We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“End of the Pier” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruby's Diner

Ruby's Diner
Ranked #11 of 385 Restaurants in Oceanside
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
113 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“End of the Pier”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We arrived just before the lunch rush. Unfortunately, we were too late for breakfast items. We were seated immeidately. Food took longer than usual to arrive, but it's a tourist place so we didn't expect fast service. There were plenty of people there already.

We enjoyed the atmosphere and the view. We weren't seated next to a window, but could still see the ocean view.

We had the usual Ruby's Diner fare and milkshakes, which was good. No complaints.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hawaiibeachnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    263
    130
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Location But Poor Food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Superb location at the end of the Oceanside Pier, great retro diner look and 10% discount with my Wyndham key card that made me really want like this place but it just didn't deliver. Ruby's is a CA chain but this was my first time in one. The place could have been cleaner and the booth I sat in was had a ripped uneven seat. For lunch I had The Next Generation Rubyburger. It was tasty but very small for the money and came with fries that were just so-so. My wife had the Shrimp Avacado Cocktail which was also spiced. The shrimp were small and she said it was just average tasting; poor value for the money. We shared a basket of onion rings which looked good but were tasteless and served cold. Wait service was friendly but food service was slow.

Wanting to give them one more chance I went alone for breakfast two days later. My waitress was very friendly and sharing video of dolphins playing just off the pier she took on her phone that morning. The food service was again slow and the floor was not clean. I had the eggs Benedict. The poached eggs and potatoes were well prepared but the Hollandaise sauce tasted only of butter, not even a hint of lemon flavor.

Based on my two visits I cannot recommend the food here.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jayhawkbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
526 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Pretty in pink”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our 50's diner authentically dressed and groomed waitress, the cranberry brie turkey sandwich, the cherry shake, the sunset... It was an overdose of pink, and a fabulous one at that. Combined with the seafood combo dinner, it was a feast for the tummy.... and for the eyes. A most enjoyable evening in a very authentically recreated environment. With the whole Pacific Ocean as an extra.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sycha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I eat an excellent American breakfast - Eggs, Waffles, cofee , orange juice, ...
The decoration ==> Typical american style from the 50's

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris6189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrific breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

At the end of Oceanside pier. Great views, huge omelets Light and yummy blueberry pancakes, Coffee was hot and smooth. Waitress fun and helpful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank We3Go4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ruby's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing