We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the walk to the end of the pier!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruby's Diner

Ruby's Diner
Ranked #10 of 385 Restaurants in Oceanside
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well worth the walk to the end of the pier!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Old fashion burgers, fries, salads, shakes, sandwiches, fountain drinks, etc. Reminds me of diners from the 60's and 70's! Great views of the ocean and coastline, comfortable booths, good service. Xlnt. quality food. Recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChaplainDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    263
    130
    30
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“1950's Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great burgers and fries in a 1950's setting. Food and service were good. Stop in while shopping, you should enjoy it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank AlohafromFernZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Visit at Ruby's Diner, Paseo Del Norte, Carlsbad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We loved this place! Everyone was very friendly! They had a great kids menu and I could get breakfast even late. We had a nice visit and they sat people even close to closing time.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrsmommy24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dirty Red!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Went to Oceanside for a wedding wanted to have a nice breakfast the next day. I had read there was a Ruby's Dinner at the end of the pier. My friends and I loved the view, but that was about it. First they were served coffee in dirty mugs, the table clothes where disgusting we thought really you can' buy new ones or stick these in a washer. The floors were so sticky your shoes made noise from what ever was stuck on there.The walls & the restrooms YUK! DIRTY!
This place needs a lot of soap and water and if I was the manager I would close my doors for one day and SCRUB!!!
The food was good, but the place was such a turn off it made you question yourself if you are eating unhealthy food. DIRTY RUBY!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ida r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Level Contributor
545 reviews
241 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
“Great View, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

The fish and chips, hamburgers, and endless French fries were really good diner food. We went on a Weekday for lunch and it wasn't crowded at all. They are famous for their large burgers and their milkshakes. The value was very good for California.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ruby's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing