We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanside best kept secret”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oceanside Marina Suites
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oceanside best kept secret”
Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

This is quiet hotel with awesome views of the harbor or marina. This is my 4 th stay here and every room has been decorated differently. The staff (stephanie at desk) and even housekeepers are awesome. The grounds are beautifully maintained. Its an oasis tucked away from hustle and bustle of life. Great hotel in all aspects

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kandee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
We love catering to our repeat guests. The staff makes a huge effort to positively impact the stay of everyone of our guests. We are so happy that their efforts are paying off. Thanks for coming and we look forward to seeing you again!

Sincerely,
Adam Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    118
    57
    47
    68
See reviews for
194
145
15
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We booked a two room suite at this hotel. We chose it from the decent reviews and wanted a quiet weekend away. We arrived and found the lobby clean and quiet. We were easily checked in and given an upgraded suite with an ocean view.

We got to our room and found a 'full kitchen' really was that! The kitchen had a stove/oven, full fridge, micro, cups, pots and pans...the whole works.

The rooms were older in decoration, but the kitchen and bathrooms were recently redone.

Overall we were very pleased with the hotel. Dont expect the Ritz when booking, but it beats the Hilton any day. We have since changed our yearly Vegas trip to an Oceanside one!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Family_vacationee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear Guest:
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the Oceanside Marina Suites. We strive to provide our personal blend of great service at a unique and beautiful location. We look forward to having you back next year.
Sincerely,
Adam Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We have been staying at this beautiful hotel for the past several years, and have never been disappointed. Our most recent trip this past weekend was no exception. Robin, at the front desk, is always happy to see us, and treats us like old friends (which I suppose we are.) Adam is the hotel manager, and also goes out of his way to make us feel welcome. I suppose when people like what they do and who they work with, it can't help but be felt by their guests.True, the building is older, but for us this only adds to the unique experience and ambiance of the place. If you want the Hilton then stay at the Hilton. If however, you enjoy amazing panorama views, wonderful staff, beautiful well kept grounds, and spacious, welcoming rooms, then this is the place for you. On a more personal note, some time ago we had the pleasure of staying in adjoining suites with a close friend who was very ill (he has since passed away.) Marina Suites staff went above and beyond anything we could have asked for in their courteous and sensitive handling of our situation, even removing guard rails between the suites to allow him easier access to our rooms. We will always be grateful to these folks who helped to make our friend's last public outing comfortable, as he enjoyed the peaceful environment that makes this hotel so special.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Laura D:

We are so happy that you enjoyed yourself so much. We pride ourselves on providing that “home-away-from-home” experience with warm, friendly staff and large suites with full kitchens. We look forward to your next visit with us. Thanks for staying at the Oceanside Marina Suites.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Filthy rugs, old bedding, rooms smell, rude employees. I was shocked. Pictures very deceiving. Chipped paint, no elevator or air. Fought hour and a half to cancel. Checked room before I paid. Biggest dump I ever saw. Unhealthy and health department need to shut down. Went to new Holiday Inn. Excellent.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floridagirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Dear Guest:

I am surprised that you posted a review without staying at the hotel for even one night. Your perception may have been skewed because of your limited exposure to the property. This was exacerbated by the frustration you had in trying to opt out of the cancellation policy enforced by the online booking website, which is the industry standard. Unfortunately you vented your frustration on the Oceanside Marina Suites.

I would like to address some of the statements about our property. Our website does point out that we do not have air conditioning in the guest rooms, stating “with the fresh, ocean breezes, it’s not necessary.” We do not have elevators though our staff is always happy to assist with luggage up the one flight of stairs. We did show you other rooms but none suited you as you wanted a free upgrade to a Premiere room which we were unable to accommodate.

I applaud our Front Desk Agent who was very patient and helpful throughout, which was duly noted by other guests who were waiting to check in. We have a very professional and friendly staff who are always being thanked for going the extra mile for our guests. We are very proud of our property and the wonderful staff that strive to make our guests enjoy their stay.

Sincerely

Adam Della Rocca
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oceanside hotels

Ohio, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here from March 17th until March 26th. We found every person we encountered at the front desk to be very friendly and helpful. The price was also very decent for staying that long. We loved our room. Big bed, full kitchen, and a nice fire place. House keeping did a nice job keeping our room clean too. We didn't have any issues with parking. The best part would have to be the view. We had a room that faced the harbor. Which was beautiful any time of the day. Also, if you take a walk out back there is a huge pool, hot tub, and awesome grill. Great view of the ocean. We sat outside for hours and watched the pelicans swoop down for their dinner. We also saw a couple sea otters and dolphins. Which was amazing! There are quite a few nice restaurants close by. We ate at Jolly Rogers and Joe's Crab Shack a couple times. It's not too far of a walk either if you plan on having a few drinks. All in all, I'd definitely recommend the Oceanside Marina to any of my friends and we plan on staying there again in mid May.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest:

It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at the Oceanside Marina Suites. I am happy that you were able to experience many of the positive changes that we have instituted. The amazing views, wildlife encounters and great local restaurants are just some more perks of staying at our hotel! We look forward to having you back here in May.

Sincerely,

Adam M. Della Rocca

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in March during the Ironman where the “Oceanside Marina Suites” was the host hotel.
1. The outside parking was limited, there is available covered parking for compact vehicles however the available spots are extremely close together even with a compact car.
2. Check in was easy, efficient, and friendly, they have fresh baked chocolate chip cookies every night at the front desk.
3. The hotel appeared to have been a condo originally and converted to a hotel later, with that being said elevators seem to have been an afterthought and though they did have one I didn’t know where it was (not in the lobby) nor did we use it.
4. The Room was dated but large, relatively clean & picked up but the carpet did appear to need cleaning, there were some cob webs in the corners of the ceiling and the walls showed signs of numerous repairs over the past several years.
5. In the bathroom the hair dryer did not work well, it had toilet paper crammed into two small holes in the bathroom wall that appeared to have possibly been where the toilet paper roll dispenser used to be and one of the faucet knob’s on the sink in the bathroom was loose and difficult to turn, and the vanity items were not replenished when the room was serviced.
6. The room had a small balcony with a table and chairs and a great view overlooking the harbor, although the sliding glass door to the balcony was older and slightly difficult to open.
7. The room had a fireplace (not sue if it worked because we never tried using it), and 2 TV’s, one flat screen in the living area & an older large tube TV in the separate bedroom.
8. The Kitchenette seemed fully stocked (though we did not use any of the pots/pans/dishes), there is a full size refrigerator but it didn’t seem to get very cold although it was on the coldest setting, we did use the toaster for bagels & it worked fine.
9. The hotel did have a gas BBQ adjacent to the pool (in the pool area), I wish we knew about it sooner & we would have utilized it, while in the spa we saw others cooking up some awesome looking steaks, there is also a separate indoor area with multiple tables & chairs to eat if you didn’t want to eat in lounge chairs at the pool (same area where continental breakfast is served).
10. The continental breakfast was ok but it was a little odd that the “mini muffins” were cut in half, and the Danishes were cut into 1 inch squares, they ran out of coffee by the time we got down to eat at 9am and had to wait awhile more was made.
11. Due to the busy weekend the pool towels ran out and were not replenished.
12. The hotel did have a “business center” which consisted of a converted locked closet that you have to ask for access to, upon attempting to utilize the provided computer it is very slow and their fire wall/antivirus program is a “parental control” program that prevents you from printing anything off the internet like airline boarding passes or online tickets to local amusement parks, when the staff is contacted about this problem they are friendly but unable to help as they do not have the access code to disable the parental controls. We ultimately went to the Holiday inn (where we are members of their rewards program) to print the tickets that we could not at the Marina Suites.
13. Ultimately my family and I had a had a great weekend, we always felt safe, the grounds were well maintained, the staff was always very friendly and attempted to help within their capacity and the location is great with tons of potential if modernized.

Room Tip: Mention that you want "Ocean View"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sboxrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
radelowgittins, General Manager at Oceanside Marina Suites, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us at the Oceanside Marina Suites. We value your feedback and are grateful for the honest assessment of your stay. It gives us an opportunity to continue to work towards what we hope to provide to all of our guests: an enjoyable stay in an amazing location with a great value.
Parking: Parking is Free but we do have limited on-site parking. We have enough for one car per room, with some of it being spaces for compact cars, making the best use of our limited parking space. We are located on a peninsula, surrounded on three sides by water, which makes parking expansion impossible. We offer overflow parking at a nearby restaurant, a short walk away. On busy weekends and during events, we even employee a parking attendant to help maintain the parking lot for the exclusive use of guests.
I am glad you were able to enjoy the delicious Otis Spunkmeyer cookies that are baked fresh daily as this gives guests an opportunity to interact with our friendly and professional Front Desk Agents.
We have an abundance of ground-floor rooms as well as three ADA-compliant rooms. We do not have an elevator, though we are always more than happy to lend a hand assisting with luggage up stairs.
We have recently gone through a management change, I myself being the new General Manager as well as hiring an experienced Head Housekeeper. The new team in place is giving the rooms some TLC and in the past couple of weeks they have already accomplished so much. I brought these additional maintenance issues to the attention of the Maintenance Department and they are busy rectifying them right away.
We started the continental breakfast the day before you arrived and you may have witnessed some “teething problems.” Now it has already grown out of its infancy and is a daily feature. We have re-evaluated portion sizing and made corrections and we are meeting with suppliers to maintain a diverse, fresh selection for our guests’ enjoyment.
Lastly, our guest-use computer is being modified so other guests will be able to print items such as boarding passes. We are always trying to find new ways to offer more complimentary conveniences for our guests, but with the confines of the property there was only one space available for the location of the Business Center. With that being said, we also offer free wireless internet which operates throughout the hotel.
Thanks again for your kind feedback and we look forward to being your host for next year’s Ironman!
Sincerely,
Adam M. Della Rocca, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Booked this hotel as part of the local Ironman 70.3 triathlon. The hotel is located on a beautiful piece of land but that's where the good part ends. The hotel is in disrepair. Old carpet, old appliances, bathroom fixtures and furniture. The bathroom was very dirty with cracked tiles and soiled shower curtain. We went out to a local store for shower shoes before my wife would shower there. Don't let the location fool you... book elsewhere!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamMPICoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
0.6 mi away
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
1.5 mi away
Southern California Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
1.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceanside Marina Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceanside Marina Suites

Property: Oceanside Marina Suites
Address: 2008 Harbor Dr N, Oceanside, CA 92054-1034
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oceanside Marina Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oceanside Marina Suites is located on a private peninsula in the Oceanside Harbor. Surrounded by water on three sides our resort offers a host of amenities in a serene natural environment. Relax by the pool or your own private patio; stroll along the adjacent marina or shop and eat at the Marina Village. Our Boutique styled hotel is newly remodeled.We have large one & two bedroom suites with fireplaces and fully equipped kitchens, as well as regular standard rooms. Some suites offer an in-room spa for your private enjoyment. Our heated pool, spa ,sauna and Cabana Room are conveniently located on our spacious grounds. Relax in the gazebo and watch the boats navigate in and out of the harbor. Or, if you prefer, grill a steak at our pool side barbecue. Each morning savor our complimentary continental breakfast served by the pool.Located just 10 minutes from Legoland, you'll be away from the crowded San Diego Harbor and beaches. So, for an unbelievable waterfront vacation, come to the Oceanside Marina Suites. You'll be amazed at what a night or two will do for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Oceanside Marina Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing