We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very impressed with this hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Belfast, Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very impressed with this hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised by the Holiday Inn Oceanside near Camp Pendleton. First of all the staff throughout the hotel are genuinely pleasant and friendly. The hotel itself is bright and reasonably new. We had a suite that was very spacious and comfortable on the top floor,(level6). As we had a car we found it's location quite convenient even to travel to San Diego for dinner, mini golf at Del Mar and the Premium Outlets at Carlsbad . It would also be convenient for driving to the San Diego Zoo Wild Animal park and LEGOLAND at Carlsbad.
We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel as at this stage of our holiday we wanted to eat out and we used a Mimi's Café about 6 mile away. Oceanside beach is a reasonable distance away and we didn't attempt the walk. We parked closed to the beach and were able to rent a surrey cycle to go along the promenade parallel to the beach.
I would definitely go back to this hotel, I hope they continue to look after it and keep it fresh and maintained.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mushuBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
mushuBelfast,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review about your visit. We are so glad that you were able to #VisitOceanside and the nearby areas. Next time, you might want to take advantage of the COASTER train to easily move about the county.

We hope that your travel plans bring you back soon.

Best Regards,

Geoffrey Parkford, General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina / MCB Camp Pendleton Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    103
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
126
83
18
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, Usa
Level Contributor
299 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel locate off I5, 0.5 miles away from I5 South, 8 miles away from Legoland and Outlet, beach is right next to this hotel. What a great location. Hotel staff very friendly and giving all the help we need. We bookd 3 rooms for a small family group visit Legoland and Outlet. Breakfast is more than wonderful, kids eat free. Everything you need for summer fun ! We love it.

Room Tip: Almost every room is good room, we got 3 rooms in 3 different type, 3rd floor have vanding machine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Mike W,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to the San Diego North Shore. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your visit and were able to take advantage of some of the great attractions in the area. Thank you for taking the time to share feedback about your visit. We hope to welcome you and your family back to the property again soon.

Warm Regards,

Geoffrey Parkford, General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina / MCB Camp Pendleton Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the Oceanside Harbor. I booked the room last minute and got a two queen suite for about $200, which featured 2 queen beds, a pullout sofa and a lot of space. It even had a full-length mirror.

The staff was very friendly and helpful when we checked in. The room was very clean and well stocked. Parking was plentiful and, best of all, complimentary.

There's no complimentary breakfast. I don't mind paying since the room was so reasonable, but $13 per person did seem a bit steep for what you'd normally get free at other hotels.

The location and quality make this a steal.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cranberrytarts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Dear cranberrytarts,

We are very glad that you enjoyed your visit with us! We appreciate you choosing to stay at our hotel and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your visit. Great news, we have since changed our breakfast options and have made it more economical with larger selections. We hope you have a chance to come back and check it out!
Please come and visit us again soon.

Best Regards,
Joanne Dixon, Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina – MCB Camp Pendleton Area
agm@hioceanside.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MD
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

The Holiday Inn Oceanside is one of the nicest HI properties that I've stayed in some time. It is located on a relatively quiet side street off of I-5, within walking distance of the Oceanside harbor. The rooms were relatively large and well-furnished. The hotel seemed relatively new. The staff was pleasant and very helpful. They had a large collection of business cards with precise driving instructions to travel to the hotel to convenience stores, malls etc. The close proximity to the harbor is quite important because one can walk out of the back of the hotel, down a short dirt path, and under a RR underpass to gain access to the harbor which has a wide variety of restaurants. All in all a very welcome and pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Oceanside rooms are probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Dear moudan,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for taking the time to share about your experience. Our goal is to be a GREAT hotel guests LOVE and we are happy to hear that we hit the mark. I am happy you liked our collection of direction cards to and from different locations, we try our best to make our guests' stay as easy and hassle free as possible!
We hope that your travel bring you back to our area and we have the chance to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Joanne Dixon, Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina – MCB Camp Pendleton Area
agm@hioceanside.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California, United States
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel was very pleasant. The walls are a little thin so you can hear people walking above you or in the hallway, but other than that everything was nice. It is close to downtown and the marina. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N_Yates14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

The space in the room was pretty large and included a couch. The bed was very comfortable. However the wireless internet service was awful. It took forever to connect to any website and you would have to log in to the wireless hotel service constantly. We also had problems with the room cleaning. The first day we left our room at 10am and returned after 3pm, and the room was still not cleaned. The second day we had the same schedule (we had to get ready to go to a wedding) and there was a note on our door saying we requested not to have our room cleaned. That was not the case, so we called and asked them to clean our room. They said the cleaning staff leaves at 3. Eventually we were able to have our room cleaned around 4:30pm after we left to go to the wedding.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greta K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Greta K,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us while attending your wedding event. Please accept my apologies for the challenges you experienced using our internet service. We know how frustrating it is to not be able to get online quickly. Please know that we are in the process of replacing our entire guest internet service and upgrading to a fiber optic connection (in fact the fiber has already been run and installed and we are just waiting on the new routers and access points to be installed). Your internet experience should be much better next time you stay with us.

I would also like to thank you for the feedback regarding the timeliness of our housekeeping service. I hope that the delay did not interrupt your busy agenda too much. Housekeeping service generally operates between 8:30am and 5:00pm - please let the front desk know the best time to service your room and housekeeping will be happy to accommodate your time frame.

Thank you for the feedback and we hope that your travels bring you back to the Oceanside area again soon and we have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Geoffrey Parkford, General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina / MCB Camp Pendleton Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a great hotel. The room is clean and felt fairly new. The best part of this Hotel is the location. It's a five minute walk to the harbor. Skip the hotel breakfast and eat at Beach Break at the Harbor. The roof of the hotel has a nice sitting area with a great view of the ocean. I was worried about the trains, but our room was on the opposite side of the hotel. We never heard the train while we were in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne D, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, October 14, 2014
Dear Jason G,

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and thank you for taking the time to share about your experience. Our goal is to be a GREAT hotel guests LOVE and we are happy to hear that we hit the mark. Although our breakfast at the hotel is yummy, I agree that the Beach Break Cafe does serve amazing food! It actually has since changed management companies and is now called the Stratford at the Harbor. I believe most items on the menu still remain the same.
We hope that your travel bring you back to our area and we have the chance to welcome you back.

Best Regards,
Joanne Dixon, Assistant General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina – MCB Camp Pendleton Area
agm@hioceanside.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Palms/Camp Pendleton
1.1 mi away
Southern California Beach Club
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#14 of 27 in Oceanside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
4.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Property: Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Address: 1401 Carmelo Drive, Oceanside, CA 92054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#4 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#6 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina - MCB Camp Pendleton Area is a Full Service, Award Winning hotel located 700 yards from USMC Base Camp Pendleton's Main Gate and minutes' walk to the Oceanside Harbor and Beaches and with easy access to Interstate-5, accessing all of San Diego County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing