We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Hometown Buffet

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Hometown Buffet
Ranked #311 of 388 Restaurants in Oceanside
Restaurant details
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The food was outstanding for a buffet, but the atmosphere leaves more than a bit to be desired. Not only did the place feel dirty, there were A LOT of children, which would be fine, except that parents were letting them help themselves to the food. Too many kids were taking food, putting it back, trying food and putting it back, or licking their fingers and then tasting the food. Parents need to control their children, but that failing, the restaurant needs to have more employees monitoring what is going on. I won't go back unless things are cleaned up.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mpatrick5454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    3
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oceanside, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“THANKSGIVING!!”
Reviewed November 28, 2013

THIS WAS A VERY UNEXPECTED DELICIOUS WONDERFUL MEAL! WOW...WHAT CAN I SAY? We are from Chula Vista, we have eaten at Hometown Buffet there but this was far from the quality and selection they had there. Food was fabulous! I loved it! From the front door to the exit, the experience for Thanksgiving was great. Only thing that could have been better would have been to be able to be with family at our own home. A very special thank-you for making our day much better than I thought it was going to be. Thanks to all of the staff-especially for having to give up time on a day that should be spent with family!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank poodaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Clean with lots of options”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's a buffet and you can eat all you want, so expectations need to be reasonable. The salads were fresh and some were very tasty. The baked chicken and fish were no bad at all. There were some dishes I'd not seen on a buffet before. Roasted sweet potatoes were delicious. Several of the desserts were yummy. Some were nothing special. As buffets go it was quite good.

The place is fresh and clean and the staff keeps the dishes looking good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Art S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mohave, Arizona
Level Contributor
245 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good food for lunch”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Four of us had lunch here and it is very good!! We went after 1:00 p.m. as you then get your drinks for free and save $2.19 each. Was very good and such a variety to choose from!! Lunch was very reasonable @ $7.49 each with all you can eat. Desserts were wonderful as well. Can't go wrong with this buffet!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby31225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Food at a Reasonable Price”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Hometown buffet has a nice variety of food options so everyone can find something they like. The food is good for a buffet of this kind with plenty of healthy options. My favorite it the Key Lime pie on the desert bar. Yum!!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank akchildress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hometown Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing