We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Location for Our Roadtrip” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Perfect Location for Our Roadtrip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

I thought this hotel was perfect for what we needed. It's clean, comfortable, very affordable (paid $123 for the night), updated and close to the ocean. We just used the hotel as a stopover on our way from San Diego to LA so we didn't use any of the hotel ammenities but everything seemed in order. Service was friendly and parking was free.

The room we stayed in was oversized w/ a small kitchenette, beds were comfortable and the bathroom shower was huge. I could see the ocean from our window but not an oceanview. We drove down to the ocean to stick our feet in and watch the surfers for a bit. They don't have the typical free breakfast option as with most hotels in this price point so I would suggest you stop and eat at the Beach Break Cafe, really good food and you can walk to a surfers beach from there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shycke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    103
    20
    5
    2
See reviews for
126
83
18
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bromsgrove
Level Contributor
192 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

Just of the interstate it is a good location however the walk across waste ground under the railway to the harbour is not great. Pool area tiny and closed one day we were there. Staff nice as was room. Never ate or drank here and would not stay again. Was supposed to stay 4 nights but checked out after two. Not a bad hotel just not just our type of hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonbaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear simonbaldwin,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate you mentioning about our nice hotel staff and rooms. It is truly regrettable that you were not able to fully enjoy your stay because our facility was not at par with your standards.

Though we would have preferred you had a better experience, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts, and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Faith R
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

The room was fairly standard, but the staff went above and beyond when we needed help. A few examples are, we asked about a good place to eat dinner. The front desk worker listed off multiple places then helped with the process of elimination, and also called to make us a reservation. Also, called our next hotel (long distance with no charge) to enquire about parking for us, and helped my friend out with a little sowing kit. They were so friendly and asked about our day when we got back to the hotel. Great place that made you feel like a special guest.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

stayed here Feb 15-16, 2014, fantastic hotel, great staff, quiet clean rooms. short walk to oceanside marina with plenty of seafood restaurants. short, simple drive to Camp Pendleton, which was the reason I was there. whish I had planned for a couple of more days there. they have a small breakfast & dinner restaurant in the hotel, with breakfast cooked to order, and reasonably priced. would definitely stay there the next time.

Room Tip: we had ground floor room next to the street, but it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dcscriv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014

Everyone here is extremely friendly and helpful. Whenever you run into an employee, they stop and ask how you're stay is and if there is anything else you may need. The rooms are beautiful and very well cared for. The rooftop patio has amazing views with comfortable seating (or laying for sunbathing). I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeyinCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara County CA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

Stayed for Legoland trip as ratings were better than the new HIX in Carlsbad, plus needed variety for the IHG's Big Win promotion. But, it was great decision.

Pros: Rooms are nice, whole hotel is well maintained. Breakfast, though not included, was certainly worth the value. Pool good. Easy freeway access. Nice, underground parking. Also, great location within walking distance to the Harbor, by cutting through the back.(5 minutes), plenty of eats there.

Cons: Nothing really, beyond not being closer to the ocean(i.e. views) which would easily make it a 5 star, although probably would be at least $50 more.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archstenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014 via mobile

My families vacation to this hotel was the best. The service was fantastic and the room was just want we wanted. The food was delicious, both dinner and breakfast. I would really recommended this hotel and I can't wait till the next time we vacation

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Palms/Camp Pendleton
1.1 mi away
Southern California Beach Club
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#14 of 27 in Oceanside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
4.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Property: Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Address: 1401 Carmelo Drive, Oceanside, CA 92054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#4 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#6 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina - MCB Camp Pendleton Area is a Full Service, Award Winning hotel located 700 yards from USMC Base Camp Pendleton's Main Gate and minutes' walk to the Oceanside Harbor and Beaches and with easy access to Interstate-5, accessing all of San Diego County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing