We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“magic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pepper Tree Retreat
Ranked #5 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“magic”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

There is something really magical about this place - such a beautiful house, nestled in pine trees and orange groves... it has a great history too. I stayed in the Huxley room where Aldous Huxley stayed, and think there's a Chaplin room too. Lovely breakfast in the morning, on a big shared dining room table where you can start your day talking about life, love and happiness. So peaceful and inspiring. A real retreat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    36
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
30
77
59
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valencia, CA
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had been "eye-ing" the appealing ads for Pepper Tree Retreat ever since we began attending the Ojai Music Festival, five or six years ago. But when we knew we wanted an Ojai getaway for our 50th anniversary, we didn't hesitate to decide on Peppertree. Little did we know how amazingly wonderful it would be. We were greeted by Michelle, who showed us around, and made us feel so welcome and comfortable. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with loads of trees watching over us through the expansive picture windows. And from our balcony, we could take in the lush orange groves, and look out over the Valley. Breakfast was a wonderful way to meet and converse with the staff and other guests, but in a serene, unobtrusive way, with everyone respecting individual needs for quiet and contemplation. We had the opportunity to learn about Krishnamurti, as many books by him and about him, were on bookshelves throughout the Inn and of course in his beautiful library. We will return to this spiritual place as often as we can.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solvang, California
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I arrived early to find my room all prepared. I was greeted warmly by Michelle, the retreat manager, and she gently & cheerfully showed me around the building and grounds, despite her not feeling very well that day. I visited the Krishnamurti Library which was only a few yards from the main house, and was again met by a delightful man, Michael, who gave a tour of the rooms there and lovingly conveyed memories of Krishnamurti and his life in Ojai. I slept better than I have in years in the tranquility of this lovely place, and the unexpected comfort of a memory foam mattress! The staff and other guests were very respectful of one another, each keeping to his or her own purpose for being at Pepper Tree and honoring the quiet for others. Breakfast the next morning was a wonderful experience, as I met many of the retreat guests at the common dining room and shared bits of our spiritual journeys. Profound, that people who never knew each other before could be so open and supportive of one another. I have already recommended the Pepper Tree Retreat to my colleagues and friends... and look forward to coming again. Thank you so much for a much-needed respite from my obligations and taking such good care of me... body, mind, and spirit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Was very lucky to have stumbled into this haven of tranquility and reality.
Definitely beats a generic motel on the side of a road.
oh fruit trees and oranges of ojai
pines for those who reach the top
conversations and mountains
quiet, quiet

Room Tip: what, give it away??
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inner_flowering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2013

A lovely place to stay for deep relaxation and serenity. Quiet and beautiful tucked away in the east end of Ojai. There is a true healing energy here. The library has so much to offer you'll leave rejuvenated, more in-tune and more intelligent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLN310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a beautiful place for quiet and a good vibe. No TV, no pool, just incredible peace. The place is immaculate. The staff is extremely kind and helpful. Plenty of places to walk and enjoy Ojai outdoors which is the best fitness center you can get. Wonderful Krishnamurti library just up the hill. Breakfast companionship and conversation with other guests is a highlight. Not a place for small children.

Room Tip: They're all good, just depends on what you need. Probably quieter on the second floor, since you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank victoria_deneroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you're looking for a quiet, isolated retreat AND a bed and breakfast, this is your place.

Great staff. And the library is a treat for any avid readers.

The surrounding plot of land is equally awe-inspiring.

Room Tip: Each room is special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
2.8 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
489 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
382 reviews
5.6 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
5.9 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
544 reviews
3.8 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepper Tree Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper Tree Retreat

Property: Pepper Tree Retreat
Address: 1130 McAndrew Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-8314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Retreat Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing