We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Excellent service.Great times!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chantico Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chantico Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service.Great times!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I were i'n ojai and were debating where to stay we checked out a couple hotels and decided on chantico because it was the best deal and the rooms were nice. The service was great; they had free wine, a jacuzzi, and excellent customer service. I would most definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting the town and the location was great also right by the main street.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wallsofpretence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    22
    15
    14
    10
See reviews for
22
27
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Goleta
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Our two-night adventure began with the management giving our room away, and not honoring the specifics of our reservation which was made weeks earlier and confirmed on the phone a few days before our arrival. The first night we stayed in a smaller room, the second night was in the room we had originally requested. They did offer us a reduced rate to compensate, which was appreciated, but no excuse.

It was revealed to us that the owner himself gave our room away, and did not honor our reservation. He never made any attempt to offer an apology. Upon inquiry, we found out that the owner is a notorious landlord who at one time had over 800 building code violations cited against him on multiple properties... Ironically he chose jail time rather than house arrest inside one of his own disgusting apartments, per the Santa Barbara Independent Newspaper.

This motel is in a good location for walking distance to downtown Ojai, but there is very little pride of ownership. We had multiple plumbing problems which included a running toilet, a faucet that did not work, and a spa tub that had issues. The bed spread was torn in several places, the pillows were stained and frumpy, short black hair was on the sheets (maybe from a dog?). The shampoo bottle was not sealed... made us not want to use it from reading other disgusting posts. Tile grout was totally missing in many spots on the floors and walls.

Furniture in the rooms was a mix of some attractive antiques and some completely broken pieces that weren't even thrift store quality. Wi-Fi in the room was very spotty.

I have two words for the owner... DRYWALL PATCH. Both rooms we stayed in had many holes in the walls from changing towel bars and shelves. A little bit of spackle and touch-up paint would do wonders.

The pool area was in need of maintenance as well. The hot tub was okay, but the pool was freezing. Both the pool and the hot tub had dirty tile, and stained plaster. The patio furniture was very frumpy, and looked like it came from a garage sale. The gate to the pool area does not lock, thus a drowning hazard to any small children in the area.

The building exterior is in need of some stucco patching and paint. One of the outside stairways has a broken step, creating a tripping hazard. No ice machine on the premises, and no vending machines... however there is an ice bucket in every room. They do have two ice trays hidden in the lobby if you ask.

The continental breakfast offered some bags of oatmeal, a waffle maker, one pot of regular coffee, one pot of hot water for a few tea bags, packaged danish (the cheap kind you might find in a Seven Eleven), and the "juice" was Tang. That's all... no fruit, and no protien.

On a high note, the lobby is staffed by some very friendly individuals, who seemed genuinely sorry for the room mix up. The place has a lot of potential, but is lacking in so many areas which could be easily fixed if the owner would only apply a little TLC. In the meantime, we will not stay there again until it's in better shape. We roll through Ojai frequently, and we'll be watching and hoping the Chantico will turn around.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Yellowsubmawing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ojai hotels

San Diego, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Where do I start? 1. First night - When we checked in they overcharged 22.00 more than our reservation from them stated. Went to get that credited back and they charged and additional 22.00 before the clerk figured out how to refund us the full 44.00..2. CHEEZY room. Stunk like "old public swimming pool locker room". The bed was too small for the gargantuan frame. So there was a 6" gap between bed and frame on one side you could easily have your foot fall into or trip and break your neck on the hard, COLD tile floor. Lawsuit waiting to happen. Filthy blankets. Sheets too small for the bed. Decorations I can only call "Early Halloween". 3. 7 AM the pipes started knocking so hard it was impossible to sleep. 4. Horrible housekeeping. The maid's idea of "cleaning" was pulling the comforter over the bed in a very sloppy manner and leaving tissues and other stuff UNDER it. No clean sheets. II had eaten lunch on the patio and some food spilled on the floor, which they left. 5. Came back to hotel that evening and there was NO parking anywhere. Had to park by the trash cans and hoped not to be towed. 6. Second night there, we returned from a function at 1:00 AM and neither of our key cards worked on the door. Had to call someone to come let us in and it was very cold outside. Got inside and the room smelled like a sewer. 7. Again in the early morning the merciless BANG BANG BANG of the pipes knocking, and you could hear everything that was going on upstairs. Sounded like they were bowling with lead shoes on. IMPOSSIBLE to sleep through all of this STOMP, STOMP, STOMP, BANG, BOOM, etc. 8. No one told us about any amenities whatsoever when we checked in. We did get a 10% discount on our key card for a sandwich place that charged us 18.50 for a sub and 2 bags of chips.... DO NOT STAY HERE. Camping outside would be better. We stayed 2 nights and it felt like we hadn't slept in a week.

Room Tip: GO SOMEWHERE ELSE. If you have to stay in nearby Ventura, you'll be very glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Terrible hotel. Here are my main complaints:

1. We were locked out of our room for about 30 minutes late on a cold Saturday night after returning from a wedding. Not sure why, but it had to do with our key getting demagnetized or the battery in the key reader conking out. No one was staffed at the Chantico at this hour and instead we saw a sign saying to call two emergency numbers. Each number did not ring and went straight to voicemail. My wife and I called several times while becoming increasingly cold/angry. Someone eventually checked their voicemail, and came after about 30 minutes to resolve the issue. Totally inexcusable that they do not staff the hotel at night, and that they provide "emergency numbers" that actually do not connect you with a real person.

2. Awful lighting in our hotel room and the "mirror" was more like a dirty piece of reflective glass. Could not see yourself in the mirror when getting ready, putting on makeup, etc.

3. Poor staffing in the hotel lobby. Went down to the lobby a few times to ask questions about things to do/see in Ojai, however no one was in the lobby to help us. They seem to have a significant staffing problem and you don't realize how important this is until you actually need someone to help you urgently (see point 1).

4. WiFi doesn't work. Not a deal breaker but might as well add this while I am racking up my complaints about this place.

5. Our shampoo also had no seal and a strange white fluid in it. Didn't know what it was at the time but now after reading some negative reviews I am sick to my stomach when thinking of what this might have been.

All in all an awful experience here and I encourage all of you to stay away. This all happened in March 2012.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gavin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
193 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

I was surprised to find that our room in person did not look like the picture on the web. It was perhaps a tired, worn version of it. Furniture in the room did not match - ranged from old looking (fake antique) to French provincial. Handles were missing from a few of the drawers and were resting inside of them rather than being reattached. The hair dryer on the wall didn't work and just hung there useless. A second one sat in a drawer. The light switch over the sink was hidden behind the microwave and we needed help from the front desk to locate it. Although we were two, the housekeeper insisted on leaving us just one hand towel every day. The alarm clock marched along to it's own beat, way out of sync with the real world. The hotel promises
a continental breakfast. In reality, there was no juice, a few packages of stale looking Danishes, a malfunctioning waffle machine and tepid hot water and coffee. On a positive note, the room was clean and quiet.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crosswycke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We stayed there for two nights in August. Nothing special. Rooms were clean but decoration was kitschy. The bed in our room was so tall that I needed to step on the stool to get on it! At nights we were chasing rats outside our room... They had free wi-fi which was great. Breakfast was coffee and some croissants only. Staff was really friendly. Pool was nothing special. The hotel was really cheap and ok for two nights but if you want to have a great time in Ojai I would recommend you something else.

Room Tip: Whatever you choose is the same thing. Prefer the rooms on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LeriMari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Booked 2 rooms for 1 night for our family/in-laws.The shampoo bottle was not sealed and was sticky. Our group all agreed the shampoo had been replaced with semen. Took it to front desk and was told if it would make us feel better we could clean the shower/tub cuz there were no more rooms available and no maid either. We were then given cleaning supplies! Days later, after much trying, I reached the owner and was told angrily that we were wrong. Everyone in our group agreed it was semen. Took bottle to city health department and they said they'd look into it. I am still in disbelieve about how the whole thing was handled.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tonyaramos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojai
1.2 mi away
Casa Ojai Inn
Casa Ojai Inn
#2 of 5 in Ojai
4.0 of 5 stars 436 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Capri
The Capri
#4 of 5 in Ojai
3.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
4.4 mi away
Oakridge Inn
Oakridge Inn
#1 of 1 in Oak View
4.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Ojai Valley Inn & Spa
2.0 mi away
Blue Iguana Inn
Blue Iguana Inn
#2 of 9 in Ojai
4.5 of 5 stars 478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Su Nido Inn (Your Nest In Ojai)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chantico Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chantico Inn

Property: Chantico Inn
Address: 406 W Ojai Ave, Ojai, CA 93023-2444
Location: United States > California > Ojai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ojai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Chantico Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Chantico Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing