We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to relax this is the place to do it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanside Marina Suites
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I read up on Trip Advisor when I plan on taking a trip. I believe that you have to consider some people are not truthful of their reviews, like the negative reviews on this property. I was slightly worried, but not worried enough that I halted making a reservation here.

We checked in on November 2 and out on the 5th. I found a fantastic deal on their website for buy 2 nights get the third free. Once we got to our 2 bedroom suite, my husband and I were instantly amazed at the fantastic views from our porch! We looked out onto the jetty and were able to see the boats leaving the marina to the open sea. To top that off, there were two lounges next to the water to relax while doing that!

The decor was nice, maybe older, but then again I was overlooking the ocean so who really spends all their time nit-picking the decor when you could be counting the sailboats or observing the seals?

The continental breakfast was a nice touch. Simple danishes and fruits with the morning coffee for a nice caffeine jolt. The kids were happy with it, and I was happy for the kitchen in the room which I was able to make filling meals for me and the husband. To me, that alone was the best amenity in the room, the ability to cook and make meals without having to run out and have fast food or wait at a restaurant.

There are signs and it does also say on the website that this place does not have A/C. Being as we were there in November that was not an issue. However, being that we are originally from Oceanside,(Unlike Arizona) 99.9% of the time you don't need A/C anyhow. Just open a window! I certainly enjoyed my time at the Oceanside Marina Resort and look forward to returning again. Hopefully in February 2013!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adalida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest:

Thank you very much for your five-star review of the Oceanside Marina Suites. I am glad you were able to take advantage of our recent promotion. Check back again to see if a similar promotion is available for your return trip in February!
We appreciate you taking the time to write your review. Your opinions paint a very comprehensive and accurate picture of our hotel and what we have to offer.
We hope to see you again in February!

Kind regards,
Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (483)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 483 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

My cousin and I were spooked by some bad reviews we read, but it was a great hotel. The grounds and pool were very nice and well maintained. The lobby smelled like cookies that were offered at the desk. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The style is older, but has a marble floored lobby and beautiful landscaping. You back up to a marina full of boats with the harbor in front. We enjoyed sitting out watching the sun go down, the pelicans fishing, and the sea lions barking. There is no a/c, but it was very cool with the patio door open to the balcony and a fan in the window. We enjoyed the fresh sea air and the sound of birds. We had no problem parking.....ever. It was well situated to drive up and down the coast and there were restaurants and shopping nearby. We had a great time there and would not hesitate to stay there again. The continental breakfast was good and was served in the pool house (which had very clean and nice bathrooms). Everyone was very kind and friendly. No one, but a whining diva would complain.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for the five-star review. We are so pleased to know that you enjoyed the hotel so much. The staff works very hard so our guests have a positive experience and it is a joy to share with them our guests’ heartfelt and constructive reviews.
We look forward to your return visit and wish you well.

Sincerely,
Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We have stayed here twice for a week in November each time and find it the ideal base to explore S. CA. You come home each night to a beautiful tranquil setting. The gardens and pool are extremely well maintained. The classic hotel look has lots of character and dates to an era of elegance and larger rooms.Almost unbelieveable daylight in the interior public spaces including the beautiful breakfast (Continental) room.

A short walk to great pub/restaurant. A longer walk to downtown and beaches but resort quiet compensates for longer walk.a beach we take bikes with us for exploring

Room Tip: There is no onsite restaurant. We love the Marina side as there is activity and you don't need b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanks for sharing with us your five-star review. We are glad that you chose us as your base for exploring Southern California. We are proud to have provided you with a home away from home.
Thanks again for sharing your experience.

Kind regards,
Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Robin Wilson Showed us several rooms to choose from. Melinda and Ilea Great to great us and talk to us about the area. Mr. U. maintenence. Very Quick to a Small service call. Guest Room Services. very kind and checked with us on Towels sheets and etc. for the rate the view the Stay absolutly awesome. Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveandTamDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Steve and Tamara,

Thank you so much for your 5-star review. I am incredibly proud to be part of such a great team. Robin at the Front Desk, Melinda, serving breakfast daily, and Lia and her housekeeping team are part of the bedrock to the success for our hotel. We very much hope to see you again on your return trip to San Diego!
Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We go back to Oceanside Marina every year for a few days. We always try to get a 2-bedroom unit so we can have the ocean view!! Got our corner unit again this year. Love waking up to the morning fog,sea lions and pelicans right outside our balcony. The property is an older one but in pretty good condition. The outside BBQs could use some upgrading, along with some of the walkways and rocking chairs next to the water, but it is a serene setting and we'll continue to go back year after yea. We love the 2 mile walk around the harbor every morning, the fishing boats and all the great restaurants within walking distance. We already have our vacation booked for next year.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontegoSundance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review. We were pleased we were able to accommodate you in your favorite room with the ocean on your doorstep. We appreciate the constructive feedback and are constantly upgrading features of the resort to provide that serene setting that welcomes guests year after year. We are happy to see you have already re-booked for next year and look forward to seeing you then.

Sincerely,
Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were looking for a coastal hotel with great views. This hotel delivers, yes it is a little older, but clean and nicely deocorated. Rooms have one of two views, Ocean or Harbor. We had the harbor, which at first I was disappointed, but then I changed my mind, the harbor view is peaceful and had lots of activities to watch. People kayaking, paddleboarding, sailing. The ocean view rooms were fabulous, but the pool activity took away from the views, (coming from a couple who wanted an R & R weekend), we were happy with the quiet Harbor view. There was seating around the property, so you could get out at sunset and find a nice place to enjoy the sunset, which was beautiful.
The pool area has a complementary breakfast area, a grilling area, padded chaise lounges, things we did not take advantage of on our short stay, but we loved the idea.
Close to restaurants, a nice stroll along the harbor will get you to two restaurants, by car you are 4 minutes from the major nightlife restaurants on the same street. (No bar service at hotel, not a problem when there is a restaurant/bar within walking distance with great views of harbor also.)
I give this hotel a thumbs up for a 3 Star Hotel (when people complain it sounds like they expect 5 stars for the price of 3, get real) and we will book this again.

Room Tip: East facing Harbor View Rooms are peaceful and cool in afternoon West facing Ocean View Rooms are w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thanks for sharing your thoughts and your pictures. Your review will help other travelers get a more comprehensive picture of the guest experience when planning their future trips. We certainly you will return soon.

Thanks again,
Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Entered the 1970s decor lobby and was hit by the odor of cigars-- unsure of origin. Desk staff was kind and accommodating. The room ... ehhhhh not so great. Old, somewhat clean old furnishings, weird odor in room w dirty rugs was our first observation. In desperate need of updating. We has reserved a 1 bedroom suite that we thought has 2 double beds but it had a king. My adult daughter and i actually ended up switching rooms with my friend who had a double room and was travelling solo...and her room wasn't much better. It's ok for an overnight but I am glad that's all it was. I have attached some photos of rusty shower rod, dirty exhaust fan thatwas noisy , mismatched bedding and poorly placed uadjustable big screen tv. Lighting in bath was horrible for taking a shower and switch on wall was smashed. Pool looked ok --- grounds nicely kept -- scenic area --- but totally disappointed with interior of hotel....and when u drive up it looks rundown. Also in room coffee was horrible !! Nice staff on checkout ...was even handed Travelocity review card! :-/

Room Tip: No fitness center no restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catperson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Dear Guest:

It is always disappointing to read a review from guests that are not satisfied with their stay. Fortunately, you did bring to my attention some items that are easily reconcilable. The Engineering Department has corrected many of the issues that you did point out in your room. We have instituted a corrective maintenance program that is addressing similar areas of concern throughout the hotel and have had fantastic results with repeat guests even commenting on the differences. Once again, thank you for bringing to my attention these items, so we can make sure our guests continue to have positive experiences.

Kind regards,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
1.5 mi away
Southern California Beach Club
1 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
0.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Marina Suites

Address: 2008 Harbor Dr N, Oceanside, CA 92054-1034
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range: $107 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanside Marina Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanside Marina Suites is located on a private peninsula in the Oceanside Harbor. Surrounded by water on three sides our resort offers a host of amenities in a serene natural environment. Relax by the pool or your own private patio; stroll along the adjacent marina or shop and eat at the Marina Village. Our Boutique styled hotel is newly remodeled.We have large one & two bedroom suites with fireplaces and fully equipped kitchens, as well as regular standard rooms. Some suites offer an in-room spa for your private enjoyment. Our heated pool, spa ,sauna and Cabana Room are conveniently located on our spacious grounds. Relax in the gazebo and watch the boats navigate in and out of the harbor. Or, if you prefer, grill a steak at our pool side barbecue. Each morning savor our complimentary continental breakfast served by the pool.Located just 10 minutes from Legoland, you'll be away from the crowded San Diego Harbor and beaches. So, for an unbelievable waterfront vacation, come to the Oceanside Marina Suites. You'll be amazed at what a night or two will do for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Oceanside Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing