We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent new, modern hotel great for business travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard San Diego Oceanside

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Todo Mundo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent new, modern hotel great for business travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

If you're looking for beachy accommodations, this place probably isn't the best pick in Oceanside. However, for a business trip, this new Courtyard is very nice. Quiet location on a hill surrounded by corporate center. Friendly staff, nice modern well-appointed rooms, pretty good pool area. Free coffee and tea in lobby and a place to print documents for free. Overall, I would recommend it for a business trip if your visiting nearby Genentech or other corporate offices.

The rooms were not very well sound-proofed as footsteps in nearby rooms tended to shake your room. If a large family with wound-up children (probably hopped up on a visit to Legoland) are anywhere near your room, prepare for the pre-bedtime stampede overhead or next door.

Room Tip: Since you aren't close enough to the ocean, all rooms pretty much have the same view of the near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annietravelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    63
    15
    1
    4
See reviews for
58
38
11
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spring, TX
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This was a very enjoyable stay and a very lovely Courtyard. I'm sorry I only had 1 night to stay there. The room was spacious and first class. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The outdoor space and pool were lovely. This is a little different that they do not have a buffet but I liked the "bistro" and our breakfast was perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room away from the road. It would also help to be on the top floor as we were on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morro bay, ca
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

LOVE it when I find that little get away that is a sleeper. THIS is a sleeper.
The second of my 2 night visit with my daughter, a Marine at Camp Pendleton. I needed something nice (NOT a dump), near the base (not ON the base), near the train station (something nice?), something with perks (Marriott, of course).
This place is secluded, NO traffic. Beautiful decor. Clean.
Friendly Friendly staff that asked me, "What brings you here?" THEN listened to my answer.
Excellent choices for dinner IN or near the hotel.
The lobby is SO cozy and inviting for many things! Work stations, places to gather, TV area.
The outdoor living area is a work of art. TWO big fire pits with comfortable conversation areas with cushy chairs. (I sat in several of them) The lighting is just right to spend time with friends, have a drink. The pool area is attractive and inviting. EVEN with a sling chair so disabled people can swim with their families.
Tons of free parking.
Our room was large. Beds were Marriott comfortable, clean, perfect and beautifully decorated.. The bathroom was FABULOUS!! If you read my last review you can see my feelings about towels. This hotel is standard about the towel distribution. (The Marriott San Diego Gaslamp District on Broadway gave us 10 towels...lol)
My daughter has 2 left of her 5 years in the Marine Corps.
THIS Marriott will be my choice of places to stay when I come to Oceanside for a visit every time....as long as it doesn't get too busy after all the good reviews.

Room Tip: high corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piratebrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed here one weekend in November while going to a service dog graduation at Canine Companions for Independence.
The rooms are not large but are are well designed and we didn't at all feel cramped. When I looked at the hotel's photos I was a bit concerned because they appeared to be pretty small. Don't worry about it. We booked a King room and two adults have plenty of room for clothes, luggage, and lounging. I didn't take any photos because, actually the hotel's pictures are accurate. The room has all the usual amenities; coffee maker, TV, refrigerator. There are plenty of outlets for charging electronics and the room is very well lighted by various lamps. My middle aged eyes had no trouble reading in the evening. The door automatic closer on the bathroom is not nearly fast enough to be dangerous but it's annoying. It closes like there's a slight tilt to the room. I like the large shower with a head height ledge for toiletries and a narrow ledge/seat that is ideal for shaving your legs.
Our 3rd floor room faced a fairly busy road and a scenic hilly area. We had some traffic noise but it didn't affect our ability to fall asleep. The other side of the building overlooks a parking lot.
The public space on the main floor has several small gathering spaces suitable for 3-5 people to sit together comfortably and not feel like they're marooned in the middle of a giant lobby.
We ate breakfast twice at the Bistro and thought the food was pretty good, fast casual type fare. The Bistro staff were especially friendly and service was excellent. The front desk staff members were friendly and helpful-- and trained to make all those Starbucks concoctions with nonsensical names, when the Bistro was otherwise closed.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccipups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
236 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I made a bid on Priceline and ended up getting this place. It is not near the coast and all of the hotels and motels on Pacific Highway, but this is a genuine gold nugget find. Located about 6 miles inland, the hotel is nestled among numerous business strip malls. Traffic noise is non-existent and there are no hoards of tourists. It is a pleasant oasis in a desert of office buildings. Upon entry, the lobby area is huge, complete with a Starbucks coffee area, a food area, and a computer area. The furnishings and ambiance are sleek and modern. The pool area is very welcoming with a large fire pit and conversation area. There are overhead shade sails to provide shade and the whole pool area is clean and neat. Our room was large and clean with two queen size beds, a desk and computer roll out table and reading chair. The bathroom is also modern and clean with a large walk in shower complete with tempered frame-less glass enclosure. Sparkling white subway tile wraps around the walls in the shower. A small coffee bar with a single serve coffee maker hides a small refrigerator underneath.
Using Priceline was a great way to experience this hotel that we might not otherwise have considered. Would we return? Absolutely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KTBlount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlotte nc
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This property will not disappoint. It has a nice quiet location very new and modern.The courtyard was designed for stress relief of every nature. Firepits,hot tub,heated swimming pool even with handicap acess what a nice feature.The rooms are very trendy and well appointed. Large walk in shower with small seat.Staff is very helpful as well around the clock.

Room Tip: I think a top floor room is always better but elevator is a little slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cruiserttd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

I first set foot in a Courtyard by Marriott hotel over twenty years ago, and the brand has yet to let me down. The hotels and rooms always seem to look exactly as they should.
This Courtyard (San Diego Oceanside) is no exception. It’s my kind of hotel, with up-to-the-minute amenities, easy location, sensible parking and gate system, and a Starbucks right in the lobby.

My husband and I stayed here over a Friday and Saturday night. Though this was not a business trip, this hotel is perfect for the business traveler. Desk space! Outlets everywhere! Wireless AND non-wireless internet capabilities!

The room also had a comfortable king bed, great bathroom with a glass shower door (I hate shower curtains), big closet with lots of shelves at different levels, a coffee table, a desk with a huge pull-out table for more desk space, a refrigerator, a coffee maker, and a big flat-screen TV on a swivel.

In the lobby is a digital touch screen (wall-sized) that gives you quick info on nearby restaurants and other necessities, and computers where you can check in to your flight and print out a boarding pass. There is free wifi throughout all of the public areas. The exercise room is okay, nothing special, but it was clean.

The outside pool area is inviting and usable, with a fire pit and hot tub. Having a glass of wine by the fire would have been nicer if the three women in the hot had not been gabbing so obtrusively loudly. It’s dark outside. You can see people are relaxing by the fire. Be quiet!

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
4.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Palms/Camp Pendleton
4.2 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn San Diego Oceanside
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
3.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn
BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn
#8 of 28 in Oceanside
4.0 of 5 stars 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Diego Oceanside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Diego Oceanside

Property: Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
Address: 3501 Seagate Way, Oceanside, CA 92056-2673
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard San Diego Oceanside 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plan your next stay at the Courtyard San Diego hotel in Oceanside. Unique among hotels in Oceanside, our state-of-the-art lobby provides greater flexibility and choices for our guests. At the center of it all is The Bistro, your destination for a great breakfast, or drinks and dinner during the evening. You'll also enjoy inviting, flexible spaces where you can work or relax, free Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard technology. Plus, our well-equipped fitness center, outdoor pool and whirlpool will help you stay refreshed and energized. Conveniently located and with free parking, our hotel is minutes from Camp Pendleton, Oceanside Beach, LEGOLAND, SoCal Sports Complex and Genentech. With over 2,000 square feet of event space, our hotel is also the perfect location for your next business meeting or function! Whether traveling for business or pleasure, your stay at Courtyard Oceanside is sure to be comfortable, productive and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard San Diego Oceanside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing