We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of That Boy Good

That Boy Good
Ranked #8 of 385 Restaurants in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcome to That Boy Good a Southern BBQ Joint in the heart of downtown Oceanside! We pride ourselves on fresh food made daily from scratch. No MSG's or can products in our kitchen! Chicken and Waffles and Fried Delta Catfish are some of our specialty items, but our BBQ is the best you will find West of the Mississippi! Come in and check us out and see why the locals crave our BBQ! Hope to see ya soon!
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

We found this place after a bartender at another place in Oceanside recommended it. It was great! Great BBQ and very generous portion sizes. We sat at the bar and enjoyed visiting with the bartender who made us feel very welcome. We were fortunate to meet the owners - who also both work at their restaurant - we wish them well and when in the area we will definitely return for some more BBQ!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jblackjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    78
    19
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Denver. CO
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We just stopped by because the cornmeal catfish sounded good & it was good! The sides were tasty too!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karlruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
442 reviews
304 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Louisiana BBQ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

First off, the decor and set up of this restaurant is awesome. Everything is wood and has a real authentic BBQ feel. You can sit at one of the many tables or at the cool long wooden bar. The service was great, they were fast and helpful. TBG has a pretty good beer list, including some beers from Louisiana breweries which is perfect considering this is a Louisiana BBQ place. I had the fried chicken and loved it, it was boneless and had amazing spices in the batter. My sides were mac and cheese and bean, both were really good. My favorite was the beans, very flavorful with big chunks of garlic in it. Not super impressed with the cornbread. My husband really liked the ribs and pulled pork he ordered as well. The prices are really good too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aprilp2412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

What a great place to eat. The staff and the owners are excellent. The portions are huge as is all the flavors. We couldn't finish our plates. The pulled pork and the Mac and cheese we excellent. I can't wait to go back and try the chicken thighs. I saw some one order a bloody Mary and it looked great and came with a huge rib. Great job guys keep up the great work.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county ca
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Oceanside Hidden Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

Iced cold beer and a fat pulled pork sandwich. What else can a man ask for? Score a bargain at happy hour. It starts at 14:00 Hrs so you won't have to wait long.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 6666OrangeCountyCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed That Boy Good also viewed

 

Been to That Boy Good? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing