We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Grannies 90th” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Ranked #4 of 27 Hotels in Oceanside
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sun City, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Grannies 90th”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

We had a party for 44 people mixed ages from 2-90, mixed economic levels, so we needed something nice but not too pricy. We could not have found a better place to meet our needs. All of the staff here go out of their way to make your stay a memorable experience. Even at the breakfast the service was A+. Our food was served hot, on time, and with a smile from all of the staff. For not being a 5 star resort hotel my whole family gives them five stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pepperdoc46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
HAPPY BIRTHDAY DOTTIE! It was so much fun sharing your family's birthday celebration at our hotel. We hope that Dottie wasn't kidding when she said that you would all be back next year for the 91st Birthday Party.
We hope to see you soon.

Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    100
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
120
77
16
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed for a weekend at the Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The bed offered both soft and firm pillows. The bathroom offered a vanity area that was separate from the shower and toilet. The walk to the marina - where there were many restaurants and bars - was short. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morishe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Dear Hamiltontraveler6, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. It was our pleasure having you stay with us - please come back again soon!
Best Regards,
Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

I stayed her for 3 nights with my family. We had a great time and this hotel is a hidden gem. The staff was exceptional and the location is great. It was a very short walk to the beach and marina that had restaurants and lots of beach activities. The rooms were great! We booked a junior suite. I must say these rooms are great! They are very large with a lot of storage for all of our bags, beach chairs etc. The 46inch flat screen TV was loved by all. The only thing I wish it would have had was a balcony. The front desk was friendly and welcoming. All of the employees met us with a smile and always asked how our stay was. I even received a late check out (2pm) on a Sunday no less. I would highly recommend this hotel and I will most definitely will back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rteneyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hello rteneyck Family, We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit with us and glad to hear that you were able to explore all of the fun activities near the hotel. Next time you are visiting, please be sure to check out the 6th floor observation deck that serves as the big balcony (We even do free yoga classes up there Saturday mornings). Also, there are some fun new activities in the harbor area including stand up paddle boarding! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your experience with the world.
Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Close to the beach, restaurant, mall and many tourist attractions. The room is very big and my daughter enjoys every bit of it. Great service with many amenities we will always come back for our " great escape". Very friendly staff and beautiful rooms!!! Just a short walk to the beach and the pier with great restaurants or even a few minutes drive to downtown oceanside, everything is easy and stress free.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCNPC, General Manager at Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area, responded to this review, August 4, 2013
Hello Eduardo,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your experience on here. Please come back again soon - we look forward to your next visit!
Warm Regards,
Geoffrey Parkford
General Manager
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currently, Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Based on the very good reviews on tripadvisor, I expected something special from this hotel. I took my family here for two days of beach going. Somehow I thought this hotel was across the street from the beach, but it is not. It is maybe a 10 minute walk from the beach. Location is across from a trailer park... not very stunning visually. The rooms are large and nice. The hotel staff is very good. Overall it was a pretty good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bolderrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This place was recommended by a friend and I'm not usually fond of Holiday Inns but this one exceeded my expectations.

The rooms were really spacious and clean. It had everything we needed, TV, air con, fast wi-fi, the whole deal. The best part was the massive shower head!

I was holidaying with a friend and stayed one night. All the hotel staff were lovely, especially Joanne at front desk and Geoff the Manager made us feel very welcome.

We got hungry and didn't really want to eat at Denny's down the road so sat at the cute bar in the lobby. My friend and I had the best time chatting away with Katrina the bartender, and chowing down on some delicious buffalo wings - I won't forget that blue cheese sauce!

Although a short stay, it was a nice welcoming stay and will definitely come back again :)

Room Tip: Every second floor has laundry service
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliciaChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

This is a good holiday inn. I am a member so was upgraded to a junior suite which was a nice surprise. If you are member you also get a goody bag with water and popcorn. So sign up before you go.

The hotel is quite close to the beach. It is about a 5 minute walk to the beach but if you had 5 kids and a bunch a crap to bring it may feel a lot longer.

The walk is over a railway bridge and down and hill that gets you to the harbor which is nice. They don't really have Oceanside views by the way.

Breakfast is typical holiday inn food. It was good and a reasonable price. It is either buffet or menu order so you have a choice.

It has a small bar in it. Typical 2 treadmill and 2 elliptical machine exercise room with a small pool and deck in the back.

I was quite comfortable here. Staff was nice and for me on my own the walk to the beach was easy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oceanside hotels
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Oceanside Palms/Camp Pendleton
4.5 mi away
Courtyard San Diego Oceanside
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites San Diego Oceanside/Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Oceanside Marina Suites
Oceanside Marina Suites
#15 of 27 in Oceanside
3.5 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor Inn & Suites Oceanside / San Diego
1.1 mi away
Southern California Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area

Property: Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area
Address: 1401 Carmelo Dr, Oceanside, CA 92054-1012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Oceanside
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oceanside
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Oceanside
#4 Green Hotel in Oceanside
#6 Business Hotel in Oceanside
#7 Romantic Hotel in Oceanside
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina - MCB Camp Pendleton Area is a Full Service, Award Winning hotel located 700 yards from USMC Base Camp Pendleton's Main Gate and minutes' walk to the Oceanside Harbor and Beaches and with easy access to Interstate-5, accessing all of San Diego County. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Oceanside Camp Pendleton Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oceanside Marina Hotel Oceanside

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing