We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Its what you pay for”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

I was on a last minue trip - I didn't have a large budget. I chose to go with a Hotel that looked like a good/fair rate. I got what I paid for. A very old hotel. Management was nice enough. The room was o.k. - bed was not comfortable - carpet not clean - furniture very beaten up - the room would have benedited from a little Fabreeze. The FREE breakfast was two choices of cold cereal coffee milk juice fruit and danish. The Hotel was right next to the freeway - I heard traffic all night - again with just a little improvements like newer windows the place would be ohh so much better.

Room Tip: If you really need someplace fast and cheap - got for this one - but an additional 10-15 dollars wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missygirlPhoenix_AZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    83
    57
    26
    35
See reviews for
119
81
36
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2011

So my husband and myself, stayed at the Harbor Inn last Tuesday night. We worked all day. My husband said there is a place I stayed once before that is close to the ocean, with great restaurants. So we headed that way after work. He said oh, I think that is it but I thought it was a Travel lodge. Turns out it use to be, but changed to a Harbor Inn. The man at the desk actually remembered my husband. So we got our room, and let me say "ahw! so clean, very inviting bed; plenty of room to put all my girly stuff in the bathroom. Just really clean and cute. We showered napped, and then walked down the hill to a most beautiful sunset, dinner at my favorite restaurant (which the hotel manager has a coupon for a free appetizer.) Joe's Crab Shack. The restaurant is right on the edge of the water! And the cutest little shops along the dock. Fishing boats and great prices to, go out for a fishing trip. We only got to stay the one night because we had to get back to AZ. But decided we for sure will make this a place for a long weekend get a way!

Oh and also we had breakfast at the Denny's next door. Now I travel a lot. And I have been to many Denny's. I have to say it was the cleanest Denny's I have ever ate at. The service was awesome. And the atmosphere was excellent. And the skillet meal I got was awesome!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deitra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHOENIX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2011

ALL the amenities you would expect (at a much higher cost somewhere else) can be found at this quaint (but very comfortable) hotel by the harbor. My fiancee and I decided to stay an extra night simply because the owner was gracious enough to give us the second night at the same rate! The room was VERY clean and everything worked as expected. There was a blow dryer, iron, coffee maker, microwave, fridge, widescreen TV, desk - and most importantly...a BIG, COMFORTABLE bed for two! We highly recommend Harbor Inn and Suites. We felt very welcomed and left feeling good. :))

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amerifrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2011

very poor breakfast and very smelly lobby. Rooms are clean but not very attractive after all. Very loud, since the freeway is right next to it. Internet is very fast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Thank you for your review regarding our hotel. I am sorry that you felt we were loud, We are next to the highway, so next time to come over, please request us the room away form the highway. Our team continues to strive for improvement and most of all we will always look for ways to exceed our guest’s experience. We value you as a loyal guest and look forward to your next visit when in Oceanside, CA.

If there is something particular that you would have liked to see at either meal please feel free to contact me at harborinnoceanside@gmail.com

I do want to thank you for complimenting our WiFi service.


Sincerely,

Krystal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 24, 2011

Stayed with my husband and daughter for the weekend...it was a cute nice room. The service was great we didn't check in till late and needed a rollaway late at night and it was there in minutes. Friendly service and cozy rooms will be bringing us back to this hotel everytime we are in the area :)

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avillarreal29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. Our team continues to strive for improvement and most of all we will always look for ways to exceed our guest’s experience. We value you as a loyal guest and look forward to your next visit when in Oceanside, CA.

Sincerely,
Krystal
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Rocky Mountains
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

This is an older motel just off I-5. The owners are super friendly and go above and beyond your regular hospitality. This is not a resort with a big swimming pool....but then that is what the OCEAN is for. If you want a comfortable bed and a tastefully/recently redecorated room...this is your kind of place. The cleaning staff is thorough and friendly. Breakfast is just the basics. I would stay there again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonWGrandJunction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us. Our team continues to strive for improvement and most of all we will always look for ways to exceed our guest’s experience. We value you as a loyal guest and look forward to your next visit when in Oceanside, CA.

Sincerely,
Krystal
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2011

When we arrived in town, everywhere else was booked. This place not only gave us a nice room for a lower price, but they are also pet-friendly. Not too many hotels in this area are. The management was very accommodating and went to great lengths to ensure that our stay was a good one. We would strongly recommend this place to anyone. It is very family and pet-oriented.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has a tub if you have a baby or toddler. Others come with shower stalls only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARK P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceansideHarborInn, Manager at Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego, responded to this review, March 3, 2012
I am so happy that you and your family enjoyed your trip to Oceanside and the Harbor Inn and Suites. We are happy that the suites were large enough for you and that you able to enjoy a good night sleep.

The hotel appreciates your comments on our location and accessibility to both public transportation and shopping.

Sincerely,

Krystal
Sales and Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#15 of 27 in Oceanside
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Best Western Oceanside Inn
Best Western Oceanside Inn
#6 of 27 in Oceanside
529 reviews
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
1.1 mi away
Ramada Oceanside
Ramada Oceanside
#12 of 27 in Oceanside
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego

Property: Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
Address: 1401 N Coast Hwy, Oceanside, CA 92054-1009 (Formerly Travelodge)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#5 Business Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbor Inn & Suites is conveniently located Near Legoland, Camp Pendleton's Main and Del Mar gates, Numerous San Diego attractions e.g. San Diego Zoo, Seaworld, Wild Animal Park, Balboa Park, Coronado Bridge and Coronado Island,Birch Aquarium at Scripps, Historic Ships and Maritime Museum San Diego, Seaport Village, Historic Old Town and The Gas Lamp District.We are within walking distance to a 3.5-mile stretch of white sandy beaches e.g. Del Mar Beach, San Onofre Beach and the beautiful Oceanside Harbor Beach. Only minutes away from the longest pier in San Diego County. Centrally located with nearby Quail Botanical gardens, Disneyland, Knott's Berry Farm,Universal Studios, Catalina Island from nearby Newport beach. Close to numerous outlets e.g. Carlsbad Company Stores, Lake Elsinore Outlets etc. Oceanside's beaches offer Worldclass Surfing, Sports Fishing, Deep Sea Fishing, Whale Watching, Sea Life Adventure Tours and Romantic Dinner and Harbor Cruises.Harbor Inn and Suites Oceanside is centrally located for numerous sporting activities e.g. Hot Air Balloon rides, Skydive Elsinore, Water sports on Mission Bay, Scuba Dive, Snorkel and Kayak near the La Jolla Caves whilst watching the Sea Lions come to rest on the shores, 'T' off at one of the numerous championship golf courses near Carlsbad, the 'Golf Capital of the World', Bicycle on nearby Bicycle routes and experience the Skating Park of Oceanside. Minutes from the Historic Mission San Luis Rey and numerous Antique Stores. Visit Southern California's best Wine Country at Temecula Valley for the World Class Wine Tasting. Experience the Vegas Style Indian Casinos a short drive from Oceanside e.g. Pala Casino Resort & Spa, Barona Valley Ranch Resort and Casino, Casino Pauma, Cahuilla Casino, Harrha's Rincon Casino and Resort, Viejas Casino, Pechanga Resort & Casino, Ocean's Eleven Casino and much more. One hour drive away is Tijuana, Baja California where you can experience the diversity of culture and traditions of our neighboring Mexico.At Harbor Inn and Suites Oceanside we offer FREE high speed wireless internet FREE incoming faxes and all our rooms have micro-fridges, iron and ironing boards, hair dryers, in-room coffee, 25" Satellite TVs with HBO, ESPN. CNN, FoxSN and BET. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego Hotel Oceanside
Harbor Inn And Suites Oceanside / San Diego
Travelodge Oceanside San Diego
Travel Lodge Oceanside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing