We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lovely quiet spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepper Tree Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pepper Tree Retreat
Save
You added Pepper Tree Retreat to your Saves list
Ranked #5 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Littleton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

No TV, gorgeous property, peaceful, clean rooms. Affordable!! You have to drive to town, but you get the wonderful scents of orange blossoms and eucalyptus!! A very good breakfast selection. Nice common room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    34
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
70
50
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Pepper Tree is an excellent place to go to slow down the pace of life and to "get away from it all". The location is wonderful - a bit outside of the town of Ojai but easily accessible. The grounds are lovely and there are no TVs in the rooms. Mine had a huge bathtub and a sunroom which had glorious view out of all of the windows. I went to a local gym on a day pass so I did get in some fitness, too. The staff is friendly and helpful and unbotrusive. I felt refreshed after my two night stay! I would highly recommend Pepper Tree if you are loooking for peace and quiet. Less than two hours from my home in Rancho Palos Verdes.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank cellohelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hills- Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

A lovely, relaxing place. One is surrounded by towering trees and charming garden areas. In the stillness can gather one's thoughts. A most beautiful library.You can wander the grounds and sit to contemplate in many different areas. One can feel at peace.

Room Tip: The Lennon room -- feel like you are in the trees.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HLF777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
254 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I agree with many of the reviews written here. It's a very peaceful, relaxing. The fact it was remote was a real plus for us. The staff was great - warm, welcoming, and informative. When you stay here, you're staying in a home, so it's not going to have many of the amenities you would have in a hotel or more conventional B&B. So if you go in with the right expectations, you'll be satisfied. We stay in the main house right off the lobby. It was a bit noisy during the day with folks coming and going – but not too bad. It was very quiet at night. In fact, it was fully occupied and we didn't see many people. I like having the living room and wonderful patio steps away. The bed was super comfortable, but pillows were a bit hard. Glad we brought our own (we usually do.) Breakfast was good – simple and healthy. Coffee and tea were available all the time. You don’t miss having TV, but thankfully they have internet. We loved walking in the groves, picking oranges and enjoying fruit the way it should taste. I’m giving it 4 dots/stars because of the location, staff and feeling. I’m not comparing it to the more plush digs you’ll find.

Room Tip: Avoid the room off the entrance if you want quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YR-LGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Wonderful, welcoming people and beautiful, peaceful lodging...how could we want for more? It was relaxing perfection, and very conducive to creativity, which was exactly what I needed. I recommend this place to anyone wanting to absorb the spirit and tranquility of Ojai and nature. This retreat is worked into its surroundings instead of taking over. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This has been two days of pure stress relief for me and my family. We have had such a wonderful and peaceful time away from the rigors of day to day life...Ojai town is also uniquely rich in culture and has a tremendous selection of culinary treats...my choice for a return trip as and when I can do so...thanks to the retreat team...Anat/Norma/ Micheal and others.

Room Tip: Low season time may be better...rooms with kitchen are really good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murali_Iyengar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Pepper Tree Retreat is located outside of the town of Ojai. No phones, no tvs, no distractions! The grounds are full of life and noises from nature. Close to areas to go for a hike or just stay at the retreat and meditate. A great place to get away from the world and focus on inner peace. While we only stayed 2 nights, we did enjoyed Meditation Mountain, hikes, shopping in Ojai and don't forget the farmers market if you are there on a Sunday. Be sure to stop by The Hip for very good vegitarian food, it's yummy!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beetraveller40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
2.8 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 stars 438 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 stars 365 reviews
4.0 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 stars 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
5.9 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
4.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
3.8 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepper Tree Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper Tree Retreat

Property: Pepper Tree Retreat
Address: 1130 McAndrew Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-8314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Retreat Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing