We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing staycation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanside Marina Suites
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a lovely stay at the Marina Suites! The room was clean, comfortable, and had a beautiful view. We had a nice balcony that overlooked the entry to the harbor where we enjoyed breakfast (from the hotel) in the morning and the sunset at night. We also utilized the pool and jacuzzi, which was very enjoyable after a long beach day. The staff were friendly, helpful, and accommodating, ensuring that all of our needs were met by providing things that we forgot or needed. A lot of the rooms seem different in styles and layout, this is probably because the hotel is making renovation and upgrades. Personally, I prefer to stay places where the rooms are unique, this hotel has a lot of character and the grounds are beautiful! I'm from Oceanside and believe that the Marina Suites is one of the better hotels in the area, especially when you consider the location, services offered, and price.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elisabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review about your recent Staycation at Oceanside Marina Suites. I am very happy to hear our staff made such a positive impact on your experience. Our Guest Service is one of the points we prides ourselves on. Thanks again for your great review.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 469 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

We look forward to coming to this unique oasis, as often as we can. Not everything is just perfect, but what we want, this resort has. It is surrounded on three sides by water, so you get the feeling you are on an Island. You can see the Marina, Channel to the ocean, Oceanside's great Pier, and the beach and surf from many of the rooms. We love to sit on the spacious balconies and watch all the boats and various watercraft go by. We can see the surfers catching waves and people enjoying all sorts of activities, like fishing, swimming and playing on the beach, but you are across the water from them, so it is quiet and so peaceful. We love all the wildlife, too. We saw Dolphins, sea lions, many kinds of birds, too. If you want to swim or enjoy the hot tub they overlook the ocean, next to the bbq and picnic areas, which you can use. Almost all the rooms have full kitchens, so we make some of our meals and save some money. We have family in the area and they love to come visit us while we are there and enjoy this great setting. The grounds are down right amazing. 70 foot palm trees, perfectly manicured lawns and so many beautiful plants and flowers. The pictures do not do justice to the architectural beauty of the place, it is truly one of a kind. There are comfortable lounges and chairs, just where you would love to lay and read a book and enjoy the beauty all around you. There are good restaurants within walking distance and more shops and places to eat at the other end of the marina, which you can reach by car, or in the summer they have a free water taxi on Fri, Sat and Sunday, that will give you a tour of the marina from the water, as they ferry you to them. If you have a family or big group, it is a great place to stay because so many of the rooms are two bedroom two full bath, apartments. I feels like a home away from home, with so much room. The beds are very nice. We usually have a king. Yes there are some stains on the carpet, as one person mentioned and depending on where your room is, the internet can be slow, so if this is sooo important to you , please stay somewhere else, so we can get a room when we want to, because it is getting harder to get into our favorite place to stay in all California.

Room Tip: All the two bedrooms on the south side have a great view and are the most private, but the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank volunteerquickbuild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you and we are honored to be named your favorite place to stay in all of California. What a nice compliment to the staff who take pride in the work they put into the hotel to make a memorable experience for all the guests and they really appreciate your kind words. We always look for ways to make improvements and we are addressing the issues you mentioned. It is this feedback that gives us the opportunity to correct or improve. I am glad you were able to take advantage of all the amenities we and the City of Oceanside have to offer. We look forward to having you back with us again in the future.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

When we first pulled up to the hotel we were pleasantly surprised. That ended quickly. The main entrance is cute, the view from the pool was beautiful and the grounds around the pool seemed like they were maintained. The nightmare started when we started walking down the super stained carpet in the hall, and then we opened the door to our room. The smell was aweful. Old and musty, and hot! The sofa was sagging, dirty and old ( I would not let my kids sit on it, i had to ask for an extra blanket which i laid over the sofa). The bed linens were old, sheets scratchy, pillows lumpy, towels that felt like sandpaper. There was not a pen in sight. The patio furniture on the balcony was dirty and sticky. Everything was just really old and ugly. The entire kitchen needed an overhaul as well. That was just when we got there. Walls were paper thin, and our drunk neighbors kept me up until 2am. The good parts, they have a shuttle boat that takes off from the Jolly Rogers restaurant, where we had a lovely view and great breakfast with a discount for being a guest of the hotel. The shuttle dropped us off at the beach and saved us a really long walk. I think that with some really easy upgrades this place could be a gem. New furniture, paint, linens, and a cleaning staff that pays more attention to detail and I may return to this place. For now, it's on my stay away list.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest:

I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We work hard to ensure each and every one of our guests has a clean and comfortable stay. When things come up we try to rectify them immediately. The room you were in is indeed one of the older rooms of the hotel. I am happy to say that over the last year we have started a refurbishment timeline for our hotel. We have completely renovated seven rooms (all of the one bedroom ocean view suites). The marina view suites will be renovated starting this Fall. Some of the rooms have already had new carpets laid and walls re-painted. As a matter of fact, as I write this, one room’s carpet is being laid. In the meantime, the marina views are priced reasonably, especially considering their location on the waterfront. We would love to have you back to experience some of the results of these recent renovations. Please contact me at gm@omihotel.com so I personally look after your next visit. Thanks again for the feedback both criticism and compliments, as it does help us to continue to move in the right direction.

Kind regards,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed in a 1 bedroom suite at a very reasonable rate overlooking the marina. Motel is in a very quiet and peaceful area. Room was very nice as were the pool and hot tub. Staff was very attentive. Exterior looked excellent - nothing run down. Nice landscaping
Close to a number of restaurants along the marina with great happy hrs. and food.
Would stay here again.
Contlnental breakfast is basicly only sweet table with some fruit.

Room Tip: Choose between marina or ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thanks for your fantastic review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We value the feedback from our guests and are happy to see people enjoying our hotel. We hope to have you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was our second time back for our anniversary and it was amazing. The staff recognized us which is always a good feeling, our honeymoon suite was ready by noon so off we went. They have done a nice new paint job that brightens up the resort very well. The honeymoon suite is amazing and the best thing about it is the hott tub on the patio overlooking the ocean. You can not beat that. The rooms have a more modern feel to them, I like them now but enjoyed the touches before so each way is fine with us! Its so nice to walk around the property at night since the lights are always on. I love this place and will be back every year for our anniversary! Thank you to Adam, Tatu and staff for being so welcoming to your guests

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mmoran143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Molly,
Congratulations on your one year wedding anniversary. I am so glad you like the new touches. The staff has been working very hard to put the shine on what was already the “gem of the harbor.” We have made a number of improvements over the last year and have so much more planned for this coming year. I am glad you like the direction we are heading. It was a pleasure hosting your wedding a year ago and we are so happy to see you a year into your new lives together. Until next year…

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I just stayed at the hotel last weekend for my husband's birthday. We absolutely loved the place! The suite was spacious, clean and well appointed. The view was breathtaking and the whole grounds were just so peaceful. We also loved the pool and spa and spent most of our time relaxing on the deck. The staff was courteous and helpful, especially the manager Adam. We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to our next opportunity to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you so much for your five-star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a nice birthday weekend for your husband. I am glad to have met you and look forward to having you with us again, hopefully soon.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We came to Oceanside with another couple for a getaway weekend from the desert where we live. Shopping for the girls, golf for the boys, and we all got to visit our adult children and their families. Thought would be fun to stay here instead of with our respective children. My daughter recommended the hotel for us as she'd been there when doing flowers for a wedding held on the premises. We loved the location and our room faced the marina, which was great! The buildings are not new by any means but they seem to be heading in the right direction in continuing the upkeep. The handle was missing on our screen door to the balcony so it was funky when opening it and the screen was bent on the window near the dinette which allowed a few flies in. Other than that our suite was great! The front desk staff was very nice and they have a young lady in the breakfast room who was a delight (I understand from the front desk that she is new to the area; they need to hang on to her!). The views from the gazebo area were great and my friend and I spent quite some time in the big rockers, chatting and enjoying the boats and birds zipping past. We have arranged for my mother-in-law to stay there when she comes to California at months' end and I know she will be very, very pleased with her visit.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper you might ask for a room away from the marina side as that is also the pa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel. I am so happy that you enjoyed yourself. The hotel is indeed older, but the staff’s hard work in addition to the renovations, keeps things running smoothly. The Engineering Department has already take care of the two issues of which you referred to.

Tina, the breakfast server, joined us very recently and we are honored to have her as part of our team. Thanks for pointing her out.

We look forward to hosting your mother-in-law and will be sure to make her feel right at home.

Sincerely,
Adam Della Rocca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
0.6 mi away
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
1.5 mi away
Southern California Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Marina Suites

Address: 2008 Harbor Dr N, Oceanside, CA 92054-1034
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range: $98 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanside Marina Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanside Marina Suites is located on a private peninsula in the Oceanside Harbor. Surrounded by water on three sides our resort offers a host of amenities in a serene natural environment. Relax by the pool or your own private patio; stroll along the adjacent marina or shop and eat at the Marina Village. Our Boutique styled hotel is newly remodeled.We have large one & two bedroom suites with fireplaces and fully equipped kitchens, as well as regular standard rooms. Some suites offer an in-room spa for your private enjoyment. Our heated pool, spa ,sauna and Cabana Room are conveniently located on our spacious grounds. Relax in the gazebo and watch the boats navigate in and out of the harbor. Or, if you prefer, grill a steak at our pool side barbecue. Each morning savor our complimentary continental breakfast served by the pool.Located just 10 minutes from Legoland, you'll be away from the crowded San Diego Harbor and beaches. So, for an unbelievable waterfront vacation, come to the Oceanside Marina Suites. You'll be amazed at what a night or two will do for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Oceanside Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing