We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surrounded by the Ocean” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruby's Diner

Ruby's Diner
Ranked #11 of 385 Restaurants in Oceanside
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
San Diego, Ca
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Surrounded by the Ocean”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We've been to Ruby's on the Oceanside Pier many times and never had a bad experience. Half the fun is getting to the restaurant. Located at the end of the Oceanside pier, it's about a two block walk from the nearest parking but on a warm summer night, this stroll is pleasant and easy. The diner itself is themed well with a nostalgic 50's motif. The food is simple but the burgers are tasty. Other highlights on the menu were fish and chips and all-you-can-eat fries. The staff is friendly and very accommodating. There is not a bad seat in the house. With water surrounding the pier on three sides, every table has an ocean view. This is also a great place to people watch with fishermen casting their lines into the sea below.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ddesro1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    263
    130
    29
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Rafael, California, United States
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ruby's on the Pier in Oceanside CA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

This was our first visit to Ruby's. It's a fun 1950's style diner that specializes in burgers and shakes. It's a nice walk to the end of the pier to Ruby's. Two of us had hamburgers and two had tuna salad sandwiches with fries. Three of us had shakes and it was almost too much food, very filling. The service is good. One of our party got a soft serve cone after lunch and it looked delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlou68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, CA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Favorite of the granddaughters”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We've been taking a walk on the pier to eat at Ruby's with our granddaughters for years. We all love the food, the girls love the milk shakes, Papa loves the Cobb Salad, Gramma loves the turkey sandwich with cranberry sauce. It's a very special place for all of us.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jer29_11-14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber City, Utah
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We ate here just as the sun was going down. Unfortunately if was a very cloudy day, but it was still a lot of fun. The food was some of the best hamburgers and shakes we have ever tasted. Hamburgers were just like we like them hot and juicy and everyone really enjoyed several different flavors of shakes. The staff was very helpful and very attentive. I suppose it is not a great low calorie place, but hey we were on vacation!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Treehouse007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Must Go”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

The onion rings and ranch dipping sauce is amazing. Had to decide if I wanted Onion rungs again for desert. The hot apple pie and ice cream won out.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wyobio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruby's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing