We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveler rating
15
29
21
16
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
15
29
21
16
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tile floors stained glass in room jacuzzi complimentary wine and snacks pool was heated mediterranean feel terra cotta spanish mission other hotels in the area the main drag bike path pleasant stay private patio arches diapers pluses fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 96 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stayed with large wedding party.22 rooms: Room #1 was the dungeon, room #2 shower flooded bathroom, rooms #3-11 had private front door verandahs with bathtub whirlpools,room. Upstairs #12 had 2 room suite with whirlpool and fireplace and private balcony overlooking Ojai,rooms 13-21were standard rooms upstairs, room#22 was the Honeymoon suite with mirrored ceiling walls, fireplace and large whirlpool bathtub. The outside pool and whirlpool were excellent. Every morning ran out of coffee for the meager Continental breakfast. Staff was short.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Trader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2011

The Chantico Inn was a perfect choice for us in that it is walking distance from the center of town (three blocks), there is a pleasant sun deck at the front of the Inn, on the second floor, and pool/jacuzzi area at the back of the property for places to relax in the sun. Ojai is not the place for 24 hour excitement and electrifying night life, so Chantico had exactly what we needed for our stay. The rooms have an eclectic Mediterranean feel, dark and a bit worn but very comfortable. There are shaded little patio seating areas outside each room. The rooms on the ground floor have fantastic jacuzzi tubs in the room - separate from the bathroom- which is a must for a relaxing getaway. When we went out to have breakfast in town, housekeeping cleaned up our room and left it immaculate by the time we walked back to sit out by the pool. We were very pleased with the service and value of this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gr8fulspace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

Some negative reviews notwithstanding, we booked this inn for our wedding guests in January, 2010, and hand-picked the rooms we wanted. We established a good relationship with the manager, Sylvia, checked on the rooms, and told them exactly what we needed. The result was excellent - our guests from Virginia thoroughly enjoyed their stay.

The location of the Chantico makes it well worth any inconvenience you might encounter. From the inn you can stroll down to the Spanish-style arcade with its shops and restaurants, visit the Museum, and relax at the Ojai Roasting Co.

  • Stayed: March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aslan35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

First I was promised a room when I made the reservation. Arrived to check in and the room was given away. The receptionist was courteous and gave me a discount for a different room. OMG the room had NO HOT WATER and the mirror was so scratched it looked like a 2 year old had cleaned it with a Brillo pad. I was upgraded to another room that was OK. Although the furniture was dingy and dirty and there was used empty packets of sugar for the coffee in the room. So I went for coffee in the lobby, what no cream just creamate how cheap are they? The place certainly needs new management and upgrading to make it have the charm that is possible with some work on the details.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank walkingfeather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2010

We booked this hotel because it was literally the last available room in town. We were were prepared for the worst because of the negative reviews, but we ended up being pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the staff was courteous and available. The room had everything we could've wanted...perhaps a little too much: fireplace, jacuzzi, sink, wetbar, flat screen tv on the wall...not one inch of space was wasted in that room, but we were extremely comfortable and the furniture gave it a bed and breakfast feel.

My only suggestion would be to book a room upstairs because the tile floors can be noisy in the morning with people wheeling suitcases around overhead. Breakfast was fruit and muffins served in the lobby which has a nice sitting room. We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smithster818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews