We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere and Unusual Cuisine”
Review of The Fish Joint - CLOSED

The Fish Joint
Cuisines: Sushi
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oceanside, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Atmosphere and Unusual Cuisine”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Foreign and Domestic Choices, from Fish to "Nuts" will delight your taste buds and provide you with a meal to remember. Situated in a quaint little courtyard, offering fresh local foods and unique outdoor seating The Fish Joint will become a choice for return trips.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank McTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    4
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cali
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best sushi ever!”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We were in Oceanside on vacation, and were told by a formal local to go to the fish joint. We were so happy we did. The menu was so unique and I was very pleasantly surprised by the vegetarian/vegan options also. We got the Kronic roll, gorilla ball roll, teriyaki dinner with tofu/vegs/rice. All were excellent! The decor was paintings from local artists. Very hip/asain style mixed with local beach vibe. Reminded me of Maui when I lived there. Do yourself a favor and check it out! Don't go to gross chains like Rubys...this place is unique!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jenl604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not your same old sushi”
Reviewed December 10, 2011

Yes, you can you traditional rolls. If you do that, you will be missing the boat completely. All of their house rolls are are themed after Gilligan's Island each one is unique and delicious. Service is pretty casual but, efficient. The place is small and friendly. Try the Spicy Squid appetizer.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OsidePirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“This place made me happy.”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

As a tourist passing through Oceanside was just looking for a quick bite. Felt like fish and chips and the gps brought up the fish joint.

Well, when we got in there they did have fish and chips but when I saw the sushi I couldn't miss it. I am from Vancouver bc and we have tons of fish and sushi... This trumps us. Great fish and chip and great sushi. So fresh, such good quality and done in a great style. The place has a surfer/skate vibe, some might like that more than others but it's all about the food. 1st class. Great microbrew beer too. Thanks for the best lunch of the trip !

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JKVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
1 review
“Gotta take this place down a notch or two...”
Reviewed July 11, 2011

SUPER slow service. Asked the chef to make sashimi and were presented with spicy tuna. It was so hot, it drowned out the flavor of the food. Save yourself a trip and go to Harni. At least they appreciate and know how to present sushi.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gandgsavvytravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fish Joint also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing