We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern California Beach Club
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I cannot believe how rudely we were treated by the staff at the front desk. They chased us down to complain to us about our parking, but did not try to help us when the dvd player stopped working with one of our own discs inside of it. They hot tub was not working and they did not care abput that either. This was my fifth, but last visit EVER to this horrible place. Too bad, the view is great.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank markyourangels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdaronco, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2012

Hi markyourangels,
We greatly appreciate your review of Southern California Beach Club. We apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your stay, as it is our goal to make sure all of our guests are provided with a clean atmosphere and excellent service. We are sorry if we fell short of that goal during your most recent stay and invite you to contact us at jdaronco@gpresorts.com with any additional information regarding your trip. We thank you again and look forward to speaking with you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 229 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

Reasonable rates right on the beach been staying here for the last 3 years we come for the World Famous Mud Run only 5 minute to Marine Base. No need to bring towels, chairs, boogie boards and bikes all supplied. It can be noisy on the weekends due to Pier just up the strand, but not to late and anywhere you go there will be homeless anymore on the California Beaches. The property is gated and you need a code to enter so we felt perfectly safe. Your vehicle is also in gated garage and you will not need to move it once you are there, walking distance to restaurants, shops and stores

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockingn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed in a first level studio room which was clean and very nicely decorated in blues and greens and had a nice nautical feel to it. That said, on Saturday afternoon and late into the night, there was a steady stream of vehicles blasting rap music..not really my thing. There were drunken homeless people wandering around and made us nervous leaving the patio door open (solved that by placing an ottoman in front of screen). Oceanside Beach is a much busier beach than I expected. By Sunday, things on the street had calmed down-- the rap music yielding vehicles replaced by classic woody's, VW's and vintage muscle cars playing 60's music (much better). The property offers beach chairs, beach towels and Electra cruising bikes on loan..this was appreciated. Anyway, the property and service is great and perhaps a 2nd level unit would be better.

Room Tip: If you can, avoid a Saturday stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LKotsonas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdaronco, Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Hi Lkotsonas,
Thank you for reviewing Southern California Beach Club. We're happy to hear that you had a wonderful vacation with us. Next time you are vacationing with us and experience any inconveniences, please feel free to notify our front desk immediately, they will be sure to help you. We want our guests to feel safe and at home, customer satisfaction is of the utmost importance. We thank you again for your review and hope to have you back again soon!

Julie DaRonco
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at the beach club for 10 nights and we would definitely return. Jeremy really went the extra mile to ensure we were happy with our assigned units. The location is fantastic. The facility has beach equipment available to check out. Even though the resort was very busy, we found it to be very peaceful at night.
I definitely recommend the resort for families. It is not designed to be a five star hotel. You are basically renting a great condo in a wonderful location. The store Fresh and Easy has a great variety of tasty, easy to prepare meals.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MaxandRuby123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

I booked the Southern California Beach Club for my nephew coming in for my daughter's graduation at the O'side Pier. The unit was clean, beautiful with great touches. No need to leave the unit the balcony and view was perfect, boogie boards, towels and chairs available!I It was perfect!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

We booked this resort through Interval International Exchange. Although we live in San Diego, and Oceanside is close...it seemed like a nice getaway on the beach. We liked the resort, but we were disappointed with our room assignment. We were booked to one of the interior rooms, so there was no view to speak of. Most of the rooms had a wonderful beach view, but the interior rooms are inferior in that regard. We also had a noisy refrigerator to make matters worse. Our room was pretty quiet for the first few days, but when the resort became more occupied, our location was annoyingly noisy. People above us were tromping around, although we were on the third floor. The alcove outside our room was noisy with conversation.

The concierge gave us a discount voucher for restaurants in the area. When we walked to one that had a particularly good deal, we found it had been out of business for several months! The information package mentioned that a second parking spot was available on the street, but when we went to front desk to request it we were told it was impossible.

The beds were very comfortable and the room was nicely appointed with tropical furniture and decor. The location was good as it was walking distance to restaurants, a movie theater, and street fair. There was no swimming pool, but they had an adequate hot tub on the fourth floor. Bicycles were available for free rental, but they were often all checked out. We would stay there again if we could be guaranteed a room with a beach view. The interior rooms are a big disappointment by comparison.

Room Tip: Request a room with beach view. Interior rooms are disappointing by comparison.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PackYurBags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdaronco, General Manager at Southern California Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

LaMesan,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We welcome all constructive criticism, as it helps us get better. I am working with the concierge to get an updated discount packet, with all current restaurants. We are also getting with the exchange companies to ensure that all guests are notified that there is one parking spaceper unit.
We sincerely regret the noise that you encountered during your stay. During our off season, the resort is very quiet. As children are getting out of school and family vacations are increasing, the noise factor also increases. We do as much as we can to work with the families to keep the children running on the beach or in the two parks next to the resort.
We regret that we were not able to assign you a view room. On your next visit, we would be happy to work with you to request a view room, on an upper floor so you may enjoy the view and a more quiet vacation. Please feel free to contact me directly to make that request and thank you for traveling to The Southern California Beach Club!
Regards,
Julie DaRonco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Told the hubbie, whome ever sleeps closest to the ocean is ocean side~me. We opened up the couch bed that was suprisingly very comfortable since most are not. I had the sweetest dreams & woke to the oceans roar. That fresh sea air just makes you want to walk. I walked at least (1)mile each day. Youd just add 10yrs on your life living here, its so healthy! We had an awesome trip. Loved our studio facing the ocean, that we ended up trading our (1)br. for. We had to for this amazing veiw. Ive posted some of our many precious memorie pics here, which pretty much says it all. I anxciously checked all the reviews on here for months ahead, anticipating the days arrival for this resort stay. It was all I hoped & more. The staff at this resort are the BEST! Security! Front desk! Mangement! Housekeeping! Maintenence! Couldnt pick which was best! Our best trip ever! Made a new life long friend from this resort. Shes now my facebook friend & were planning next years vacation. I have found that any of the Grand Pacific Resorts that we have stayed at to be the very best! Just sorry that we didnt take them up on the midweek trip to Catalina Island again. Last time we went was unforgetable! They offer many activities through the week. They supplied us with assorted coffees & herbal teas by the front desk every morning. Toothpaste, Shampoo, Cream Rinse, Blow Dryers, clean white comfortable bedding, w/ lots of pillows. Everything WAS walking distance just a few short blocks, & the liquor store behind Dairy Queen has milk, & was reasonabley priced. Ralphs grocery store is at Interstate 5 & Oceanside Blvd. A quick Yellow Cab ride away. Loved Rubys Diner, and 2 for 1 specials at the other awesome local eateries. Advise; bring the Coppertone Spray! I look like a Red Lobster! lol! Enjoy!

Room Tip: There is no pool at this resort. Just a BEAUTIFUL Jaquzzi & Ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank happy1049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oceanside
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
1.5 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#14 of 27 in Oceanside
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Beach Terrace Inn
Beach Terrace Inn
#3 of 36 in Carlsbad
1,340 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ocean Palms Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern California Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern California Beach Club

Address: 121 S Pacific St, Oceanside, CA 92054-2917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#3 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
#3 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range: $171 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Southern California Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beachside resort is one of the hot spots in Southern California. It's location near the Pacific Ocean gives each guest the relaxation they need in a vacation resort. Stay in a studio, one or two bedroom condos for a relaxing experience. Each of the rooms include mini kitchens, sofa sleeper, dishwasher, hair dryer, microwave, one bathrooms, and a private patio/balcony. This resort does not have air conditioning however rooms are equipped with ceiling fans in the bedroom and kitchen. Southern California Beach Club is also a non-smoking resort. Please note the minimum age to check in is 18, must have valid ID and credit card to check in. A Daily Resort Fee of $20 plus tax will be collected at time of booking. Resort provides amenities such as internet, beach towels, parking, and phone calls. -Quiet Hours- from 10pm-9am. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact the resort. We look forward to hosting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Southern California Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern California Beach Club Hotel Oceanside
Southern Ca Beach Hotel
Southern California Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing