We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely Convenient, great cost” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Big Bear City
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Extremely Convenient, great cost”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Convenient to everything, eating, beach, pier. Cost is very affordable. Staff very helpful and friendly. Not a high end hotel, can't beat the price, location and hospitality! Even announced pool would not be available due maintenance, so they do schedule repairs in advance when possible. (for the traditional whiner, even your car will need a repair too at some point)

Room Tip: can also reserve via airline travel web sites, earns extra milage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EasyTrvln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    13
    25
    18
    19
See reviews for
26
22
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is so depressing. This room smells like wet carpet closed in for awhile, you can smell mildew in the room, there is mildew in the shower on the ceiling, and the refrigerator has rust in it. As I inhale the smell hurts my chest and makes me light headed. All the lights did not work and the bathroom light cut off at least 3 times while I was in the shower, leaving me in the dark. The room smells so bad that I can't even eat in it. I had to apologize to my 2 children for bringing them here. I wish I could capture the smell so others could be warned and not fooled by the pictures! I will take pictures so I may save others from this pain and disappointment. This was my family's first day in California and this room has made our experience not favorable at all. This is my first time in a Rodeway Inn and this will be my last time! I am surprise that your company considers this livable and safe!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ErskinleneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oceanside hotels

Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

The room was spacious and had a reasonably comfortable bed. The hotel itself was run down and needs an extensive cosmetic makeover. The street had some sketchy characters on it as well so no walking it alone at night. We were in town for the half ironman and booked the hotel late so were charged twice the regular rate...so if you're planning to do the race, book early. It was a perfect location to the race-we were a 5 minute bike ride to the transition area. So, if you're an ironman/woman, it's a great location to crash out...otherwise I'd look for a better place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZTravelingcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel/motel has seen a complete overhaul. Formerly the Guesthouse Inn has seen remodeled rooms, and now has open two very nice conference rooms. If there is any one thing that needs improvement is the Wi-Fi system. Routers are always going down, and at least one room doesn't get a signal at all. (Room 123) The courtesy or club room has a very nice continental breakfast, and has great coffee if your like me, and love coffee. This hotel/motel is next door to Oceanside Harbor, and just across I-5 North Coast Highway from the main gate to Marine Corps Base Camp Pendleton.

Room Tip: This Roadway Inn has a section of small bungalow rooms that are cramped, and don't even have a t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SheltonFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The Rodeway Inn is our family secret when traveling to Oceanside. This is the best value if you get the right room, so ask for a room facing the ocean and pay a few more dollars. The hotel is next to the ocean, so that means that it is a little damp and smells like a beach house and we love it! The inn is next to the Oceanside Harbor and Beach. It is far enough for the make the price low, but close enough to walk.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the ocean! I like the second floor for amazing sunset views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Horace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Carpet felt worn and dirty, I didn't want to remove my shoes. Towels were thin and sheets. The worst was our bathtub would not drain, we had 3 people to shower and the water was up to the top of the tub, the 3rd person had to shower in filthy water! (which still didn't go down by the morning, does that mean the maid didn't clean it before, yuck!) Room 225 was our room. Building was old. We paid $70, so I know what do you expect but we will not return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyBetrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.3 mi away
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
0.9 mi away
Ramada Oceanside
Ramada Oceanside
#12 of 27 in Oceanside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Palms/Camp Pendleton
1.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn
BEST WESTERN Oceanside Inn
#6 of 27 in Oceanside
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 1103 North Coast Highway, Oceanside, CA 92054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guesthouse Inn Oceanside Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing