We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Very friendly. The room was very clean they are remodeling the rooms very nice. The bed was very comfortable. Very friendly staff. very close to the beach. Mind u that it is right next to the freeway, so u will hear the traffic but was not bad. Would be a great place in the summer, the grounds are very tropical and great high top little patio for people to enjoy. Denny's is walking distance. I would very much recommend staying here. As usual u will get negative comments because of nit picking. And the price is cheap. All in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are not very large. We had a king and was plenty of space for 2. No bathtub but a very n...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank j d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

How exciting to hear your stay in Oceanside was an enjoyable one! Thank you for choosing to stay with us during this experience. It is great to know you were able enjoy the amenities and service we have to offer while also staying near to the Harbor and Beach of Oceanside has for you.
We hope to see you again on your next trip here!

Sincerely,
Krystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (344)
There are newer reviews for Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 344 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

I thought the owner/manager was too short fused and jumpy at anything out of the ordinary...be very difficult to work for...prices too expensive for the location...heat was not very good of course it was in December

Room Tip: You diffinately want a room as far off the road as possible...our room was very noisey up front
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

I would like to Thank you for taking the time to share a few details from your recent stay at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside. I would like to use this opportunity to apologize for the service that you received during your stay. This is not acceptable behavior from Harbor Inn & Suites. I will investigate into this matter, to make sure this does not happen again. If you will like to contact me, please feel free call me. Hopefully you can give us an opportunity to provide you the service that Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside is known for.

Sincerely,
Krystal
760-722-1244

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel ever since its been remodeled and changed from Travel Lodge to Harbor inn & Suites.. Everytime i am in town this is the first place i search for , there rates are always VERY reasonable and really comfortable due to the rooms they have. They are pet friendly which is REALY amazing and helpful for those of you who travel with a little friend for company.. Every one in the office is really nice and you can tell they would rather help you then take your money , check you in , and see you next time. They all make sure your satisfied with all your neccessities. I ran into an personal emergency one day upon check in, and i had to leave in a FLASH. i was SO pleased and greatful for this nice man in the front to have sypathy and refund my stay & hold the room in case i needed to come back. HANDS DOWN , if you havent stayed here you should look into it. If you want not only a nice NON smoking ocean view room with a patio & cool safe people , but a stressfree trip i HIGHLY reccomend this hotel :)

Room Tip: I would reccomend a NON smoking on the side where you can see the ocean. Theres a patio that is quie...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monique m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you so much for your compliments regarding the Harbor Inn and Suites. It means so much when our guests compliment our customer service. I am so pleased that your experience with all of our staff was pleasurable.

Sincerely,
Krystal
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

My partner and I showed up to check-in and were greeted by a friendly, courteous staff who upgraded us to a King Room for free! Overall, the room was clean with no issues. Everything was like new inside! This is the first time I have stayed anywhere without a single complaint! Close the beach, restaurants, shopping etc. At a very low cost!

Room Tip: A room upstairs if you want a more silent experience. That's anywhere.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, General Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

We are very happy you enjoyed your visit - thank you! The beach, harbor, shops, restaurants and specially the hotel are all waiting for you to return - hurry back soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed here on a Friday night, and we booked the room very last minute. We looked up various hotels in the North County coastal area and they all seemed to be booked solid and extremely expensive. Fortunately, we drove past this hotel, and my girlfriend looked up reviews. It seemed to have decent ratings, so I called and asked the rates. It was the cheapest prices in North County for a Friday night. We decided to stay, because it is family owned. Indeed, the room felt like a small master bedroom, not a hotel room. The room was a bit cramped, mostly the area between the bed and the TV stand, but other than that the room was perfect for my girlfriend and I. The room has a walk inn closet, a mini fridge and microwave, and an amazing granite tile bathroom. What impressed my girlfriend the most was that the hotel did not smell, everything appeared to be clean and fairly new.

Room Tip: Ask the owner to place you in a remodeled room, apparently they are in the midst of modeling.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tezcatlipoca1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

How exciting to hear your stay in Oceanside was an enjoyable one! Thank you for choosing to stay with us during this experience. It is great to know you were able enjoy the amenities and service we have to offer while also staying near to the Habor and Beach of Oceanside has for you.
We hope to see you again on your next trip here!

Sincerely,
Krystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I chose to stay here because of all the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. I had booked us to stay two nights but had to request our second night reservation be cancelled after tolerating only the first night. I found little in common with the positive reviews posted here.

The Good:
I could see that the owners are working hard to bring the standard of the hotel up. It's obvious from their responses on these reviews as well as their efforts to better the property.
• I had requested a room as away from the road on the first floor and they did accomodate my request.
• Contrary to what I read in other reviews, we had plenty of hot water and no problem with water pressure.
• The beds are very comfortable.
• The guy at the desk was apologetic from the issues we had and gave me no trouble in returning our funds for the second night.

The Bad:
• Noise. Lots and lots of noise. The property is located along the freeway but it’s almost like the sound is funneled into the parking lot. It was so loud I had to find a store to buy ear plugs!
• The room is cramped, not even enough room to move between the bed and the window A/C.
• The A/C worked somewhat however it isn’t strong and its mounted inches below the bed directly in front of it. This means the air never moves past that area and the back 2/3 of the room stays too hot. The owners should look into reflector or something to move the air.
• The desk chair was broken, missing a side support.
• Towels were stained and various shades of white/not-quite-white.
• Large sections of missing plaster/wall along the bathroom door.
• Areas of the room weren’t clean, looks like baseboards, windows and bathroom areas haven’t had complete cleaning in some time.
• Two fake plants, one large one taking up valuable floor space and the other quite dusty and sitting on top of furniture. Owners would be doing everyone a favor and get rid of the floor monster.
• Walls are thin, can hear way too much.
• Parking lot is tiny and not many parking spaces (see additional info below).
• We woke up with mystery bug bites.


The Ugly:
• Condoms found in the room. Seriously, how does housekeeping miss that?? It was even more fun to have to explain them to my young daughter.
• A more suitable name would be “Camp Pendleton Brothel”. Party in the room next door was often uncontrollable. First call to the office helped and they turned it down for awhile but it started back up. Put ear plugs in but music was literally vibrating the wall between our rooms. Lots of people talking, laughing and drinking in that small room. Group of people stood outside our window talking, drinking and smoking for a couple hours, smell of smoke was then making its way into our room. Eventually had to give in and call office again, second call did the trick.
• After the second call several vehicles left the parking lot. That’s why we couldn’t park in the hotel parking lot, because party goers were taking up the spots.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MrsNacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, General Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I’m delighted the Staff was excellent. I am sorry your room accommodation was not as you expected it. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction.

We are currently under a renovation process, So It is our hope that you allow us to provide the quality service and our newly renovated rooms that we strive for during your next stay in Oceanside. Please feel free to contact me with any questions and/or comments you may have.

Sincerely,
Krystal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Stayed 3 nights and very pleased. Was a bit of a tight fit between the bed and tv and water temp fluctuated some while showering, but not too bad. Room was clean, and bed was comfy, what more do you need while vacationing here? Even had wifi included. Didn't try the breakfast, but the usual assortment available for continental breakfast. We were near the front by the road, and noise wasn't bad at all. I've typed in a lot worse that had a lot higher ratings. Very very good value, and friendly staff. Defiantly no complaints about staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Travis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you so much for the wonderful endorsement of the Harbor Inn and Suites. Your compliments mean so much to us. Every member of our staff tries to make each guest feel like they are at home when they walk through the doors of our hotel. Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff and service.

Sincerely,

Krystal
Sales and Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
1.1 mi away
Ramada Oceanside
Ramada Oceanside
#11 of 27 in Oceanside
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rodeway Inn
Rodeway Inn
#19 of 27 in Oceanside
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
1.8 mi away
Best Western Oceanside Inn
Best Western Oceanside Inn
#7 of 27 in Oceanside
557 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego

Address: 1401 N Coast Hwy, Oceanside, CA 92054-1009 (Formerly Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Oceanside
#5 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range: $51 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbor Inn & Suites is conveniently located Near Legoland, Camp Pendleton's Main and Del Mar gates, Numerous San Diego attractions e.g. San Diego Zoo, Seaworld, Wild Animal Park, Balboa Park, Coronado Bridge and Coronado Island,Birch Aquarium at Scripps, Historic Ships and Maritime Museum San Diego, Seaport Village, Historic Old Town and The Gas Lamp District.We are within walking distance to a 3.5-mile stretch of white sandy beaches e.g. Del Mar Beach, San Onofre Beach and the beautiful Oceanside Harbor Beach. Only minutes away from the longest pier in San Diego County. Centrally located with nearby Quail Botanical gardens, Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm,Universal Studios, Catalina Island from nearby Newport beach. Close to numerous outlets e.g. Carlsbad Company Stores, Lake Elsinore Outlets etc. Oceanside's beaches offer Worldclass Surfing, Sports Fishing, Deep Sea Fishing, Whale Watching, Sea Life Adventure Tours and Romantic Dinner and Harbor Cruises.Harbor Inn and Suites Oceanside is centrally located for numerous sporting activities e.g. Hot Air Balloon rides, Skydive Elsinore, Water sports on Mission Bay, Scuba Dive, Snorkel and Kayak near the La Jolla Caves whilst watching the Sea Lions come to rest on the shores, 'T' off at one of the numerous championship golf courses near Carlsbad, the 'Golf Capital of the World', Bicycle on nearby Bicycle routes and experience the Skating Park of Oceanside. Minutes from the Historic Mission San Luis Rey and numerous Antique Stores. Visit Southern California's best Wine Country at Temecula Valley for the World Class Wine Tasting. Experience the Vegas Style Indian Casinos a short drive from Oceanside e.g. Pala Casino Resort & Spa, Barona Valley Ranch Resort and Casino, Casino Pauma, Cahuilla Casino, Harrha's Rincon Casino and Resort, Viejas Casino, Pechanga Resort & Casino, Ocean's Eleven Casino and much more. One hour drive away is Tijuana, Baja California where you can experience the diversity of culture and traditions of our neighboring Mexico.At Harbor Inn and Suites Oceanside we offer FREE high speed wireless internet FREE incoming faxes and all our rooms have micro-fridges, iron and ironing boards, hair dryers, in-room coffee, 25" Satellite TVs with HBO, ESPN. CNN, FoxSN and BET. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego Hotel Oceanside
Harbor Inn And Suites Oceanside / San Diego
Travelodge Oceanside San Diego
Travel Lodge Oceanside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing