We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Small but fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oceanside Museum of Art

Oceanside Museum of Art
Ranked #10 of 59 things to do in Oceanside
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Oceanside, CA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Small but fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We spent about 90 minutes going through the small museum. Since we live nearby I hope to return when they change exhibits.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JamesJOceanside_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    13
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oceanside Museum of Art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Oceanside has a very nice art museum in downtown, near city hall. Rotating exhibits, modern building, small gift store. We live here and are members of the museum. How long you spend there depends on the person. Cannot recommend length of time for visit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank sierrakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“An excellent place to see some really cool local art.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

My favorite exhibit was actually the quilting exhibit, I never knew the detail and artistry that could go into quilting. It was fascinating. They have rotating seasonal exhibits and all have been wonderful.
Also it is free for active duty military.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank poseyparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not What I Expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014

This truly isn't a "traditional" art museum ... if you think you're going to see paintings on the wall ... you won't find that here. I've been here several times, and left each time scratching my head and wondering "what the heck was that all about?" From the bedezalled low riders, to extremely abstract items, I don't think I've seen anything that I connected with. It's certainly not the type of museum as you would find at the Timken in Balboa Park, or the Metropolitan Museum of Art. It's all just a little bit odd.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BadDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Culture is a great Walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2014

The art work is very inspirational and many people (musicians) have taken from that building and it's art.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank robert w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oceanside Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Oceanside Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing