We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Ojai Inn(Ojai)(Great Value!)
$139
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$304
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Capri(Ojai)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $142/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Iguana Inn(Ojai)(Great Value!)
$149
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ojai Retreat & Inn(Ojai)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
14
29
21
16
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
29
21
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstile floorsstained glassin room jacuzzicomplimentary wine and snackspool was heatedmediterranean feelterra cottaother hotels in the areathe main dragbike pathpleasant staybed was comfortableprivate patioarchesdiapersplusesfireplace
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 95 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2011

First I was promised a room when I made the reservation. Arrived to check in and the room was given away. The receptionist was courteous and gave me a discount for a different room. OMG the room had NO HOT WATER and the mirror was so scratched it looked like a 2 year old had cleaned it with a Brillo pad. I was upgraded to another room that was OK. Although the furniture was dingy and dirty and there was used empty packets of sugar for the coffee in the room. So I went for coffee in the lobby, what no cream just creamate how cheap are they? The place certainly needs new management and upgrading to make it have the charm that is possible with some work on the details.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkingfeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We booked this hotel because it was literally the last available room in town. We were were prepared for the worst because of the negative reviews, but we ended up being pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff was courteous and available. The room had everything we could've wanted...perhaps a little too much: fireplace, jacuzzi, sink, wetbar, flat screen tv on the wall...not one inch of space was wasted in that room, but we were extremely comfortable and the furniture gave it a bed and breakfast feel.

My only suggestion would be to book a room upstairs because the tile floors can be noisy in the morning with people wheeling suitcases around overhead. Breakfast was fruit and muffins served in the lobby which has a nice sitting room. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithster818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2010

My mother and young son and I spent 4 days in Ojai and are DELIGHTED with our choice to ignore old reviews and stay at Chantico Inn. The management must have read the reviews as well because we felt like were staying in a different hotel from what we had read about. Our rooms, rugs, towels, linens, beds and robes (plush ones provided by the hotel) were all immaculate. The decor was a wonderful mix of tasteful antique and clean remodeling. The pool and hot tub were pristine. We would stay here again in a heartbeat and we are very particular travelers. The location, too, could not have been better.
Ignore the reviews and stay here. The reviews will get up-to-date soon enough.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ojaiblahblah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

There are ups, and there are downs. Let's start with the ups:
1. Feels like a bed and breakfast (this could be an up for you...not for us, it is advertised as a hotel and that is what I like).
2. Nice patio (although it is kind of open and public)
3. Good shades on windows for sleeping in
4. Nice flat screen tv, microwave, mini-frige, coffee pot, complementary glass of wine
5. Good location
6. Free wireless internet, but you have to ask for the network information to log in

Downs
1. Booking our stay and changing the dates was a major fiasco
2. The handicap spot with a sign and all "is left over from the previous owners and is no longer honored"....so there is no handicap parking
3. Missing a all light bulbs in the vanity area so we had to move a lamp so we could see to brush our teeth
4. The cleaning lady threw out a bucket of cleaning chemicals right under our car as we were unloading so we had to carry our luggage an extra 10 feet so it didn't get wet...my shoes still smell like cleaning chemicals two days after
5. The walls are paper thin
6. I'm 5'7" and the top of the mattress on the bed is at my rib cage, so you either have to be a good jumper/climber to get in bed or request a step stool to get into the bed (which may or may not get delivered)
7. The office closes at 10, so you better not need anything after then or arrive late
8. The rooms are very stale and seem to be furnished from a thrift shop/yard sale
9. I'm still confused why there is a jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room with 2 beds (seriously, it is in the middle of the room with no means of privacy), and just a regular shower in the room with one bed....is this a swingers joint?
10. No gym
11. There was a curly hair on my pillow

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitcat282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

We stayed at this inn 1 1/2 years ago - at that time it was fairly new and our stay was pleasant. For some reason, we just received another charge from Chantico Inn on our credit card and couldn't understand what was going on. Called them and asked why our credit card was charged, again, after 1 1/2 years - we were told there was some type of computer error and our credit card number "popped up"!!??? - were were told it was in error and would be take care of the next day. A week later and still no credit -we called again, and were told once again it would be taken care of. It's been almost 2 weeks and we just had to call our credit card company to dispute this charge. I find this situation completely unacceptable - are they in such bad financial straits they have to resort to this type of fraud???? Terrible customer service!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rewirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews