We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beer!!”

Lighthouse Oyster Bar & Grill
Ranked #19 of 385 Restaurants in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This restaurant opened in July 2010.
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Beer!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

Beer is good. Nice place to sit outside on the roof and enjoy people watching and enjoying the ocean.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Trina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    114
    27
    20
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Way better than I expected!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2011

I went to this restaurant with my team for a work luncheon. When we got there at noon it was empty inside and I panicked. What did the locals know that I didn't? Turns out...nothing! It was great! The apps were great. Calamari, sauteed mushrooms and coconut shrimp were yummy. The entrees were great. I had the steamed bowl of clams, mussels, crab and shrimp in a light broth. The steaks were yummy. The stuffed sole was amazing and the swordfish divine. The desserts were tasty as well. The lava cake seemed to win the day at our table. I would also recommend the banana's foster. Overall, a wonderful experience and Haven, our server was lovely.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank D'sGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice view. Food not that great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

Coconut shrimp & Calamari was really good. Lobster tail was ok .But Garlic bread didn't taste like garlic or toasted, pasta was over cooked the Shrimp Fettucine sauce was watery fish tacos were ok not to hard to mess up fish on corn tortillas ,cold clam chowder was more like potato soup, had to send it back . Steak sandwich good. desserts really good chocolate cream brulee & cheese cake.not sure if ill go back .

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good oysters ruined by everything else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

It came recommended and looked good so we had dinner. Waiter was initially pleasant and helpful with wine. The 4 types of local oysters were originally very tasty but sank tastelessly into our plates of water and melting ice. Steamed combo seafood was overcooked, a bit salty and accompanied by nothing to help eat it with - later the head waiter (strangely) claimed he had put the little forks etc on the table - the invisible variety? Had to ask for a finger bowl but it never came anyway. Cajun blackened fish also overcooked and overwhelmed by thick crust of spicy paprika. Check took forever so we had to stand at the register for a while. To be avoided.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidW1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We stopped at the Lighthouse after a day at the African Safari Park. We were debating between the Lighthouse and another restaurant in the Harbor shops. The signage for the Lighthouse was limited so unless we had seen the people sitting upstairs, we wouldn't have known it was there. EXCELLENT food. The service was wonderful (they turned on an outside heater for us). They had happy hour prices so we ended up getting their fish tacos for only $2. It was incredible food; stuff sole was great and the coconut shrimp was unbelievable. Definitely make sure that you eat at the Lighthouse!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PKPSU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lighthouse Oyster Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Lighthouse Oyster Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing