We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun location, poor service”
Review of Ruby's Diner

Ruby's Diner
Ranked #11 of 388 Restaurants in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Utah
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fun location, poor service”
Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stopped at Ruby's Diner to get some milkshakes on a fairly slow weeknight. Still, we had to wait 10-15 min to be seated (even as we watched other parties--who arrived after us--get seated first). Milkshakes were average and took a 15 min wait to be served. After server forgot one milkshake on our order, we waited another 15 min. for that order to be filled. For the price, I felt the milkshakes were underwhelming. While the location is great, the service and milkshakes could be much, much better. I would not recommend this location.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanders2of2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    285
    136
    32
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Fun on the Pier”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

It was great fun to walk down the Oceanside Pier to get to the restaurant, and it was very fun to be right at the ocean to eat. The atmosphere of the restaurant was very bright and happy. Big windows look out to the ocean. It was definitely family-friendly with lots of kids (well-behaved, of course) and tall, delicious milk-shakes. We had a party of 6+ and all fit into a single large red and white booth. The staff was friendly and efficient. There were some fun items on the menu--including yummy burgers with blue cheese. I had the fish and chips. They were good (although they didn't offer vinegar), but I was hoping that being on the pier there might be a fresher fish option. Nonetheless, we were all pleased with our meal choices and enjoyed the experience.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank nice2visit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Irwin, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Location...Location...Location”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Came here for breakfast, Great location, great service, good enough food. You can't beat the atmosphere and location. Who knew Oceanside was so great? A hidden gem.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Suprisingly Good”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

We ended up at this Ruby's by chance. Went to the Oceanside Pier to watch the Sunset and ended up staying longer watching the surfers. We spontaneously decided to grab dinner and there was Ruby's. Very conveniently located at the very end of the pier. It wasn't over crowed with screaming kids (like the other Ruby's usually are). The burgers were fantastic!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank colleenlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver CO
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great view - great service - greasy food”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We sat outside on the windy side upstairs and loved it. Such a terrific view. And our server was terrific and very personable and gave us some local tips on places to go for good fish (refreshingly candid). Both burgers and my fries were swimming in grease so we ate what we could and headed out for more fun and better food elsewhere. At $10 for a burger with fries it seems pricey as well.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank networkcowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ruby's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing