We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A blessed discovery!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pepper Tree Retreat
Ranked #5 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We had been "eye-ing" the appealing ads for Pepper Tree Retreat ever since we began attending the Ojai Music Festival, five or six years ago. But when we knew we wanted an Ojai getaway for our 50th anniversary, we didn't hesitate to decide on Peppertree. Little did we know how amazingly wonderful it would be. We were greeted by Michelle, who showed us around, and made us feel so welcome and comfortable. Our room was spacious and comfortable, with loads of trees watching over us through the expansive picture windows. And from our balcony, we could take in the lush orange groves, and look out over the Valley. Breakfast was a wonderful way to meet and converse with the staff and other guests, but in a serene, unobtrusive way, with everyone respecting individual needs for quiet and contemplation. We had the opportunity to learn about Krishnamurti, as many books by him and about him, were on bookshelves throughout the Inn and of course in his beautiful library. We will return to this spiritual place as often as we can.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (233)
There are newer reviews for Pepper Tree Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 233 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

I arrived early to find my room all prepared. I was greeted warmly by Michelle, the retreat manager, and she gently & cheerfully showed me around the building and grounds, despite her not feeling very well that day. I visited the Krishnamurti Library which was only a few yards from the main house, and was again met by a delightful man, Michael, who gave a tour of the rooms there and lovingly conveyed memories of Krishnamurti and his life in Ojai. I slept better than I have in years in the tranquility of this lovely place, and the unexpected comfort of a memory foam mattress! The staff and other guests were very respectful of one another, each keeping to his or her own purpose for being at Pepper Tree and honoring the quiet for others. Breakfast the next morning was a wonderful experience, as I met many of the retreat guests at the common dining room and shared bits of our spiritual journeys. Profound, that people who never knew each other before could be so open and supportive of one another. I have already recommended the Pepper Tree Retreat to my colleagues and friends... and look forward to coming again. Thank you so much for a much-needed respite from my obligations and taking such good care of me... body, mind, and spirit.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Was very lucky to have stumbled into this haven of tranquility and reality.
Definitely beats a generic motel on the side of a road.
oh fruit trees and oranges of ojai
pines for those who reach the top
conversations and mountains
quiet, quiet

Room Tip: what, give it away??
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inner_flowering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

A lovely place to stay for deep relaxation and serenity. Quiet and beautiful tucked away in the east end of Ojai. There is a true healing energy here. The library has so much to offer you'll leave rejuvenated, more in-tune and more intelligent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLN310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

This is a beautiful place for quiet and a good vibe. No TV, no pool, just incredible peace. The place is immaculate. The staff is extremely kind and helpful. Plenty of places to walk and enjoy Ojai outdoors which is the best fitness center you can get. Wonderful Krishnamurti library just up the hill. Breakfast companionship and conversation with other guests is a highlight. Not a place for small children.

Room Tip: They're all good, just depends on what you need. Probably quieter on the second floor, since you...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank victoria_deneroff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you're looking for a quiet, isolated retreat AND a bed and breakfast, this is your place.

Great staff. And the library is a treat for any avid readers.

The surrounding plot of land is equally awe-inspiring.

Room Tip: Each room is special.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is a great Bed and Breakfast (all vegetarian) that is next to the Krishnamurti library, a lovely place to learn about yourself and what surrounds us. This was our 3rd or 4th trip here and we always enjoy our stay.

Some tips:

If you like oranges, they have a huge orange grove to pick oranges from to take back home.

Meditate in the Krishnamurti library.

There is a hiking trail not too far away that we took, it was lovely, not too hard.

If you are looking for a place to party and booze up, this is NOT the place for you.

Kids 12 and under are not allowed.

Come here if you want to get away from everything and relax and focus on yourself.

A great place to write.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
2.8 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
500 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Oaks at Ojai
The Oaks at Ojai
#3 of 5 in Ojai
184 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
5.6 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
518 reviews
5.9 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepper Tree Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper Tree Retreat

Address: 1130 McAndrew Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-8314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range: $98 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Retreat Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing