We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
15
29
21
16
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
29
21
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tile floors stained glass in room jacuzzi complimentary wine and snacks pool was heated mediterranean feel terra cotta spanish mission other hotels in the area the main drag bike path pleasant stay private patio arches diapers pluses fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 96 reviews
Reviewed December 31, 2009

There are ups, and there are downs. Let's start with the ups:
1. Feels like a bed and breakfast (this could be an up for you...not for us, it is advertised as a hotel and that is what I like).
2. Nice patio (although it is kind of open and public)
3. Good shades on windows for sleeping in
4. Nice flat screen tv, microwave, mini-frige, coffee pot, complementary glass of wine
5. Good location
6. Free wireless internet, but you have to ask for the network information to log in

Downs
1. Booking our stay and changing the dates was a major fiasco
2. The handicap spot with a sign and all "is left over from the previous owners and is no longer honored"....so there is no handicap parking
3. Missing a all light bulbs in the vanity area so we had to move a lamp so we could see to brush our teeth
4. The cleaning lady threw out a bucket of cleaning chemicals right under our car as we were unloading so we had to carry our luggage an extra 10 feet so it didn't get wet...my shoes still smell like cleaning chemicals two days after
5. The walls are paper thin
6. I'm 5'7" and the top of the mattress on the bed is at my rib cage, so you either have to be a good jumper/climber to get in bed or request a step stool to get into the bed (which may or may not get delivered)
7. The office closes at 10, so you better not need anything after then or arrive late
8. The rooms are very stale and seem to be furnished from a thrift shop/yard sale
9. I'm still confused why there is a jacuzzi tub in the middle of the room with 2 beds (seriously, it is in the middle of the room with no means of privacy), and just a regular shower in the room with one bed....is this a swingers joint?
10. No gym
11. There was a curly hair on my pillow

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kitcat282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2009

We stayed at this inn 1 1/2 years ago - at that time it was fairly new and our stay was pleasant. For some reason, we just received another charge from Chantico Inn on our credit card and couldn't understand what was going on. Called them and asked why our credit card was charged, again, after 1 1/2 years - we were told there was some type of computer error and our credit card number "popped up"!!??? - were were told it was in error and would be take care of the next day. A week later and still no credit -we called again, and were told once again it would be taken care of. It's been almost 2 weeks and we just had to call our credit card company to dispute this charge. I find this situation completely unacceptable - are they in such bad financial straits they have to resort to this type of fraud???? Terrible customer service!

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rewirement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2009

Odd really is the first name that comes to mind when I think about this hotel. The hotel has a good location, just a few blocks from the center of town. It's a two story building that you might drive by as it's length goes deep and from the street you only see the side. It's sign is small and hard to catch.

When we arrived it was early - 7:00pm. However in the office most of the lights were off and it took some time for a clerk to come greet us. Although our reservation was in place she seemed a little surprised to see guests.

The hotel does not have roll away beds, although this was requested and nobody every e-mailed back saying they do not have roll away beds.

Our room was strange. I looked like grandma decorated it. It had some antiques that just looked like old furniture and was not interesting. There was a bath tub in the main room (no privacy). Our bed spread was torn. Housekeeping had not done a great job. The room was dusty and just felt dirty.

On the plus side the room was a nice size and we did have a gas fireplace in the room.

Later I went back to the office for directions for dinner and the office was closed and locked at 7:30pm.

The next morning breakfast was juice boxes and danish in a plastic bag. Again nobody was around to help or greet us.

The whole night just felt odd.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

This "inn" is nothing but a renovated motel. The website photos are utterly misleading and it's unbelievable that they charge $300/night for a room that should be about $75/night. I recommend ponying up to stay at the Ojai Spa or trying to find a B&B. The high-speed internet didn't work either and the front desk staff didn't try to fix it. We were sorely disappointed in this place.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nycnyc_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2009

We had high anticipation for Chantico after researching all the local hotels for our first family trip to Ojai and a one night get away. The rooms were great, pricing decent and front desk hospitality was warm up through check in. They also offer a complimentary wine hour at 5 pm. But beware, the front desk leaves at 10 pm and you need to call an offsite telephone to get help (e.g. your room key doesn't work). In our case, a bunch of loud younger adults checked in and made lots of noise out by the pool and jacuzzi area well after 10 pm; I believe one of the girls didn't have a swim suit on either. After trying to quiet them down at 10:30, they took their party in the room and continued the noise there. I called the "emergency" number a few times to have this taken care of, but the calls went to voice mail. We went down to their room and saw 5 plus people and a few were smoking some kind of pipe thing (they claimed it wasn't pot); we threatened to call the police unless they quieted down. They finally did, but we lost precious hours of sleep for our one night vacation and even our kids heard the commotion. Next morning, the front deck agent appologized and promised to look into it. We've not heard back from Chantico since. In the future, any hotel we stay at will have some kind of night security and a phone number just won't suffice.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wk1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews