We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“D304, It's time to remodel.. long over due”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
North Coast Village
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“D304, It's time to remodel.. long over due”
Reviewed April 29, 2014

North Coast Village is OK, but dated. It's really a lovely spot on the beach and with a pool. The issue I have is with the agency that rented me D304. The united is way overdue for a remodel. Sheets torn, dishes broken, bed spreads are the same one's that were on the beds 6 years ago when we rented it. Chairs are sagging, and on and on. But the real problem I had was the agency, On-The-Sand.com didn't tell me that the bay was being dredged and the mud/sand/sludge from the bottom of the bay was being dumped, 24 hours a day, right in front of the Condo for the entire 10 day's I was staying. Scott Warr told us this was happening 1 week prior to us coming, but he assured us it wouldn't be a problem, and it was too late for us to find another spot. We attempted to use the beach one day but the Grand Children got tar on their feet and we couldn't scrub it off.. Not good. Backhoe's and bulldozers running all night with back up beepers, pipes laid the entire length of the beach that were 4' tall and had to be climbed over.
The agency didn't tell us the truth, so a long planned vacation from the cold of the North East was ruined.
be cautious if you deal with an agency. Their interest's appear to be not in your best interest.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warrscott, Manager at North Coast Village, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
After the client had been in the unit for 7 days he emailed us demanding a full refund. His complaints were either out of our control (what happens on the beach) or about minor problems in the unit. The unit is in good shape, it has been painted, with new carpet and some new furniture in the last 9 months.

During the course of our conversations (by email) it seemed to me the biggest problem for the client was the harbor dredging project that was taking place on the beach. This is a Federal project that happens every year sometime during the Spring. Most years we don't know when they are coming until they arrive, occasionally we get 2 to 7 days notice. Also during the 18 years we have been in business we have not had any real problems with any of the units we rent except the absolute beach front, and those units do get a lot of noise when the Cat's are working the sand and we do compensate them for this.

D304 is set back from the beach and is 5 & 6 stories up. We warned the client about the project as soon as we knew, and we told him about our experience with others who have stayed in this particular unit during previous projects (no complaints). We also offered to cancel his contract and provide a full refund prior to his arrival. We then offered a prorated refund for the remainder of his stay when he finally contacted us after 7 days. He did not accept either offer but asked for compensation for his stay and we declined. I am not sure what else we could have done that was within our ability except to give him money back for a unit he wanted to stay in and had seen pictures of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    36
    21
    9
    17
See reviews for
125
27
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Forestburg
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2014

Our family of four stayed in NCV condo #D100. We were very happy with the one bedroom, it was just the right size, much better choice than a hotel room. We had a kitchen well stocked with dishes, utensils and cooked meals each day. Location was great, we were steps from the beautiful beach. We had a partial view of the ocean and could watch surfers every morning. The complex facilities-pool, laundry, parking were excellent. We will be back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife and I retired 8 years ago. We have tried Jamaica and the Caribbean, Florida, the Keys, and Texas. But finally we found our "Paradise". We live in Wisconsin, and coming to Southern California makes a perfect break in the long hard winters. Low humidity, great mild temperatures, and lots of sunshine, coupled with the best accommodations you can ask for, adds up to "Paradise" in our minds. We started in some of the smaller back units in this beautiful complex and worked our way up to the "Best of the Best"; D-27 Oceanside unit. Talk about the perfect location. 20' from the water, perfect sunset viewing, sunny patio with grass area leading up to the beach, and a wonderful clean and modern condo to enjoy. You have to see the complex to appreciate how well maintained it is as well as it's great amenities. Something for everyone!!! Also the location is perfect with lots of great restaurants nearby and endless activities and sites to enjoy.

We have 5 girls of which 2 of their families have visited for a week during our stay, with a third coming next February. All of them describe it in the same way......... "Paradise"

Room Tip: D-27 Oceanside Unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eilabob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We visited North Coast Village from the UK and stayed for a week. The grounds and garden are beautiful and the condo we rented was very spacious and clean. There were lots of rules, which had to be adhered to , or face steep fines! Whilst I realise this is to maintain a high level of standards, we were anxious about facing a fine. The location is spectacular, minutes from the beach and marina. Overall we had a wonderful time !! Plus the laundry room is brilliant. !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank craff39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince George, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Unit G25 is a nicely updated 2 bdrm 2 bath condo with great ocean views from the balcony. The unit was well equipped with everything. The welcome basket full of snacks was a pleasant surprise and nice touch. The only negative would be the inconsistent wifi access. We even called the support but wifi was still unreliable. We only stayed 4 nights so this was not too troublesome however longer stays could be problematic because both my husband and I rely on wifi access to stay in touch with work even while on vacation. We would love to stay again for a longer period especially if wifi issues are resolved.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank PGdiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OBVhosts, Owner at North Coast Village, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thanks so much for your lovely review of our condo. We submitted your feedback to Ecco Wireless, who provides the wi-fi service for our complex. They have submitted a request to expand the current service network to the Homeowners Association Board of Directors. The expansion of the network will alleviate the problems that you experienced during your stay. We hope you will come back for another visit...We do offer Repeat Guest Discounts!

Warm Regards,

Brian and Nili Alben
Owners of Unit G-25 at North Coast Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014

We booked this unit through HomeAway last summer. The owner was attentive and quick in her response. The location and view was spectacular..steps from the ocean, and direct view of the ocean. The condo was decorated with a tasteful Tiki theme, well maintained, and stocked with basic supplied. This was a 1 bedroom unit with a sofa sleeper. This accommodated our family of five, as we didn't spend much time in the unit. The complex was vast, but well kept. Every morning maintenance staff were cleaning throughout the complex. We were impressed. They had many amenities. We utilized the swimming pool, whirlpool, bbq, ping pong, and laundry facilities. All were well maintained. If you're looking for a reasonably priced property in Oceanside, on the ocean, I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abcboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed in unit b324 with a huge deck and great water views. The condo is a good size with 2 beds and 2 baths. My wife and 2 yr old daughter loved proximity to beach and would feed the fish in the koi pond in the complex. The unit was perfect for our small family.

Our booking agent, Laura, went above and beyond to make our stay comfortable. Since we were travelling from east coast and staying for 2 months (I was there for work) we needed some additional items. Laura bought a crib and high chair for my daughter and even let us keep a box in her home for a week in between visits. She and her daughter even babysat for us once! She was a pleasure to work with and nothing was ever a problem.

If you want a great condo on the beach with all the ammenities, North Coast Village is perfect. And definitely contact Laura Garcia for b324--she is the best!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Joshua J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
0.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
0.8 mi away
Southern California Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#15 of 27 in Oceanside
460 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
0.5 mi away
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Coast Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Coast Village

Property: North Coast Village
Address: 999 N Pacific Street, Oceanside, CA 92054-2005
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — North Coast Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vacation rental condominiums located at North Coast Village in Oceanside, California. Choose from 1, 2 or 3 bedroom condos in a 24 hour secured, exclusive beachfront complex with direct access to wide, white, sandy beaches. Enjoy fully furnished beach condo rentals with reserved parking, 2 pools/Jacuzzis, conveniently located between San Diego and Newport Beach, close to Legoland, San Diego Zoo, Wild Animal Park, Sea World, Disneyland and Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your North Coast Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Coast Village Hotel Oceanside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing