We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast”
Review of 101 Cafe

101 Cafe
Ranked #38 of 388 Restaurants in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Family owned and operated, 101 Café has been a trademark of Oceanside along the Historic US Highway 101 for the last 88 years. Good food, Friendly service, and down-home atmosphere in our 50s style diner. We now accept debit/credit as payment forms! Hours from 7:00 AM until 10:00 PM every day.
lakeside or
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

Best Spanish omelette I've had in a long time!! We were there for Old Times Sake-and had a great breakfast.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dirgni10mile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    50
    22
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
156 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING FOOD AND SERVICE!”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

This is one of those places you just can't afford to miss. Face it, we are exposed to so many restaurants that if one stands out it has to really be good. The 101 Cafe in Oceanside is sure in that group of stand out restaurants. From the easy and ample parking to the great historic photos on the wall to the very complete menu to the great watress and ending with OUTSTANDING food you can not miss.

So turn off hwy 5 in central Oceanside, drive a few blocks toward the ocean and pull into the 101 Cafe of historic US 101 (Pacific Coast Hwy). You can not go wrong.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“ORIGINAL CAFE LOCATION on Hwy. 101/Coastal Hwy.”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Couldn't leave town with stopping in for breakfast (also open for lunch) at this historic cafe, located on Hwy. 101/Coastal Hwy. Our breakfast was good, hearty, and reasonable. Coffee was very good. Enjoyed the photos on the walls outlining the history of this cafe. Service was prompt and friendly. Glad we stopped, and would go back when in the area!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mytrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, BC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Historic local restaurant”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

The easy to find restaurant is right on one of the main roads of Oceanside with plenty parking. We received good service with a direct look and an easy smile, good proportions of delicious food at reasonable prices. The chilli was excellent. The décor was historic while the seating areas looked newly done with black bench like comfortable seats.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanettePenticton_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
339 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“The waitress was very very kind. The food was OK. Do not get the turkey meatloaf”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Pros: We arrived @ 2 minutes before closing and started to go elsewhere but the waitress insisted we stay if we liked. She made the place. She played with my granddaughter and gave 5 star service.
Cons: The food & prices were OK.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jdalerose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 101 Cafe also viewed

 

Been to 101 Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing