We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Get Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceanside Marina Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Oceanside Marina Suites
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Vista, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Weekend Get Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

After attending a wedding at this Hotel I took my wife back for an overnight stay just to get away for a while. The price is great and the setting is absolutely magnificent. The room was a bit older but they are renovating. Even without the renovations the room was nice; flat screen TV, gas fireplace and Whirlpool Tub. The views were wonderful and the staff was very friendly and it is walking distance to 3-4 restaurants. We had a great time and this is now our go to place for weekends get aways!n

Room Tip: Ask for the Ocean View rooms, it is a great way to take in the sunset right from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKG73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for the five-star review. We are so happy you have joined the ranks as one of our valued “weekenders.” We have many locals who stay here several times a year enjoying the peace and serenity of being surrounded by water. Our staff enjoys seeing familiar faces and we look forward to seeing you again as well.

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    114
    55
    43
    64
See reviews for
180
141
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I am compelled to write this review due to bad our experience after staying at this place. I feel obliged to let fellow travelers know few things about this place that were not acceptable in my view.
First the goods
1. Beautifully maintained grounds and exterior. Very safe and peaceful
2. Nice breakfast. Nothing fancy, but just adequate to get you going in the morning.
3. Good front desk staff, when they are available.
The bads:
1. No front desk service or maintained service after midnight until 8 in the morning. There is an answering service, but, they are not helpful at all and not equipped with any information to help. We arrived late at 1 in the morning after a 12 hours’ drive. The front desk was closed. There was a sign to call the answering service, which we did. They told us where to find the room key. Not bad so far. Went to the room, used the toilet. Once I sat on the toilet, then I noticed the toilet seat was spattered with dried urine. But, it was too late. Then my worst night mare came true. The toilet got clogged. Called the answering service for emergency maintenance. We were told that they don’t have any and to wait until 8 in the morning. Really? No toilet to be used for the whole night and the morning? Husband had to go to the nearby gas station to use the toilet. Next day we see there was a toilet available next to the pool. The lady at answering service could have told us that. But I doubt she knew, as she is not the inn employee. But, how can one run a hotel without 24 hour emergency maintenance service? When we complaint the next day, we were promise to give a $20 discounts? I don’t think any discount can compensate for this lake of service. In my view this is not acceptable.
2. The room service is non-existent. I mentioned previously about the toilet seat incident. For the 3 days that we stayed, the bathroom was not cleaned. Once we came back, we found the bed made and new towels. But, in the sink and bathtub, the hair that we left in the morning left in the same place, untouched.
3. The interior is worn out, old, with musty smell. The bathroom drain was dark brown with rust, shower handle had rust too. Carpet was torn in few places.
4. Parking is scarce. The outside parking is for normal size cars, but, they get filled very quickly and you are left with compact parking which is on the first floor, right opposite to the regular parking. It is quite a task to park or drive out in these spots without hitting the cars in the back or cars next to you.

Will I stay here again? Yes, if they have 24 hour maintenance service and better cleanliness in the room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we apologize that these took away from your positive experience.

As with most small properties, we are not staffed 24 hours a day but we do have an Answering Service available that can contact staff in the event of an emergency and facilitate late check-ins. I have reviewed our policies with them to make sure what happened during your stay does not happen again and have initiated training of their staff so that they can better assist our guests' needs after hours.

Our hotel policy concerning Housekeeping is to offer a daily service to the rooms (fresh towels, take out the garbage, and tidy up) and every four days, (or sooner should guests check out) do a full service of the room, including cleaning the bathrooms and changing the sheets. In the event that any more cleaning is requested sooner than that, we are always happy to accommodate those requests. The cleanliness of the hotel is of utmost importance to all of us here at the hotel and we pride ourselves on our positive reviews, unfortunately your experience was an exception as you were not made aware of our cleaning policies. We now will provide guest information in the rooms detailing that policy.

Once again, I apologize for your less than wonderful experience as it is not what we wish for any of our guests. We are constantly updating and renovating our rooms and they are all unique in themselves so I hope you will come back and stay in one of our newer rooms. Please contact me to when you rebook, so I can personally ensure you have a pleasant stay.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oceanside hotels

Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I have spend many weekends at this hotel. I meet my mother there for a weekend together. The owners are really trying upgrade the property. The location is really the best, almost surrounded by water. The grounds are kept up beautifully. The rooms could all use a little more work and attention to detail. Some things don't work, like the shower, or heater. The staff is always wonderful, friendly and helpful. They really are trying. It's really a nice place to bring a family, because the rooms have a kitchen. Close to the harbor. This last stay, there was someone staying in the room we requested, so the staff upgraded us to the corner suite. Really nice of the staff to do. It made our stay that much more fun with a spectacular view.

Room Tip: Upstairs with a view are probably pretty nice, but my Mom can't walk very well and there are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cribbs32780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your recent review of the hotel. Our number one priority is the satisfaction of our guests. Our entire team work incredibly hard to consistently provide a delightful and memorable oceanfront stay. The property is maintained to ensure the comfort of our guests. When something does come up, we are quick to respond and accommodate our guests. I am glad you enjoyed your upgrade. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

THE place to stay in North County. I can't wait to go back. You will not find a better place on the water. Our room just felt like home with the updated kitchen. 'Breakfast served by the pool will set your day off right. If your looking for a clean and quiet get away book here now.

Room Tip: Stay on the higher floor to view the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again sometime soon.
Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Great experience. A Little pricey but was worth the extra. Very comfortable rooms. Older resort--Being up dated but was quiet-pleasant staff-easy access to rooms-Super large-If you want to cook everything is provided.. Beautiful location & grounds. Nice pool-Great & very warm hot tub. Clean. Great location close to everything. Must take a drive to Temecula, Ca. for all the GREAT WINERIES & nice Indian casino. Beautiful downtown. Also drive up the mountains to Ramona- Quaint town & antiques. Must do winery at Temecula isMaurice Car'rie Winery
34225 Rancho California Road Temecula, CA to do on Saturday's. Has special to kill for home made Sourdough Bread (usually available all day) & custom made Brie bread extravaganza (which you have to get your name on the list as it is baked fresh). Some great wines especially Muscat & Zinfindel. They have a 2nd winery just down the road & grate wines available there.Lots of antique malls in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for five-star review of our hotel. We pride ourselves on our great staff. They appreciate the guest recognition. Also, thanks for excellent recommendations of other places to go. We are close to an amazing wine country and I am glad you shared some tips on some unique adventures.

Sincerely,
Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

I had low expectations because of how inexpensive the room was, but was blown away by the hotel. The 1 bedroom suite was huge with a view of the ocean and the marina. We also had a kitchen, fireplace, and balcony!

We have 3 kids and they thought said "it was the best room EVER"

Breakfast was good and the pool with an ocean view doesn't hurt either.

I just hope they don't increase the rates when everyone realizes what a great hotel this is.

Room Tip: The 1 bed room suite is a great bargain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Byron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very happy that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We seek to provide good value to our guests and are pleased you were able to enjoy one of our Special Winter Deals. We hope to see you again on your next trip to California.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel has great front desk staff. Robin, Micah, and Adam were all very helpful at our checkin. Very pleasant to deal with and knowledgeable. We all had many laughs while checking in and they guided us to all of the important things to see in the area. They also shared the history of this historic hotel. We had several questions and they answered everything to our satisfaction. We had a fun filled event at the continental breakfast this am. The waitstaff at breakfast was very accommodating and even gave us some freshly baked cookies for our breakfast dessert... normally meant for the 5pm cookie hour. The staff at this hotel ROCKS!!! They give everyone an opportunity to experience an awesome vacation in this coastal community. Nicely appointed rooms and all views... ocean or harbor are spellbinding!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyndelano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for such a kind review and glad enjoyed your time with us. Of our staff choose hospitality for guest interactions like these; meeting people from all over the world and sharing a laugh or two. Thanks again for the five-star review.

Sincerely,
Adam M. Della Rocca
Oceanside Marina Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
1.5 mi away
Southern California Beach Club
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Palms/Camp Pendleton
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Marina Suites

Property: Oceanside Marina Suites
Address: 2008 Harbor Drive North, Oceanside, CA 92054
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanside Marina Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanside Marina Suites is located on a private peninsula in the Oceanside Harbor. Surrounded by water on three sides our resort offers a host of amenities in a serene natural environment. Relax by the pool or your own private patio; stroll along the adjacent marina or shop and eat at the Marina Village. Our Boutique styled hotel is newly remodeled.We have large one & two bedroom suites with fireplaces and fully equipped kitchens, as well as regular standard rooms. Some suites offer an in-room spa for your private enjoyment. Our heated pool, spa ,sauna and Cabana Room are conveniently located on our spacious grounds. Relax in the gazebo and watch the boats navigate in and out of the harbor. Or, if you prefer, grill a steak at our pool side barbecue. Each morning savor our complimentary continental breakfast served by the pool.Located just 10 minutes from Legoland, you'll be away from the crowded San Diego Harbor and beaches. So, for an unbelievable waterfront vacation, come to the Oceanside Marina Suites. You'll be amazed at what a night or two will do for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Oceanside Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing