We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast food in deli form.”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Gandolfo's Deli New York Delicatessen (CLOSED)
Ranked #228 of 388 Restaurants in Oceanside
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Loveland, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fast food in deli form.”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Don't expect any real deli quality items. My pastrami was equivalent to Arby's quality meat.....................................

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank wttwphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    9
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“New York Delicatessen Needs Leadership”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I were very hungry and found this Delicatessen open. The menu looks good although they have too many sandwich selections. I had the simple corned beef on rye and my wife had the pastrami on rye. While waiting for our sandwiches, I noticed that the seat on the booth was torn and an attempt at repair was done with duct tape. Under the drink area was a very dirty, rusty drain. Boxes were sitting at the end of the seating area along with a broom and large duster leaning against the wall above the eating tables. The floor was dirty. Most of the tables hadn't been wiped off. Robert Irving of Food Network would have died in this place.

The staff was very friendly and did what they could to make the stay enjoyable. When the sandwiches came for us, they were wrapped in a heat retaining foil. Upon opening, the bread was soggy and the sandwich effectively fell apart. The corned beef was not fresh as it had a pale color to it. The pickle was wilted. I also had the potato salad which wasn't so bad.

Overall, they need some leadership to guide the staff on how to clean the restaurant as well as invest some money to ALWAYS keep the booths and ALL of the restaurant clean and up to code.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cliffwalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Wonderful sandwiches with tons of choices! My husband loved the roast beef- located in the parking lot of the Oceanside Marriott Residence Inn. Very convenient for going out & exploring Oceanside!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cher145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Loved the corned beef Ruben. New York Style deli in California. Great hot dogs. High quality food, if a little pricey.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy1246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“BEST SANDWICH EVER!”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I've been going here since they opened and L O V E it! It is the best lunch place ever! I call my order in ahead so that it's ready and I don't have to wait in line. The Little Italy is so yummy and so is the Bridge Hampton!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gandolfo's Deli New York Delicatessen (CLOSED) also viewed

 

Been to Gandolfo's Deli New York Delicatessen (CLOSED)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing