We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By the sea ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Grayling, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“By the sea ”
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We got here to Oceanside and this is a very nice property well-kept well-maintained nice clean rooms pool has great son in the afternoon they had a nice managers reception with free beer I like that and snacks rooftop seating area watch the sun go down except it goes down behind the building so you can't really see it but it's a nice thought

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pete K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    110
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
134
91
20
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southfield, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

From March 2nd til 13th I had the best hotel experience in years, staying at IHG was very nice. The Front Desk employees went beyond the call of duty to make sure our stay was the best it could be! Every day when we left the hotel we greeted with a good morning and very pleasant conversation, asked if there anything they could do to help!

I left my brand new phone on the roof it was found by a employee returned in minutes, by the way it is very expensive. I was always given plates , forks when I didn't dine at the hotel, Food was great and service even better. The refrigerator didn't work properly so they reimbursed 20 dollars for the spoiled food instantly in cash the young had at my door in seconds. They always had items that we needed like zip ties for our wheels and free HDMI cords to use and several items that most hotel don't think about.

They had one washer and dryer the cost a quarter for both it was a front loader that cleaned my clothes very well and on the 4th floor they had 2 washers and 2 dryers for free. So needless to say all my clothes were clean for the trip home.

They always gave us the best information on where to eat and how to get there!

I would personally like to Thank Geoffrey, Laura, Emily, Francois and the rest staff for such a lovely stay! Forgot to mention the Maids were very friendly and cleaned the rooms when you requested and replaced towels daily.

Thanks Again to all the Staff at Oceanside


Mo

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Mo, it was great having you as our guest and we hope you come back soon! Thank you for taking the time to share the details of your experience for other travelers. It's great when we can reunite people with their lost items (especially smart phones). Thanks for being understanding about your refrigerator and again we apologize for the inconvenience - it has been replaced and won't be a problem again. Laura, Emily, François, your housekeeping team, and myself thank you for the shout-outs. It really means a lot to us when you take the time to recognize our efforts with a 'job well done' note. Please don't stay away for too long. Until we see you next time, we will keep the hotel in tip-top shape for you and your next visit.

Best Regards,

Geoffrey Parkford, General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina/
MCB Camp Pendleton Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Overall this hotel is very nice and understandable that at this time it is #1 in the area according to tripadvisor.

I would stay again.

Check In/Out
-extremely friendly staff - amazingly so!

Room
-spacious, very comfortable, different types of pillows (soft, firm) and the beds are very nice and comfortable.

Cleanliness
-rooms are very clean and the house keeping staff are very attentive.

Internet
-Internet wasn't very fast and in fact during busy hours (mornings and evenings) the Internet was painfully slow (even opening a Google page)

Location
-Location is fine if you have a car or don't mind walking 10-15 minutes to restaurants. The beach is about a 5 minute walk if you take a short cut back behind the pool.

Breakfast
-overpriced for what it seems they have. However, plenty of restaurants within a 10 minute drive for all tastes and budgets.

Parking
-free parking, covered and non, all very close to the hotel doors and elevators.

Pool and Gym
-Pool is decent and clean but not huge. There is a small hot tub that is fantastic for 6 or less. Both pool and hot tub have electric chairs for those with disabilities.

-Gym is extremely small: 2 treadmills, an elliptical one set of combo weights and another machine or two.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen_Price
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Stephen,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to make a detailed review of the property! We hope that your visit went great and we will get to welcome you back again soon.

I have a couple of updates in relation to the items you noted:
-Internet: We are in the process of upgrading the building connect to a dedicated Fiber Optic connection. When this is completed in the next month, we will have one of the fastest connections of any hotel in our area. We also have planned to allow the connection to grow as the demand for connection grows in the future.

-Gym: Treadmills are being replaced this month with two cutting edge PRECOR Fitness models.

-Pool: detached from the pool, the 6th floor observation deck has become quite a popular location for afternoon sunbathing. Please be sure to check it out next you visit.

It was our pleasure to have you as our guest - please come back soon.

Geoffrey Parkford, General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina / MCB Camp Pendleton Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

While on a road trip, we booked a room here based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed! The first thing that happened was that I realized I had reserved for the wrong night and ended up as a no-show. Joann was so kind to apply that night's charges to the actual night we were staying. She didn't have to do that, but it saved us being charged double. At that point, I was sold on the entire experience! She didn't give us any hassle at all and told us that things like that happen sometimes. After we checked in (very smooth process), we went up to our room and were immediately impressed with the large space, including a huge shower.

Being close to the harbor/beach was such a plus for this hotel! We didn't use the pool and we didn't eat in the hotel, as we did all of the tourist-y things at the harbor. Very, very impressed with the friendliness and cleanliness of this hotel! I will be sure to remember it for our next trip! Thank you for the best night's sleep of the entire trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My company had a business meeting where several of our affeliates were attending from out of town. We were helped by both Severine and Emily who took it upon themselves to not only set up everything needed for our room stays, but also to set up all other accomidations. These women went above and beyond to ensure that our company meeting went smoothly and as perfect as possible. These two women should be commended for such an incredible job. Thank you to them as well as the Holiday Inn for supurb service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Andrea,
Thank you so much for kind letter of praise for Severine and Emily. We can't stop those two from doing amazing things to make us a Great hotel guests LOVE! Your comments definitely were celebrated with them. I am proud to have such an amazing staff and thankful that we are able to share them with great people from all over the place, like yourself.

Please come and visit us again soon. Severine and Emily want to introduce you to some more of their co-workers too next time :)

Warmest Regards,

Geoffrey Parkford, General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina/
MCB Camp Pendleton Area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
savage
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel is well kept with beautiful rooms. THe beds are comfortable and is in great location near the marina. The staff is really friendly and helpful. There is a bar, restaurant, pool and hot tub. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkteigland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Extremely helpful front desk service. Emily with a "y" was awesome and her uplifting personality quickly turned a bad day of mine into a good one! Room was amazing and for the low price we paid it was almost a steal. Thank you guys for hooking us up last min! If I can do anything at all for you guys let me know: Galvinusmc@yahoo.com

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisGalvin2324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oceanside Palms
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Oceanside Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#15 of 27 in Oceanside
454 reviews
4.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn San Diego Oceanside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Property: Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Address: 1401 Carmelo Dr, Oceanside, CA 92054-1012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#2 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#4 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#6 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina - MCB Camp Pendleton Area is a Full Service, Award Winning hotel located 700 yards from USMC Base Camp Pendleton's Main Gate and minutes' walk to the Oceanside Harbor and Beaches and with easy access to Interstate-5, accessing all of San Diego County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing