We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great beach front cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
65 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Oceanside, California

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 65 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
nmanning6...
Goodyear, Arizona
1 review
“Great beach front cottage”
Reviewed March 20, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

The location was wonderful. It was a 20 minute walking distance to the harbour and close to the pier where there is a playground for the young kiddos. We enjoyed the waves, building sand castles and chatting with the friendly neighbors. The cottage had all of the amenities needed for a perfect stay on the beach. Could't have asked for more! Loved it!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan N
Phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cozy, quaint cottage on the beach!”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Roberts Cottage #20 is just as described! It's very small, but the owners have done a great job updating the cottage to make use of every inch. The location is ideal as the ocean is just steps away. Our family of four, consisting of 2 teenage girls, settled in nicely, but it is tight. The spiral staircase is very steep and narrow even for the average sized adult. The loft sleeping area is very comfortable for sleeping, but requires you to crawl around, unable to stand up to dress.

The kitchen is we'll equipped with dishes, pots and pans. The living space has plenty of seating and provides extra sleep space if needed. The bathroom is very tight, but the shower was larger than expected which was nice. Once again I must state that the bathroom was snug for the average sized adult.

I realize when looking for a beach cottage to get away from it all, one doesn't necessarily care if there is tv/cable or not. However during our 4 night stay over New Years, it was rainy and cold and we wanted to watch a couple of college bowl games, but no ESPN available, just local stations and music channels. Wi-fi was great and very much appreciated!

All in all, a very nice cottage and communication with the owner and property manager was great. Definitely recommend cottage #20!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creativeg...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Adorable. Clean. Amazing location.”
Reviewed January 3, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Such a pleasurable experience renting this quiet and well kept beach cottage. We will be back again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vaughanta...
Peoria, Arizona
2 reviews
“UNFORGETTABLE”
Reviewed July 25, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

I was a little concerned when renting the property just from the pictures. We went with another family that rented a separate cottage. Needless to say, they spent a lot of their time at our cottage. Of all the cottages available to rent, this was the 'CATCH OF THE DAY.' It had all the bedding, linens, towels, washer, dryer, dishes, etc. All that was missing was room service. Usually at the end of a week long vacation I am ready to go home, but this was home for me. Wonderful location, access to everything. It was fun to do nothing, go fishing, play on the beach, the Farmer's Markets, or biking our way through town. WE WILL BE BACK THERE NEXT YEAR!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, Location, Location.
Liked least: Having to leave.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltzingm...
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent location at beach and ocean - disappointed with cottage”
Reviewed February 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Cons: Difficult to connect to WiFi. Had to connect to Robert's Cottage 8 to gain access, which was intermittent. Spiral stairs steep and narrow. Didn't use upstairs. Pull out bed was heavy and difficult to change back into sofa so we slept on the two separate hard sofas. Cleanliness of cottage a concern. Ledges, corners, and all surfaces, especially the cupboards and all dishes needed to be washed prior to use. No storage space for clothing on main floor, only one over the door item to hang clothing as the closet was used for a laundry room, which was great but where do I put my things? Upstairs had one small chest of drawers. This cottage is not for a short person as access to towels is high overhead of the toilet, or older people because maneuring the spiral steps would be difficult. Also the half fridge requires one to be constantly bending down or to be on one knee to access items. Heater didn't work. Replacement heater blew a fuse and then plug in bathroom didn't work. I could have called property manager again but I'm not on vacation to trouble shoot problems. I was out enjoying whale watching!
Pros- Large screen TV, great chef stove and large kitchen sink.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Big screen TV
Liked least: No dresser drawers, or cupboard for clothing or items downstairs.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 22, 2016
Sorry for any inconveniences during your stay at Roberts Cottages #20. We like to show lots of pictures online of our cottage inside and out to make sure it’s a fit for our potential quests. We did get your letter you left for Sue (Property Manager/Cleaner) about the dust along the corners of the cottage and we already brought it to her attention. We wash all dishes clean and unused periodically. Since our cottage is really close to the ocean it tends to get a lot of moisture. Thank you letting us know about the electrical problem in the bathroom and the heater. We are aware of it now and will contact our Electrical Contractor. Were so glad you enjoyed whale watching and hope you also got a chance to enjoyed the sunset farmers market, nearby restaurants, ect.

Mrs. Marchand
Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swvoitek
Cave Creek, Arizona
2 reviews
“Everything a beach rental should be and then some!”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

From first contact through check-out, the owners/manager were fair, prompt, efficient,, and caring. The cottage itself was very comfortable and clean. The location was sheer perfection... Waking up to the sound of the surf and falling asleep with the ocean breeze was truly therapeutic! We had our 15 yr. old son with us and he said it was his favorite beach vacation ever. Ditto for us adults:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location was simply perfect!
Liked least: Trying to keep sand out of the house��
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cindy M
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything I hoped for a stay at the beach”
Reviewed August 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous location, wonderful beach, great accomodations. Always wanted to stay in one of the Roberts Cottages and I picked the best. Cottage is well equiped to feel like home. Beach equipment available adds to the fun. Sue was very prompt and helpful checking in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Direct access to beach & outdoor seating space at cottage
Liked least: Tight quarters in sleeping loft - but downstairs sleeping is available
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing