2016

Hello Karen,
Thank you for taking a few moments to share your recent experience. We always look forward to your visits and participation in our week long retreats.
See you next time,
Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2016

Really beautiful place, peaceful and quiet. Breakfast could be better, it used to be better--fresher, more interesting-- but they scaled back to simple prepackaged stuff. Otherwise, very pleasant, could just hang out there all day and relax.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien G, General Manager at Pepper Tree Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2016

Hi Jeff,

Thank you for taking time to share, we appreciate your feedback. The property is so relaxing on these warmer summer days, sitting under the big pepper tree in the shade and listening to the bees is a very special treat.

Breakfast is actually all "packaged" by us in a local commercial kitchen to comply with stricter county rules. Pastries from Santa Barbara are brought in almost every day and we do our best to offer organic selections within county guidelines.
We aren't fans of the plastic either,we are working on plans that will allow us to serve a full breakfast but this will take sometime. Stay tuned :)
Look forward to seeing you again during your next stay in Ojai.

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2016

The staff are eager to help within the limits of the situation. This is a 'sacred' space in and of itself and has benefit from that alone. There was some clumsy communication mix up that did not relay to us that the tues evening dialogue nor library would be available to us. We would have cancelled had we known that.
It reinforced my fear that a 'retreat' without full meals is a really days foraging for food, restaurants, etc.,. negating the whole 'retreat' experience. Breakfast was processed food (albeit of some quality), very little living food, eg some fruit. Prior to coming I got an email asking if I had any special requests. I requested decaf coffee but that did not happen. There was really only one person available that seemed willing and able to discuss Krishnamurti. Personally while good will is great, it not enough to make for a real retreat center.

Room tip: If you are on serious personal retreat, get a room with a full kitchen.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien G, General Manager at Pepper Tree Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2016

Hi Don,

Thank you for your honest feedback, I apologize for the errors in communication and not meeting your needs during your stay. This type of feedback is greatly appreciated as it allows us to see where we can improve.

County regulations being what they are, we are only able to provide breakfast to guests at this time and we strive to offer high quality items within their strict guidelines.
As a side note, we do have plans to expand our offers in the future but it will take some time before we can set up a commercial kitchen and small canteen space.
As you mentioned we do offer a few rooms with kitchens; these are an ideal choice for guests who wish to remain on these beautiful grounds for their entire stay. Otherwise downtown Ojai has several tasty meal options and is just a 8 minute drive away.

Thank you again for your stay, do keep us in mind next time you are in the area, we would be delighted to have you as our guest in the future.

Many Blessings,
Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2016

I recently stayed at Pepper Tree Retreat and am so happy I stumbled across this gem! I highly recommend this place. The room was comfortable, clean, and beautiful. The food they offer in the morning is top quality! Better than any other place I've stayed as far as it being organic. They had a lot of places on the property to look at and explore. You feel such peacefulness when you are there.

Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nancyberkeley2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julien G, General Manager at Pepper Tree Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2016

Hello and thank you for taking the time to share a few words about your experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again for your next personal getaway.

Julien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews