We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Super 8 Oceanside Marty's Valley Inn
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“terrible hotel”
Reviewed July 18, 2008

When we checked into our first floor room we opened the door to blood stains on the carpet outside the bathroom door, dirty walls, stains on the curtains and a smell that sent my allergies off the charts. We asked to move to a new room and had to wait for the manager to inspect our issues. When we finally were given a new room it was on the second floor with no elevator access, so we had to lug six bags up the stairs. The second room was better, but still dirty appearing. When we went to the pool and spa area we found a spa that was yellow green and very coudy, a veritable bacteria bath. All this and the gangsta car parked in the in the parking lot playing rap music with such foul language it sent my children and I running upstairs. Ugh! We may as well have been staying in South Central LA. Never stay here.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything, including the filth.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aseasease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    72
    100
    103
    150
See reviews for
234
81
58
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manitowoc
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2008

Very happy from the time of reservation on! The staff is extremely friendly and ready to help, the rooms are newly remodeled, VERY big, and comfortable. Decent location, and easy to get to the beach and downtown by car or by bus.

Only a few complaints-- the rooms aren't very soundproof. I could hear the guests above us walking around because the floor 'creaked', and could hear our neighbors coughing quite heavily at hourly hours of the morning, and the beds have not yet been replaced, but that might still be to come during the remodel.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Liked — Big rooms
  • Disliked — Rooms weren't very sound-proof
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mboo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2007

When I first made plans for my nine-day trip, I decided against staying in Oceanside because there were no hotels that seemed reasonably priced and a nice place. But, we liked our place in Palm Springs so much, we decided to stay a second night - that meant I needed a different place to stay for the next night than I had planned. I checked some reviews and saw that this place was higher rated than most, so decided to try it. We called, they gave us a reasonable price, and we made our reservation.

Our room was typical of an older motor hotel. It seemed clean and the bed was reasonably comfortable. The shower worked well. Check-in was fine. The pool looked nice, but was closed early and didn't open until 9 AM. I love it when a pool opens at 6 or 7 AM so I can get a swim in before I want to leave for the day. The breakfast was typical of this type of place - lots of carbs, some canned fruit, and some juice and coffee.

The walls and floors of the rooms, however, are paper thin. Apparently the person above me couldn't sleep, as he or she was pacing intermittently from about midnight until 1:30 AM. The walked with such a heavy gait, that it both awakened me and kept me awake. I kept dozing when they would stop, but each time they started, I was again awakened. Also, the doors to the rooms shut with a HUGE bang, so everytime someone left in the morning, I was again awakened. The wireless did not work in our room at all. I had to go to the lobby to use it and even then, I kept losing the signal.

If I was in a pinch, I might stay here again, but I'd probably try to drive a little further and choose something else instead. I just don't know what that is. . .

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank viewsaskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oceanside hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 30, 2005

Stayed a total of three weeks in Oceanside, this was the first Motel I stayed at on arrival. Stayed here years ago, looks like past owner sold out, and just not the same quality. Nice meeting room if needed, but found better prices in locations much closser to the beach

  • Stayed June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2005

We stayed at the Marty's Valley Inn on our vacation March 29-30 and one night the 2nd of April. In between, I gave a talk at USC and stayed in Pasadena as their guest at the Ritz-Carlton (5 stars and well deserved but pricey).

The first stay at the Marty's Valley Inn was OK and gets two stars. Parking is free. We were on the first floor in the 200 building which is behind the building on the streetfront. The room was larger than average and quiet. Heating was good for the slightly chilly night. Everything was neat and clean, and the front desk staff were quite friendly and eager to please. However, it was no more than 2 stars because the carpets were quite worn, the sheets were worn, the towels were small and threadbare, the beds were old although not quite bouncy. The bathroom was oddly finished with only one hook for clothes inside the door at the very top of the door. It was essentially impossible to use. The shower was mounted at about 5.5 feet so the head was below eye level. The pool is about 12 yards long, kidney shaped and unattended but reasonably heated. There were a number of palm fronds in the bottom that were not removed between Mar 29 and Apr 2. The breakfast is mediocre prepackaged pastries, bagels and cream cheese with apple and orange juice and coffee, also average.

Our second stay was in the streetfront building on the second floor and probably doesn't earn any stars. There is no elevator and the room opened on a porch facing the street. Street noises were moderately loud much of the night. The room was not well cleaned. There was an empty plastic bottle under the bed and two other pieces of trash scattered about the room. The bathroom had the same odd mounting of hook and showerhead. The staff was still friendly, but wireless internet that worked flawlessly the first stay refused to work on the second stay, and the staff were unable to help. The furnishings and layout were similar to the first stay otherwise.

On all three nights, despite our reservation for two adults and two children, there were only enough towels for three and we had to ask for more, but that has happened to us at 5 star hotels like the aforementioned Ritz. The staff were cheerful and immediate in their response to requests for more towels.

The motivation to stay here is only financial, and we are unlikely to come back given the number of competing hotels in the area. AAA gave it three stars but that is much too high a rating in our opinion.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank tgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
1.6 mi away
Ramada Oceanside
Ramada Oceanside
#11 of 27 in Oceanside
435 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#19 of 27 in Oceanside
91 reviews
2.4 mi away
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Best Western Oceanside Inn
Best Western Oceanside Inn
#6 of 27 in Oceanside
533 reviews
2.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - San Diego - Oceanside
2.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Oceanside Marty's Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Oceanside Marty's Valley Inn

Property: Super 8 Oceanside Marty's Valley Inn
Address: 3240 Mission Ave, Oceanside, CA 92058-1314
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Oceanside Marty's Valley Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Super 8 Marty's Valley Inn, warm rays of sunshine and soft coast breezes greet you each day. We are perfectly located between San Diego and Los Angeles to offer you the best of Southern California. Delight in the shimmering magic of the Pacific Ocean. Indulge in deep sea fishing, golfing, surfing, whale watching, shopping, or just relaxing in serene, sun-filled paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Oceanside Marty's Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Marty`s Valley Oceanside Hotel Oceanside
Best Western Oceanside
Oceanside Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing