We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oceanside”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Oceanside Inn
Ranked #7 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    182
    90
    39
    38
See reviews for
260
119
49
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I have reviewed the Oceanside Inn Best Western before...but there have been some changes and it warrants another look.
They are in the process of a make-over, but already the breakfast menu has changed to a hot breakfast...scrambled eggs, sausage patties, as well as waffles, toast, English muffins, juice, fruit, yogurt... They are right off the I5, about a mile from the ocean,anything you might want is not far away. Another added feature at both the swimming pool and the spa, is a lift chair for the disabled, to assist them into the water.
Friendly employees...manager Sarath always has a smile and is eager to help.
During the summer, I try to go there about once a month.

Room Tip: King beds are upstairs, doubles are downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zooladyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOceansideInn, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear zooladyxxx,

It was a real pleasure seeing you again after so many months! I hope life is treating you well! The Team and I always enjoy having you stay with us and our doors are always wide open for you.

I also have great news for you: we recently switched the beds in some of our rooms so we now have King rooms on the bottom floor. Hooray!

Thank you for choosing to review our hotel a second time and taking the time to note some of the new changes we have implemented around the property. Take care and I look forward to saying hello to you the next time you return to Oceanside.

Sincerely,

Jeevani
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a "retreat" group of 40+ men stay recently. Conference room and dining facilities were good for our needs and easily accessible. Staff were friendly and helpful with room assignments and special requests. Overall a pleasant stay in a good location; adjacent to I5 and close to beach. The market mentioned in other reviews is a Fresh & Easy. I would stay again...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s_anaheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maugansville, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I selected this city as a central location while exploring the CA coast.
We chose this hotel because of the Excellent initial service from Jeevani during booking process. She has a wonderful personality and we enjoyed her at the front desk.
The breakfast was my favorite standard waffle, eggs, fruit, cereal, etc. provided by most BWs. The temps were cool that time of year so it was a chilly walk from our building to the building used for breakfast. Unexpectedly, the hostess kept a daily record of the room numbers of guests entering. The food was laid out in an extremely clean array; the atmosphere unwelcoming. The dining area was in a different room which was kept at a cool temperature. I had to wear several layers of sweaters/jackets making it uncomfortably bulky to eat. One day I was too cold to stay in the dining area so I took a yogurt cup & piece of fruit back to my room. The next day, as I spoke with the General Mgr about having our bathroom toilet seat tighten, he proceeded to scold me for taking breakfast food back to my room. In what I perceived as a threatening attitude he told me 'it is written in their policies.' I was quite offended by his tone. Ironically, they have the same fruit on the front desk as a complimentary treat, and I had my own cereal which I bought from the Great Grocery Store across the street (it had good selections, very reasonable prices - ck out those tomatoes, and personable employees eager to help give you extra discount bonuses). The grocery store, fridge & microwave in room made it very easy to save on meals. The housekeeping & maintenance staff were excellent. We didn't need daily service, but when we requested extra supplies or change of towels, they responded to our needs immediately. Overall, it was a comfortable place to stay, it met our needs, and we would stay there again. Just be prepared for the breakfast food police.

Room Tip: No elevator. Ground floor rooms have sliding doors opening to parking area for easy loading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Calli L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOceansideInn, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hello Calli,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am very flattered by your compliments and I am pleased to know that I was able to assist you with booking your reservation!

We recently upgraded our complimentary breakfast to include hot items such as scrambled eggs and sausages, so I am happy to hear that you were able to join us for breakfast every morning during your stay. I am sorry that you found the breakfast lounge so chilly. Due to our close proximity to the ocean (only 1 mile away), there is a thick marine layer that covers the city every morning. But I'll make sure our Breakfast Room Attendant keeps a closer eye on on the thermostat and advise her to adjust it accordingly.

Finally, I would now like to take a moment to apologize if my colleague came off as rude when he informed you that you cannot bring breakfast up to your room. But I do hope you can understand our reasons behind having such a policy.

Unfortunately, due to our location right off the 1-5 freeway, many strangers have the audacity to exit off the freeway, park at our hotel, and walk right into the breakfast lounge to help themselves to the breakfast which is intended for you, our valuable guests. They then collect plates of food to take back to their car (I once caught an individual trying to put food in an ice chest so he could bring it to the beach!) which simultaneously leaves no food left for our guests. It is not only unfair that these individuals are getting free food at the expense of our guests, but it is also a security issue as these transients compromise the safety of our guests and staff. This is why we kindly ask guests to verify their room number before they can enter the breakfast lounge and why you cannot bring food outside of the breakfast area.

Ms. Calli, I sincerely thank you for your honest feedback and once again, I apologize that our breakfast policies put an unexpected damper on your stay with us. But I hope you will consider staying with us again once we have completed our renovations at the end of this summer. By then, we will have a newly renovated breakfast lounge and -hopefully - a better way of managing our breakfast room.

Sincerely,

Jeevani
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington, Usa
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

plumbing was very sluggish - in both rooms - so sluggish it was worrisome. sinks slow to drain, as well as toilet. Were they on septic?
under construction but that was not an issue
Staff very nice but sometimes not knowledgeable. one did not know what a blow dryer was when asked by new guest if rooms had one....Weekend staff seemed to have better grip on things, oddly enough.
Asked for room numbers when going to breakfast - kind of odd and never asked of this before at BW hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOceansideInn, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Sherry,

Thank you for your review and for your honest feedback regarding your stay. I apologize that the sink and toilet in your room drained so slowly. A quick phone call to the Front Desk and we could have easily sent our Engineer to your room to resolve the problem.

I also apologize for the miscommunication among our Front Desk staff. But to confirm, all of our guest rooms come to with the following amenities: hair dryer, microwave, mini-fridge, brand new flat screen TV's, coffee maker, and ironing board with iron.

I understand your confusion when our Breakfast Room Attendant asked you to verify your room number when you entered our breakfast room to enjoy our hot, complimentary breakfast. Unfortunately, our hotel is one of many that must deal with individuals who are not registered guests, walking in from the streets, and sneaking into our breakfast lounge to enjoy the free breakfast which is intended solely for our guests. Thus, in an attempt to solve this problem, we have implemented the policy of asking guests for their room number they come into the breakfast lounge.

I apologize again that your recent stay with us was not up to your satisfaction but I hope you will consider staying with us again so that we may have another opportunity to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Jeevani
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed recently for two nights and found the Best Western comfortable, clean, and convenient. It's not on the beach, but frankly we found on previous visits that the beach-front properties are quite expensive, and not that great unless you're willing to pay $250+/nite for a room - which we are not.

The property is located a short walk to a 7/11-type gas station convenience store, and also a short walk to a nice little grocery store. Our room was equipped with a microwave and a fridge, which made it easy to stock up on snacks and lunches from the grocery store for our stay - thus saving a little money by not having to hit a restaurant for every meal.

We had a ground floor room, which made it super convenient to open the slider and bring our bags in that way - rather than through the interior hallways. The price is reasonable, the staff friendly, the beds are comfortable, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DickandJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOceansideInn, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Dick&Jane,
Thank you for completing a review about our hotel and for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Oceanside. I am so glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay and that our ideal location and in-room amenities made your stay that much more enjoyable. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Oceanside.

Sincerely,

Jeevani
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed here on business and had some high school students with us. Right from the start, I was impressed with the staff. The person who greeted us at the front desk was very helpful and friendly. After being in our rooms for a few minutes, they called each of our rooms to see if everything was ok and if we had any questions or problems. I thought that was a great touch to show that they cared. The rooms were very clean and of good size. It was nice that they had a microwave a refrigerator for our leftovers from our dinner! My biggest complaint is that the beds were not very comfortable, but that could just be because I like a softer bed. It is about a mile from the beach. The pool is not heated so it wasn't really usable for more than a minute or two, but the hot tub is very large and at a good, comfortable temperature for relaxing.

The breakfast was good with the usual waffles and eggs, but everything was stocked well. I also witnessed a customer get upset for no reason and be very rude and I was impressed with how well the employee and then the manager (owner?) handled it. Very professional. I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingswin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWOceansideInn, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear Kingswin,

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review detailing your experience at our hotel. I am happy to hear that we were able to make a positive first impression with our courtesy call to your room. Our Front Desk Agents make an effort to call each guest in their room at least 15 minutes after they have checked-in to make sure that our guests have settled into their room comfortably and to inquire if there is anything else we can do to make their stay more enjoyable.

"Exceeding expectations" is our customer service goal and my team and I try our best to assist all of our guests to the best of our ability. But as you witnessed in the breakfast room - as you noted in your review - it is sometimes impossible to keep everyone happy. But I was pleased to read that the professionalism and calm demeanor of our Breakfast Room Attendant and General Manager impressed you while they were handling a difficult situation.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to having you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Jeevani
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
1.8 mi away
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Ramada Oceanside
Ramada Oceanside
#11 of 27 in Oceanside
449 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
3.3 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Oceanside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Oceanside Inn

Property: Best Western Oceanside Inn
Address: 1680 Oceanside Blvd, Oceanside, CA 92054-5427 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#7 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Oceanside Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn! The golden beach is minutes away from our Oceanside hotel, designed to be family-friendly and a home base for the vacation of a lifetime. Are you planning a trip to LEGOLAND(R)? When guests stay at our Oceanside hotel, the best of the state is in their backyard. With close proximity to the San Diego Zoo(R), San Diego Zoo(R) Safari Park, and SeaWorld(R), adventure awaits. All guest rooms are fully equipped with microwaves and refrigerators, and guests will have access to a laundry room, outdoor pool, hot tub, and a hot breakfast, making our hotel convenient and ideal for families traveling with kids. We're just a leisurely stroll from the beach, downtown Oceanside and the Oceanside Pier. And we are only minutes away from Camp Pendleton, making it easy for families to visit their loved ones stationed there. The Marine Corps attracts government and military officials, and we're proud to serve those who serve. The base hosts a plethora of tournaments for the local community including their World Famous Mud Run(R), paintball tournaments, and Family Days featuring food, entertainment, and games. The beach and pier attracts swimmers and surfers alike, and is often utilized for national surf competitions. The Pier Plaza Amphitheatre hosts musical events and festivals throughout the year. Favorite local events such as the Race Across America, the LifeTime Triathlon, and the IRONMAN 70.3(R) are held annually in Oceanside. Oceanside's weather has been rated by USA Today as the second most ideal climate in the USA, and the fifth most ideal weather in the world. The endless California sunshine and cool ocean breeze entices many travelers to visit the laid-back, surf town that is Oceanside. Let the BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn be the gateway to an unforgettable vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Best Western, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Oceanside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Oceanside Hotel Oceanside
Oceanside Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing