We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ruby's Diner

Ruby's Diner
Ranked #11 of 385 Restaurants in Oceanside
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Terrific breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

At the end of Oceanside pier. Great views, huge omelets Light and yummy blueberry pancakes, Coffee was hot and smooth. Waitress fun and helpful.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank We3Go4Fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    273
    134
    30
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adrian, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Can't beat the location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Be ate at Ruby's diner when we visited the Oceanside Pier. It is like a Johnny Rocket's style diner. Of course the views are amazing. You are surrounded by the Pacific Ocean! We just had their Ruby burgers. We tried the Ruby sauce on the side. It is a mayo base sauce with I think horseradish it had too much kick for us. We enjoyed the food and our experience and although the upstairs wasn't open yet for the day, they let us go up to look around. More amazing views. I would ask to sit up their if we went back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmtnb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A table on the ocean with amazing views ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

Cannot find any better location for dining and watching the pod of dolphin frocking over the amazing sunset in Oceanside,CA. Classic burger joints with super thick milk shakes, bottomless fries and drink in a retro red and white '50 style deco and dresses. An upstairs outside table is gorgeous in the right time and sunny day. Please call and check the wait time if you plan to eat there since it varies from no wait to 1 hour easily. Else just enjoy the 360 degree viewing dock and fishing activities. Should be a relax experience to walk the pier and dine at Ruby's Diner. There are free parking lot just east of the railroad or $5 all day parking cross the street unless you want to pay the meter, $0.25 per 15 minute. Recommended.

Helpful?
Thank TirelessDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food & good view! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

If you visit Oceanside, Ruby's Diner is a must see. You walk along the pier and the restaurant is located at the end. They offer classic diner food and it's delicious! Dessert is a must with a classic hot fudge sundae! The views from the restaurant are beautiful!

Helpful?
Thank Ashley954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Utah
Level Contributor
128 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Great food and you even get exercise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We got our exercise walking to and from Ruby's on the Pier. We had great Fish and Chips and the BEST milkshakes you will find anywhere. Additional entertainment was the dolphins playing nearby in the ocean. This place is a must, every time we visit Oceanside.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Treveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Ruby's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing