We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Complain, though "Suite" is a bit of a stretch”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Reviewed June 18, 2008

If you are traveling to Oceanside for any of the various triathalons, runs, etc. @ Camp Pendleton, this is a great place to stay. It was very convenient to the entrance of the base, we got a good night's sleep and the pool and hot tub were nice and relaxing after the race. Breakfast was also up & running early enough for us to grab some food before heading over to the race.
Yes, it's close to the freeway, but not too loud, really. What other reviewers say about the suites not really being all that "suite-y" is certianly true. The room is the size of a double, just with a sofa rather than a second bed.
The staff was very friendly and made our check-in, check-out process simple and quick.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank Ladybug002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 212 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2007

We found a coupon for this hotel for $69.00 a night, the room was nice and very clean, breakfast had a nice variety of things. Close to 1-5 and beach

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FloridaTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2007

My wife and I spent 3 nights at this hotel while visiting our daughter in Oceanside. All the staff was very plesant and helpful.
Room was super clean and comfortable size. The hotel in right on I-5 and the Oceanside exit, some said they had road noise issues in the back wing, but our room was in the front and it was quiet. There is alot of road noise in the pool area, but we had other things to do and did not use it anyway. We paid $98.00 / night through the Southwest Airlines website. We will stay there when we visit next June.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank goswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

This is a fairly new, clean, well-maintained hotel just off of I-5 at the north end of Oceanside, not far from the Pendleton main gate. The hotel is in a busy retail/commercial area off of the freeway interchange; there is a "budget" motel next door which looks a little seedy, but the parking lots are separated by a wall and there does not appear to be any "traffic" between the properties. There are numerous restaurants and shops within a 5-minute walk.
A full buffet breakfast, including hot eggs and sausage was included; the breakfast area was a little crowded, but kept clean and well-serviced by the attentive staff. Front desk service was friendly and efficient, and handled a minor reservation mix-up well.
Our "suite" (really a room divider between two double beds and sofabed areas) was not spacious, but included a microwave & mini-fridge. Beds, bedding, furniture, fixtures, drapes, decor and finishes were clean and in good repair, with the exception of the sofabed headpiece, which had a broken frame piece which we kept propped in place with one of the cushions - no real problem.
There is a "business center" with desktop PCs (and rental internet access - 15 min. for $5) on the 2nd floor; however, there is free wireless access in the breakfast area which we were invited to use with our laptop - worked fine.
The outdoor pool area was spacious inviting; our group had carry-in dinner at the patio tables one evening. About the only concern I had was the "100% Non-Smoking Hotel"'s outdoor designated smoking area's location - immediately outside the rear entrance to the building. This area was littered with butts and generally grungy . . . perhaps the management might consider locating it around the corner of the building.
We stayed here in the summer of 2005 as well . . . aside from the dirty smoking area, the hotel has been kept up well in the ensuing two years.
The price was fair at around $100 - about a third less than for a comparable hotel in Carlsbad, and only a 10-minute drive to Legoland. Save your $ for the attractions and shopping!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TANSTAAFL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Oceanside leaves a lot to be desired, we were there for a triathlon and found the town to be a little drab but were forced to stay there to be near by the start of the race at Camp Pendleton. The hotel itself looks clean, and the rooms are a bit dated -ours smelled musty. They really shouldn't call it Suites--the bathrooms and vanity area was tiny, the sofa sleeper was run down and not at all comfortable. Front desk was not friendly either (on the phone and in person). If I had to stay in Oceanside again, I would stay down the road at the Holiday Inn off of the Hwy 78.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Italia28Bella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2007

Our room was spacious, though like others have commented, this was probably not a true suite. Our room had two beds, plus a sofa bed. All total, I suppose 6 people could've slept in the room we had. The room was neat and tidy; there was a microwave and refrigerator. I always like having access to those ammenities.

I thought that the breakfast made this place a good deal. My husband and I travelled with our two young children. Having breakfast at this
place saved us the time, hassel of driving some place with the kids, and money. As a family of 4, we could've easily ended up shelling out
$30 each day for breakfast alone. The waffle machine was a little tricky to figure out, but it was nice to have Belgian waffles, sausage/eggs, pastries, cereals, juice, etc. Funny how very fancy places have no continental breakfasts, but that a place like this, does have a nice breakfast.

With regard to traffic and noise.....well, aren't a lot of places in Southern California highly trafficked with street noise? And when looking at the map, there was no surprise that this was right off the
freeway. While I agree that noise can be a problem, I don't know if you can fault the staff/facility for where the hotel is located. However, if you are noise sensitive or come from a quiet neighborhood, with regard to the freeway, this may not be the place for you. City folks are probably accustomed to car noises.

The pool was ice cold (we were here during April/spring break), but the hot tub worked and our kids liked being using it.

It's true that this place has rules; but we've also seen these rules in fancy hotels, too. If you don't like cigarette smoke, you may be happy to hear that it's a nonsmoking place. If you are a smoker, you may want to look elsewhere.

Oh, the neighborhood did seem questionable, but there seemed to be lots of security cameras throughout the building. We didn't encounter
any problems, though we also only stayed inside.

It was a little tricky trying to find out how to access the hotel; we circled around a few times before actually getting to the hotel.

I wouldn't say that I loved this place, but it met our expectations and seemed to be a good value; we'd consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pocooso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2007

We stay here each year after running the "Mud Run" 10k at Camp Pendleton. The location to the base is perfect, just two minutes away from the main gate. We've always found the hotel to be pleasant and the rooms nice and clean (but not really "suites"). The hotel has a pool and jacuzzi where we spend the entire day following the run. They serve their purpose, but they are nothing fancy. The free breakfast is good with lots of choices and you can make your own waffles. The only downside to this hotel is it is located between a busy street and a freeway. Don't plan on walking anywhere from the hotel. Luckily, everything you'll need is a short drive away. The windows of the hotel must be double-paned, because we've never been bothered by freeway noise.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaSerena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
1.4 mi away
Best Western Oceanside Inn
Best Western Oceanside Inn
#7 of 27 in Oceanside
568 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
0.4 mi away
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina

Address: 888 N Coast Hwy, Oceanside, CA 92054-2134 (Formerly Comfort Suites - Marina)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range: $97 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Oceanside all-suites hotel gives you easy access to such attractions Camp Pendleton, Oceanside Museum of Art, Mission San Luis Rey. California Welcome Center. Carlsbad Premium Outlets and California Surf Museum.Located four blocks from Oceanside Beach and Oceanside Harbor and 20 minutes to LEGOLAND California. We also offer such amenities as Free WIFI, Free parking, Fitness center. Guest laundry facilities and our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Each of our spacious suites features a flat panel TV, microwave, refrigerator, coffee maker, safe, iron and ironing board. Keep your electronic devices charged with the recharge device including AC and USB outlets. Our Presidential suite also offers a whirlpool, wet bar and private balcony with an ocean view. Enjoy the combination of cozy accommodations, friendly service and wonderful amenities at the Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina Book now - we look forward to hosting you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites - Marina Hotel Oceanside
Comfort Suites Oceanside
Oceanside Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing