We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad At All!”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Colorado Springs, Colorado, USA
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not Bad At All!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013


After reading others review from Trip Advisor, I was brainwashed into thinking our room will look and smell bad per reviewers. This is not the case. I was happy it was clean and doesn't smell musty. The hotel is in the process of renovating. Our tiles, walls, and light switches were upgraded. The mini fridge has its freezer iced throughout. The microwave seems old. Their CP breakfast has high in carbs and calories altogether. I sticked with just coffee. We did not used the a/c since the breeze from the ocean was enough. We were still freezing as the morning arrives. Going South from the hotel is a walking distance to many shops, pier, & a beach, while going North takes you down Harbor dock. Places like Legoland, less than 15 min; Sea World, about 45 min. There are many Asian markets sprawling in Downtown SD.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelers330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    25
    18
    20
See reviews for
27
24
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I got a room overlooking the Ocean. A little noisy at first with the train and lighthouse but I got used to the quick. Loved the view and ocean breezes !
Room large with lots of space everywhere.
The property is dated with worn elevator, slightly smelly bathroom, but thats why Im not paying that much !
Wifi worked excellent for me on side by pool.Pool but no jacuzzi
Breakfast was limited but ok. Hotel staff was courteous and accommodated a late checkout.
Lots of parking.
Easy access to/from 76 and i5

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Taufiq H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Did not receive the expected service:

The breakfast only consisted of cereal, oatmeal, coffee, juice. No yogurt, granola or fruit like others.
The muffins were good at least.

The elevator was outdatedvand dirty. As well as the hallways and stairs.

No wi-fi in our room or in the lobby. They advertised it but there's no service.

Liked the room size!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LiliDmgz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stayed here on a Friday and Saturday night in mid-August so peak season. It's right off I-5 and CA-76 and fairly close to restaurants and convenience stores. It's about a 10-minute walk to the beach and about twice that to the pier or train station. The area is a tad sketchy but not bad, certainly not in the daytime. I paid $63 plus tax with my Entertainment card which was a great deal. The grounds were fairly well kept and landscaped. Common area is nice, breakfast area is nice, and they have a computer for guest use. Staff was pretty friendly but not overly so. Breakfast was very average.

It's an older property that's been upgraded. It was quite clean. The TV was a flat screen, furniture was decent and bath/shower had been retiled. A/C worked fine. Fridge was a good size and worked fine but was kind of banged up. Wi-Fi was pretty bad. I came back to my room after a long day and as I approached the bathroom, noticed the carpet was wet, large puddle on the bathroom floor and toilet lid had water splattered over it. The ceiling had clearly leaked. I told the front desk guy and that since I was alone, it was no big deal. He was nice, not overly apologetic nor did he offer to move me. When I checked out the next day, I thanked HIM and he said you're welcome. No thanks for staying with us or sorry for the trouble.

I don't know. It would have gotten a four if not for the bathroom incident. If I paid $109 a night or was with my girlfriend, I might have scored it lower but all-in-all, I couldn't complain that much.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank norscio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Made reservation on line. Asked for King room on 2nd or 3rd floor with a view. Was told no king but everything else was a go. When I checked in no view rooms at all.we were put on the 2nd floor close to the elevator. Toilet was dirty big glob of hair..and old water bottle on the floor plus the tub didn't drain. Have stayed here several times in the past will not do it again. Was told at the desk I shouldn't have booked on line but called direct to hotel..would have it their had been a direct number.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oceanside hotels

Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wanted to spend the weekend on the beach. Great clean rooms. Older TVs but other than that everything was good. Continental breakfast was good. Had a pretty good spread of food. Pool was very clean. Great rates and a very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corporate-traveler75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boron, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

First of all they want to hold on to $100 in "cash only" for incidentals rather than just using your credit card. Never had a hotel do that before. Rooms smell musty. Pool was closed for repair. Next time I come to the area I will more than likely stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
0.9 mi away
Ramada Oceanside
Ramada Oceanside
#11 of 27 in Oceanside
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Oceanside Inn
Best Western Oceanside Inn
#7 of 27 in Oceanside
549 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1103 N Coast Hwy, Oceanside, CA 92054-2138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Inn Oceanside Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing