We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Talk about a special request!”
Review of Johnny Manana's

Johnny Manana's
Ranked #64 of 388 Restaurants in Oceanside
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
190 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Talk about a special request!”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here and had a phone request from our daughter-in-law who was home and beginning labor. She craved hot spicy Mexican food. The owner and staff obliged. They even gave a free trademark T-shirt for the soon to be mother. The food worked and our lovely granddaughter arrived the next day, that is Mañana.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bily_Bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    42
    11
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marshall, Virginia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“My favorite place in the area”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I moved away from San Diego in 2010 and Johnny's is what I miss the most. It is literally a block from the pier and has spacious outdoor eating. BEST. MEXICAN. FOOD. EVER! Looks are a bit deceiving, as it's kind of a hole in the wall looking building, but the service and food are incredible. It can take some time to get your food, as it gets busy and they typically only have 3 or 4 people working, but it's SO worth it. Get some beers, sit outside, wait your turn and then enjoy one of the best meals you'll ever have. I've taken many people here and everyone loves it. I seriously have no idea how it's so low on the O-Side restaurant list.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ejonesy4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“A unique experience, sipping a margarita & sitting in their outdoor patio.”
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

It's one of those places we always visit when we are in town. Been there for years, good location, great place for lunch!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ginger E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placentia, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food..good price...2 blocks from the pier”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We make it a point to go here whenever we get the chance..yeah, food prep can be a little slow, but it's cooked to order by the owner and his wife..we think it's worth the wait..and a great margarita on the rocks for $4, even greater...just a simple laid back place

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank OChalofn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicopee, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Blessed by the Chicken Fajita of Saint Johnny Manana's”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Johnny Manana's is truly my most favorite restaurant of all. The staff is exceptionally professional and the food is truly outstanding! Although I live in Massachusetts now, I make a culinary pilgrimage each year to Oceanside for the blessings of Johnny's Chicken Fajita with black beans and picante. If Don Alfonso is there, he will gladly share his unique Costa Rican wisdom (for a reasonable price) along with his insightful perspectives on world peace and international soccer. Don Ramiro, Ms. Mari and the great staff always go the extra mile for their customers and really know how to treat them like family. Please tell them that Pablo sends his best regards from the East Cost. Truly Lo Maximo!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stentorion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny Manana's also viewed

 

Been to Johnny Manana's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing