We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Krishnamurti's casa is your casa”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ojai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pepper Tree Retreat
Ranked #5 of 9 Ojai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Krishnamurti's casa is your casa”
Reviewed June 25, 2012

The Peppertree Retreat is so welcoming that it feels like home, in fact, I wish I lived there on a long-term basis!
If you want to sleep in though, do not stay in the Aldous Huxley room.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor or in the separate building are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank thegabriela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    35
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
29
76
58
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Forget the beach. If you want to completely unwind and relax, come here. It has a very calming effect on you. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to relax.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a historic, beautiful, restful, positively energetic place to stay. It is not a fancy hotel with a pool or people waiting on you, but if you desire some peace a quiet, you can do no better. Always my first choice in Ojai. Way better than the fancy spa place everyone raves about.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank djmirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2012

A Quiet Place for the Body and Spirit

This is not the Ritz Hotel but if you want to leave your other concerns at home and you are looking for a quiet place to rejuvenate and restore your body and spirit, this is it! My husband Rob and I chose PepperTree Retreat during the recent Memorial Day Weekend to feel the natural beauty of nature, to awaken to the singing of the birds and hear the humming of the bees, and seek the meditative and reflective solitude that we seldom find anywhere nowadays! The location is away from the endless blabbering of people, away from the sound of motors running, and in quiet solitude, you hear yourself and your inner being that has been wanting and waiting to talk to you. There are many rooms to choose from and after this first visit, we know exactly what accommodations we will get the second time around. What we really like most is the architectural beauty, peace and quiet atmosphere of the Krisnamurti Library and the Meditation Room. Located in the old cottage where the philosopher himself had lived during his lifetime, the old quarters were joined to a new wing and the renovation was just perfect. J. Krishnamurti died in 2006 but his spirit lives on! And, if I may add, our stay in Ojai was further enriched when we discovered the gourmet garden dining at The Ranch House. Likewise, the in-house massage from Anat was just wonderful. My first visit to Ojai Valley was in the eighties and this is my 4th visit (the first for Rob), and Ojai has not lost its charm and the natural beauty of the mountains and the hills, the orange groves and the 'pink' moments at sunset are all to be treasured. We hope to revisit in the Spring of 2013 and smell the lovely orange blossoms, jasmines and the flowers that abound!

Room Tip: Book way in advance and visit their website in order to choose a good spacious room. We would have l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Couldn't ask for better. Beautiful and so private. The folks who work there couldn't be more helpful yet so respectful of the guests. Truly first class and homey at the same time.

I'll be back......

Room Tip: Look around and pick the one you like...if it's available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

we came for a two-night getaway to just be and let all slip away. and it was just so. beautiful orchards of orange, lemon and avocado trees to walk and sit and think and be in (and they encourage picking!). peaceful natural grounds with chairs and relaxing spots. this is the comfortable simple life and a place to nourish your soul. lots of spiritual and philisophical books and such if you want or not. we will be back.

Room Tip: we chose a suite with a kitchen in an outbuilding but it seems all rooms have small fridges and coff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara46California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The Retreat has a wonderful atmosphere & gives a glimpse of Krishnamurti's life.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ojai hotels
2.8 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
4.0 mi away
Chantico Inn
Chantico Inn
#5 of 5 in Ojai
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Emerald Iguana Inn
4.5 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
5.6 mi away
Ojai Retreat
Ojai Retreat
#3 of 9 in Ojai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pepper Tree Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pepper Tree Retreat

Property: Pepper Tree Retreat
Address: 1130 McAndrew Rd, Ojai, CA 93023-8314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Pepper Tree Retreat Hotel Ojai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing