We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst motels I have ever stayed in”
Review of Motel 6 Oceanside

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Oceanside
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I had to move my daughter from Utah to California because she had married a Marine stationed at Camp Pendleton. We had to meet him at this Motel 6 because their apartment wouldn't be ready until the next day.

We didn't arrive until almost midnight. From the outside it looks like your typical Motel 6, but once inside it was horrible. It was dirty, the beds were terrible, the sheets were dirty, and the blankets had holes in them. Because it is right next to the freeway, the road noise was very loud. I literally didn't sleep a wink all night! There were also a lot of questionable people hanging around in the parking lot. The person at the front desk was not helpful and very rude.

I stay in a lot of motels and hotels and usually I am very forgiving and tolerant. However, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunDancer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 67 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2012

The Motel 6 is located directly by the exit of Highway 76, so it is really easy to get to. The downside: It is very noisy, especially in the rooms facing the highway. My room was on the 3rd floor...kinda quiet..but it was very, very basic. Very little furniture, just the tv, plain walls, not a single decorative item...not even a picture. There was no coffee-maker, no hairdryer, not even soap in the bathroom. The room was just big enough for a solo traveller. If a couple were to stay there, it would get crowded. The room was very clean, though. The carpet had actually been steam-cleaned the day I checked in. Wireless internet was available at a charge of 2,99$ per day. Staff was very friendly. Various fast food restaurants are just across the street. So for a one-night stay this place is just fine.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hallomainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Not just "often" but over many years. This property has its ups and downs but I believe is now on an "up." The staff were uniformly friendly, and the property seemed safer than it had in the past. The location is terrific, just off Hwy 78 and easily seen from the road, though this means extra room noise. The price is fine for the area, and there is coffee (nothing else) in the lobby from 7 AM. Easy walking distance to fast food, and no more than five minutes' drive to lots and lots of shops. Typical Motel 6.

Here are some things I didn't like too much: most places now have free WiFi, but Motel 6 still charges $2.99 a day. The bandwidth is limited and when things get too congested, the signal drops, after which you lose your website and are redirected to Motel 6 home page. What's up with that? Cheaper motels than this offer free WiFi, also considering that this "no frills" chain doesn't have things like shampoo available. Water in the bathroom tap came out in a needle spray so restricted that it is actually hard to wash hands. The shower however was "OK."

I will keep staying there as long as they stay open and don't start raising prices too much. It's really a decent value.

Room Tip: To minimize noise, try for the corridor linking the one side facing the surface road and the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed in Oceanside for 2 days at the Motel 6, and we had a terrible stay. This hotel was inhabited by shady, noisy residents who had decided to live there. I actually got scammed into giving someone money at a gas station, just to find them staying down the street at our hotel! The walls were thin and we were kept up all night by the noise. The shower was awkward, the toilet seat was peeling, and the doors would not close without slamming them. The hotel is at a convenient location, it does have laundry facilities which came in handy on our trip, and it is pet-friendly. My girlfriend used to live in the area, and she recommends the Motel 6 in downtown Carlsbad if you want a good deal.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2011

It is pretty much a standard Motel 6, no frills but really close to the beach. The price was right, it met our needs which was a place to sleep and do laundry. The rooms are clean including the bathroom. Check in was easy in and out. There are a lot of military/ military family there, so it feels pretty safe. Pretty quiet, we were on the third floor but when you closed the window it did block all outside noise. Close to the freeway if all you require is a safe quiet clean place to sleep this fits the bill. I don't think I would plan a vacation stay here, but it is good for a weary driver.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Momwith2teens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

I stayed with my family for a quick beach trip. The room was very clean and when we needed extra towels the hotel was very accommodating. The pool was very clean. The location is terrific if you are unfamiliar with the area. Easy on and off the freeway with lots of local dining so you don't have to travel far. Best plus was the room was extremely affordable for a family.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kam012069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2011

pros:
friendly staff
walking distance to many restaurants and stores exmpl. Wendy's,Starbucks,7 Eleven,ect.
plenty of places for dog to go do his bathroom duties
I could hook up my DVD player and Xbox 360 for some other entertainment besides flipping channels for something to see on TV besides reruns and idiotic reality shows.

cons:
having the both of us show IDs? what is up with that? and then photo copying it?
security around the place,its a good thing but,then police circling the place like sharks as well.
$60 was not a bad price,but also having to pay for internet too and it was not that great.
little league team kids running up and down breeze way making too much noise.

would I stay here again? only on the weekdays when its cheaper,this place definately is NOT worth 99 dollars a night,not by a long shot.
did I feel safe staying here? yes
would I be leaving anything of valuable laying around in sight? NO!!! (common sense)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arwen_Windwalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
5.6 mi away
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
4.5 mi away
Ramada Oceanside
Ramada Oceanside
#11 of 27 in Oceanside
499 reviews
5.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#19 of 27 in Oceanside
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Best Western Oceanside Inn
Best Western Oceanside Inn
#8 of 27 in Oceanside
576 reviews
1.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Oceanside
5.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Oceanside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Oceanside

Address: 3708 Plaza Dr, Oceanside, CA 92056-4621
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Price Range: $61 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Oceanside 2*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property has 136 rooms is three stories and has one elevator. We have a pool and guest laundry facility on property. Our property is WI-Fi capable for a fee. We do have a strict 21 and over check in age policy and all adults 18 and over must provide ID. Staff is friendly, rooms are clean and we provide off-duty/retired police officers as night security. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Motel-6, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Oceanside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Oceanside Hotel Oceanside
Motel Six Oceanside
Oceanside Motel Six
Oceanside Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing