We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and helpful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We were within walking distance of the beach. Our room was larger than I expected and had a kitchen sink. The staff was very helpful when we asked for extra towels for our second night. Our main destination was Lego Land and the trip to the Oceanside beach was a bonus. The nine year old and six year old had no problem making the walk to the ocean.

Room Tip: Choose the first floor if you have kids with you. We entered through the rear where the parking was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2014

We are very glad you enjoyed your time with us and in Oceanside. Thank you for highlighting our proximity to the beach as well as the amenities in your room. We look forward to your next visit to Oceanside and I can guarantee we will work our hardest to improve even more and exceed your expectations.

Thank you,

Andrew Stewart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 229 of 398 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

MY EXPECTATIONS: Needed a comfy and affordable place near enough to Temecula for a couple of days, and wanted a top-floor room to take in the fresh sea breeze and ocean view. MY REALITY: Got everything but an ocean-view room, i.e. b/c all guest room windows were on the side of the hotel building, so the only ocean-front view you can get is at the end of the hallway or stairwell. Also, at night I kept my window open, but the traffic noise below really spoiled the experience. The following morning, I was really let down by the poorly designed breakfast nook--you could've reached over to the table *next* to yours without having to get up off your chair--as well as the hard biscuits, paper-thin strips of bacon, and (don't laugh) *hard-boiled* eggs. (My previous La Quinta Inn experience in Richmond, VA offered up breakfast items such as Jimmy Dean sausage patties, scrambled eggs, fresh citrus and bananas, and assortment of fresh (not watered-down) fruit juices, including orange, apple, and pomegranate, not to mention a spacious breakfast room.) I decided after that awful breakfast experience to shop for groceries for my next day's breakfast. CONCLUSION: Good price at a great location, but you should avoid breakfast. Instead, go and buy groceries--you have a fridge and microwave oven in the rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank alexandero744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I apologize that your stay was less than your expectations. We strive for excellence in all areas we can control. Our building is located next to PCH/Highway 1 and it does get some noise from the road, but we can only reduced the noise, not eliminate it. So we have two sets of windows on all of rooms which almost completely eliminates all road noise. I do also apologize that our rooms do not face any ocean views. We do our best to only advertise what we can offer our potential guests. We do have 2 rooms on our property that offer an ocean view but since those rooms are limited, we do not openly promote our location as having ocean views. We do have plans for the near future to expand and open up the breakfast and lobby area. This will allow us to offer more items in our breakfast menu as well as more spacious seating for our guests. As of now, we alternate our bacon with jimmy dean sausages and Pillsbury biscuits are a staple each morning. We are confident these changes will better accommodate our guests each morning. Again, we thank you for your review and we hope to exceed your expectations on your nexts travels through our area.

Thank you,
Andrew Stewart
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have been staying here for years, everyone who works here, knows me. The staff go out of their way to help you, they are amazing. This is a great place to stay, within walking distance to so many places like, the beach, restaurants, mini markets, souvenir shops. I also love the fact that they accept animals here and don't charge you a fee. If you want a place to stay this is it, tell them Judy sent you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jumpingchula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you very much Judy for your review. We appreciate the time you have taken to give us your experience and we very much look forward to your return. Thank you for highlighting the many advantages to staying with us. There is such a great selection of shops, restaurants and places to see so close to our location and it is only improving. We are very much glad to accommodate you and your pet and we take extra care to ensure our guests with out pets barely notice that we accept pets as well. Thank you again for your feedback, we will see you again soon!

Thank you,
Andrew Stewart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed here because we could take our dog.
1. The rooms are super clean for being a doggy motel. There was no sign of other dogs ever staying in my room. It was nice to have a fridge and microwave in the room.

2. Yes it is next to a strip club but you would not know it except for the discreet sign, it was quiet there and no one was ever outside of it saw one guy smoking outside and that's it.

3. The customer service was excellent. Our car broke down about an hour after we checked in barely got it back to motel. The front desk guy (Erickson) went up and above to get us a list of auto repair services in the area. He researched them off of Yelp ( which I always do) and came up with a list of 5 places. Erickson, we went with Bills Complete Automotive and he was great I would recommend him to you as well even though I know you got your guy in Escondido. (Just to let you know it was our water pump and he fixed it in two hours for a reasonable price) Thanks for being so calm and helpful during my almost melt down stressful situation it was much appreciated.

4. Because our car broke down the first day we were so close to the beach and the shops and restaurants we were able to walk to all so the place is in a great location.

5. The free breakfast was great it had hard boiled eggs, make yourself waffles, biscuits and gravy , bacon one day and sausage the next, cold and hot cereal, pastries, bagel and cream cheese, toast, fruit, yogurt, coffee, and juice. there's probably a few more items I am forgetting.

6. Flat screen tv with direct Tv

Will definitely stay here again if ever in the area. Obviously you can stay in nicer places at a higher rate. This was great for the price and because I could take my dog. It was clean and had great customer service, pretty much my criteria.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leolaniw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Hello and thank you for your feedback. I am very glad you were able to make the most of your experience in Oceanside. I am especially happy that my staff was so accommodating. It is definitely one of our strong points as well as cleanliness. We are always looking for ways to improve the guest experience while maintaining a high level satisfaction. I appreciate the detailed experience you have listed and we will work our hardest to keep up the good work! Safe travels and we hope to see you again soon!

Thank you,
Andrew Stewart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A La Quinta traveler
Oceanside, California
11
Reviewed April 17, 2014

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrew S, General Manager at La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

I usually stay at either an Omni or a La Quinta and I'm always surprised at how much more helpful the La Quinta staff are. I had a clean room, the staff were incredibly helpful, and my stay went as well as could be.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abe I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

We appreicate the kind words. It encourages us to keep striving to make each guest experience as best as possible. I aggree that some higher end hotels always seem to have staff that doesn't fully embrace the idea of hospitality. I think it is a testiment to how much employees enjoy their job and the people they work with as you cannot fake happiness. We will continue to do our best to make each guest feel as welcome as possible, so please do not hesitate to let us know what you need or how we can possibly make the guest experience more enjoyable. It is our goal each day to put a smile on our guests faces.

Thank you,
Andrew Stewart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We were very impressed with the staff at the Oceanside La Quinta Inn. Every staff member we encountered was polite, friendly with a smile, and very helpful! The location of the Inn to the beach was a quick, safe walk and within walking distance to restaurants and downtown. Thank you for making our first stay in California memorable!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank 524amyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew S, General Manager at La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for your review. I am very happy you enjoyed your first visit to California. Especially in Oceanside! I will definitely share your experience with my staff an ensure they know how friendliness and a smile can go a long way to brighten someone's day. I will also ensure that we maintain our high level of cleanliness behind the scenes. We look forward to your next visit to California and we will work hard to exceed your expectations.

Thank you,
Andrew Stewart
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
0.9 mi away
Ramada Oceanside
Ramada Oceanside
#11 of 27 in Oceanside
478 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Oceanside Inn
Best Western Oceanside Inn
#6 of 27 in Oceanside
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside

Address: 937 North Coast Hwy, Oceanside, CA 92054-2135
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#7 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range: $101 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Oceanside Hotel Oceanside
La Quinta Oceanside
La Quinta Hotel Oceanside
Oceanside La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing